We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant

Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #176 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Price range: US$28 - US$43
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

14 of us arrived at the restaurant without prior warning. 8adults 6children. The staff were so friendly and in no time had rearranged tables for us to be together. So wise to put us in a part of the restaurant away from other diners. The children enjoyed their food so much they were actually well behaved and quiet!! (Aged 9,7,4,4,4, 10 mths) The food was delicious and plenty of it. Could not fault ANYTHING. Great value for money. Thank you all for a lasting memory to take back to Wales.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cymraes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalVilla, Owner at Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hi Cymraes11,
Thanks for your wonderful review and for choosing to eat with us on your holidays. What we really like is the fact that not only were you happy but that we were able to give you as you said "a lasting memory" to bring home. We couldn't ask for more than that when we have people dine with us and it means a lot to us to be able to do that. We hope that the next time you make it back to Galway you'll pop in and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    31
    20
    5
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Chinese food - great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We were here during the really nice weather, had a lovely table at the window with a great view of the bay. My friend and I thought the food was really nice. There was a pasta special with a creamy spicy sauce which while unusual to find in a Chinese worked really well together. My friend had beef which was really tender. We shared a tiramisu and it was absolutely delicious. The service was good as well, our waiter was really friendly and chatty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank freewee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalVilla, Owner at Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hi freewee,
thanks for visiting us and for taking the time to review. Our already amazing view of the bay gets pretty spectacular when the weather is sunny like you said. I'm glad you enjoyed the pasta special, we're always looking for something new and fun to try out and we're big fans of that tiramisu as well! We always try to make sure that our staff are friendly and engaging with our customers so its reassuring to hear this is happening. Hope you'll come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“really tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Have been here a few good times in the last two yrs, has never let us down. Menu great value starter, mains, coffee and a glass of wine for €20 fantastic value. Service really good. Wd really recommend it. Well done guys.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank redwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalVilla, Owner at Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hi redwild,
Thanks for your continued support and thanks for taking the time to review us. We love to see customers coming back to us when they have a good experience. Our €20 menu is very popular and we aim to keep it that way for a long time. See you soon we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Best Chinese in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Excellent food, great service with pleasant staff. Very relaxing. I highly recommend you to visit. Best location in Galway, view is eye watering

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalVilla, Owner at Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hi Tom,
Thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant and thank you so much for your kind words. Its always nice to hear that people are happy to recommend us to others. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Küsnacht
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good service, average food, pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Good, friendly and quick service. The food is rather Thai/Chinese europeanised, definitely not genuine chinese, average to good. My steamed haddock in ginger sauce and spring onions was tasty, sadly the haddock overcooked and in turn very dry. That should not happen at this price-level.
My wife had "general Tso" with chicken. Not bad but lacking real taste. My daughter had "pinapple & ginger" with duck. She liked it, I found it too sweet, and again, lacking distinguishable taste.
In short, we expected better taste, and, sorry, real chinese food is another league.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Klaus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalVilla, Owner at Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Hi Klaus B,
Thanks for visiting and taking the time to review and thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you found the service so good, we always aim to ensure customers are well taken care of. If you get the chance to visit us again please let us know and we can have our chefs prepare a more authentic Chinese dish for you - we are always happy to do so for anyone who is looking for a more traditional Chinese dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing