We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little B and B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #28 of 186 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect little B and B”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Really nice B and B in Galway and perfect for our weekend away for a wedding at the Cathedral. Breakfast was lovely in the morning and filled with many options. The rooms were decorated really nicely. Its a walk to the centre of town but that doesn't take long.

I left some property there by accident and they were really helpful in posting it back as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    35
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
52
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice clean and modern furnished rooms with good beds, wi-fi, good breakfast (ranging from full irish to healthy). The lady of the house is very welcoming and helpful, it's in easy walking distance to the town, parking on the premises. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I booked a single room & though it was a tad small, it had everything I needed! And after sleeping on horrible, lumpy matresses in the rest of Ireland, it was absolutely lovely to sleep on a comfortable mattress! I would love to go back to Galway just to stay at this B&B again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egutting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed in this b and b for a weekend,beautifully kept,lovely rooms and the lady of the house was so welcoming,it was like a home away from home,breakfast was gorgeous and plentiful.About a 15 minute walk to the city centre or call a taxi which will cost around €11,lovely place to stay,highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahgerry3301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This B&B provides nice and very clean rooms, the staff is very nice. Breakfast was not included but is available for 6 € per person, which is quite OK. The B&B is within walking distance of the city centre. Parking space is available on the premises.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had booked another B&B up the way that due to some confusion was not available once we arrived; that owner scrambled to find us another next door-- also not available... things were looking grim when he was then able to find this one... They are all in a row in this part of Galway, but Abbey Lodge was quite far down on the row and we were going to be on foot, needing to get to the center of town and beyond. Full of trepidation, we said we would check it out-- and low and behold, it was lovely. Incredibly clean, charmingly appointed, the keeper of the house, Noreen, was funny and warm and so helpful. We keep kosher and were bringing our own food-- she opened the refrigerator to us, let us set up our own table after hours on Shabbat or our meal, could not have been more accommodating. The rooms (we had a double and a twin for our two adult children) were comfortable, of decent size, quiet, modern, boutique-hotel-ish decorated and again SO CLEAN. The distance from town was the only downside, but only because of our travel restrictions on the Jewish Sabbath. By car, taxi or bicycle, it is perfectly fine-- and, in fact, its location a bit further out made it quieter. We were charmed and very very satisfied.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back, otherwise you will face the street. There are three floors so be mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Had heard about this B&B from friends of mine who had stayed there early in the year and suggested we try it out when next in Galway. Was in Galway in March and fortunately they had a room available. Greeted by very friendly staff who could not do enough for us. Beautiful comfortable room with great shower. Very tastefully decorated and breakfast was super. Great location, walking distance to Eyre Square. Highly recommended.
M&J, Dublin

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1302277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#16 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardawn House
Ardawn House
#17 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
College Crest Guest House
College Crest Guest House
#40 of 186 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
2.2 mi away
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#12 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge Guesthouse

Property: Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Address: Abbey Lodge 1 The Stable | College Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Lodge Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Lodge was professionally deigned by an award winning interior designer and will be your luxury home away from home during your stay in Galway city. Just a few minutes walk to Eyre Square, the centre and hub of Galway city. All amenities are close by with the award winning restaurant The Huntsman just 2 minutes away and the famous Connacht Rugby stadium on your doorstep. Whether you're coming for a quite weekend away with your loved ones or looking for a weekend break in Galway city, Abbey Lodge has the right room for you. At Abbey Lodge we pride ourselves on our running a clean, friendly bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Abbey Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing