We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have got to stay here....As good as any 5*”
Review of Inishmore House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inishmore House
Ranked #27 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. It is just a fantastic place to stay with buckets of ambience and character. There is a great warmth to this guesthouse and Marie and Peter are excellent hosts. The rooms are very comfortable, spotless and are beautifully decorated and the food is as good as any 5 star! The breakfast menu is truly excellent with smoked salmon, pancakes, french toast, fruit, homemade marmalade and good variety of breads available. Everything is homemade and much better than some 4*/5* hotels I have stayed in. The guesthouse is ideally located within walking distance to Galway City and Salthill. Enjoy a stay here, it's a truly great find in Galway. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7carlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Inishmore Guesthouse is the perfect place to stay between Galway city center and lovely Salthill. This traditional Irish Guesthouse is located less than 10' walk from Galway's latin quarter. The street is safe and the B&B is beautiful. There's a garden with flowers, a small reception, a breakfast room and a living room. There are 8 bedrooms and every bedroom is different from the others. The one I stayed in was perfect: clean and cosy with a comfortable bed, huge window, flat tv screen, hair dryer, big closet and a new en suite bathroom with shower, toilet, window and bath heater. The towels were big and soft as well as the sheets and pillows.
The guesthouse is very clean and the service is excellent. Mairie is very kind: she cooks delicious breakfasts (full irish breakfast with eggs, tomatoes, home made bread, sausage, bacon etc. but there are also different kind of jams, yogurt, juices, fruits, cereals, cakes...) and she is always happy to help you in suggesting the best places to visit and making you enjoy your stay as much as possible.

I couldn't choose a better place to stay in Galway and I hope to come back soon.

Francesca

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frencis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My wife and 3 teens (19, 15, 13) had a great stay in Galway due to Marie and her staff at Inishmore. They helped find an extra mattress at the last minute due to confusion about our request for a cot. Turns out "cot" in Great Britain and Ireland means a baby crib. Then Marie was able to find a doctor and a pharmacy who could treat my wife for an unexpected medical condition on a Sunday afternoon. Marie was also just so friendly, warm and caring. I can not recommend her too highly. Her home is in a great location, quiet, but a pleasant, short walk to town or to the shore. Our room was comfortable and perfect, even though we were a family of five in one room. Enjoy a stay with Marie, you won't go wrong!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kennedy3223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I stayed here on numerous occasions and will return again. The owners Peter and Marie are so welcoming and go out of their way to make sure you have all you need and more. The rooms are very comfortable and beautifully decorated and the food is fantastic. The living room has that lovely cozy comfy feel to it. Overall a brilliant experience. Thanks so much Peter and Marie and hope to visit you again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Cannot speak highly enough of this gem of a guesthouse. Marie and Peter's hospitality was so good, as was Anna's, they really go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. There was a great display of fresh food every day at breakfast and I would consider this place great value for money. Would be fabulous if all stays are as enjoyable of this one. We came home speaking very highly of our stay for a week afterwards. Many thanks Marie and Peter, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseyGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights with 3 golfing friends and it was an excellent base for playing at local courses. The breakfasts were great and all the bedrooms were all clean. Marie offered us truly fantastic hospitality and helped us to organize tee time bookings and restaurants. Her recommendations were all brilliant. She even lit the fire for us one evening (in June) when we had got soaked through playing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Ruby_Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Me and a friend stayed here for 4 nights in May, and we were very lucky with this one. The owner, Marie was very friendly and helpful. No complaints about the staff, everybody made sure we had everything we needed, and Anna was one of those who just wants whats best for you.
The room was clean, very nice and cosy, and the beds were comfortable.
Lovely breakfast, in nice surroundings. At arrival, we got a big glass of orange juice, which we appreciated, travelling for a while and being thirsty. The living room was quite enchanting, almost gives you that feeling of being home.
We felt like we were taken care of, and at departure we even got a slice of cake with us on the road. Thank you to everybody, the owner and the staff for this wonderful experience. You just made our stay in Galway so much better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnetteL456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.6 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#11 of 189 in Galway
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adare Guesthouse
Adare Guesthouse
#37 of 189 in Galway
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Lodge
Sunrise Lodge
#8 of 189 in Galway
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 189 in Galway
705 reviews
1.2 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 189 in Galway
725 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ardawn House
Ardawn House
#15 of 189 in Galway
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishmore House

Address: Inishmore Guesthouse 109 Fr Father Griffin Road | Lower Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: £70 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, family-run guest house in a quiet area, with tea/coffee available in the lounge and a popular breakfast menu. Close to the city centre, beach, bars, promenade and restaurants. Inishmore House offers sight-seeing tours to the Aran Islands, Burren, Cliffs of Moher or Connemara. Inishmore is also an excellent base for golf or fishing. Inishmore House can also organise golf package holidays, tailored to personal needs. Peter at Inishmore has been offering golf holidays since 1996 and provides transport to and from the airport and golf courses. Peter can also take you on sightseeing tours along the way, with visits to speciality bars and restaurants. Highly recommended by many guides including Golf Sport in Germany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Inishmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing