We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded Our Expectations!”
other travellers have booked this property
Arus Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Arus Front
sea view standard double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Arus Front
sea view
standard double bedroom
salthill peer
quay st
long walk
connemara
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Galway, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
mike k
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location makes it attractive”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Arus Grattan with another couple for a week in apartment #4. The location is what makes this place attractive. It is right across the street from Galway Bay and the promonade. Great view from the balcony. Walking distance to the Latin Qtr. and Eyre Square. If the apartment was better appointed I would have given it an excellent. The furniture in the sitting area was old and uncomfortable and the beds were poorly assembled, loose headboards and noisy. In our opinion, definitly not of 4 star caliber. Again, the location makes this rental appealing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: furniture, beds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue F
Sparta, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Exceeded Our Expectations!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this apartment last month for a week, primarily to attend a wedding reception at the Salt-hill Hotel, but also to explore Gal way. The proprietor answered all of my emails, promptly leading up to the arrival date. Everything that he promised me was true. We could walk to the wedding reception, we could walk to Gal way city cent re, Gal way Bay was across the street, as was the promenade. The view was spectacular! The unit was roomy and clean and had everything and more that we needed for our stay. The booking process was a snap. We were pleasantly surprised that the Salt- hill section itself is a thriving area with restaurants, pubs, stores, etc. The proprietor spent a lot of time with us to explain everything and to suggest places to go. He also was very helpful, since we did not want to rent a car, in suggesting that we take the bus from Shannon to Galway and then a short taxi to the apartment. This was a memorable vacation, and should we return, this is where we will stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The convenience, location, and views!
Liked least: Landline did not work for us, but since we had cells, it was not a big issue.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nrboyle
Savannah, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location with great value!”
Reviewed 5 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Several of our family members have stayed at this rental in the last few years. We will definitely stay there again on return trips to Ireland. It is in a great location and the view overlooking the Bay is beautiful. There are two grocery stores within walking distance. The walk into town is short and if you chose to take a taxi, it is inexpensive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location, the view was beautiful.
Liked least: Heating was difficult to regulate.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneAlexa...
Alexandra
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Arus Grattan was my home away from home”
Reviewed 21 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My stay at Arus Grattan for the month of September 2012 was a delightful experience. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in a friendly, centrally located vacation rental. The owner, Sean Treacy, was professional and very responsive to all of my questions and requests. In fact, just this afternoon, I was singing Sean’s and Arus Grattan’s praises to friends. Arus Grattan is a great value for your money, and I’d definitely hope to stay there if I’m ever lucky enough to be back in Galway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lassie2O0...
Hamburg, NY, U.S.A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, Spacious, Convenient”
Reviewed 11 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Found Arus Grattan a perfect stay for touring West Ireland. Our host, Sean was very helpful with lots of information. We were able to tour Aran Islands, Connemara, Cliffs of Moher and walk to the City Centre of Galway. It was a perfect combination of driving the countryside and walking to town. The apartment was spacious and clean with many amenities.

I would stay there again and would recommend it highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The closeness to town
Liked least: no complaints
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuntieJan...
AZ
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spotless Salthill Vacation Rental”
Reviewed 18 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

If you love to walk this is the place for you! You walk one way and you are in City Center in about 15 mins. You walk the other way, and you enjoy the Promenade along Galway Bay, in 2 mins., The village of Salthill is around the corner! View from the the smaller two bedroom two bath apt.,while narrow, does overlook the bay and provides a welcome respite after a trip to the busy City Centr. Apt. is spotless, and the intrepid landlord is on sight every day! He is most helpful and there to make sure all amenities are ship shape. If you are a huge partier, ie, loud drinker, forget it. Premises is for respectful folks. No loud parties encouraged. Landlord, Sean, and his son are friendly and ready to offer helpful tips for your trip. Building is in a quiet spot and has a car park underneath. Furnishings are adequate and compact. Perfectly elevated dining bench provides an excellent view of the sea. Main bathroom is bright and and larger than ensuites. We stayed for 4 weeks and really felt at home. A great location, a great value, and a great space, makes for an excellent vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Liked least: Strong sweet smell in ensuite bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LG798500
Worcester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed 20 May 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We booked these apartments and from the online images we expected a fairly nice place but nothing special. We were wrong.

The apartment is very spacious and immaculately clean as well as being very modern. There was everything that we needed and wonderful shops close by.

Mr. Treacy was very welcoming and I would say to him "You undersell your apartment online. Boast more about it because it is worth it".

We had an excellent time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and cleanliness
Liked least: Cooking Utensils could be better quality
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing