We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Claire is too modest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Claire's Tearooms - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Claire's Tearooms
Price range: US$4 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Description: Old world charm in the heart of Clarinbridge...Claire's Tearooms provides breakfasts and lunches in a cosy, intimate setting. Enjoy a leisurely meal or a cup of tea from our vintage china teasets. We also open a monthly supper club and are available for private functions or outside catering.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Claire is too modest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

It's called a tearooms but heavens above, that must be the understatement of the century. It is a restaurant with a super book shop upstairs and a gift shop adjoining. Two visits there in July confirmed the excellence I found last year - ask for a tian of crab and you will get the most spectacularly fresh and tasty crab meat ever - and it wil be served with an amazing variety of salad leaves and terrific brown bread. Weaken and look at the dessert menu - or turn at look at them all in their creamy splendour, and you'll find the taste matches the appearance. On colder days (and not this summer), I have relished their homemade soups. Why am I so rarely near Galway? I'm going to try to change that because this place is wonderful. Bought their brown bread to take away and bought books upstairs too. I know you'll love it too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    5
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I have been going regularly to Claire's Tearooms, on my own, with family and with friends. The place is very cozy and very inviting to stay longer, especially when it is not too busy and you can spend some time browsing at the books you might have purchased from Charlie Byrnes bookshop upstairs.
The staff are friendly and efficient. I never had to wait long for any order. The breakfast menu is very reasonable and the portions are very good.

It is a lovely cafe-restaurant and tea rates much better in China cups!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IDJ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Overall excellence.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We visited Claires in Clarenbridge on a busy Saturday. Notwithstanding the fact that the restaurant was crowded, the service was excellent. The menu was varied and innovative and the presentation was first class. The food itself could only be described as superb, and the helpings were generous (like so many places these days, there was too much salad. This was obviously prepared early in the day, as it showed signs of age. Also, the portions were over-large - an obvious cost-saver).

One part of the experience, unfortunately, marred this otherwise superb experience - Claires does not accept credit cards. Quite extraordinary in the twenty-first century and caused some embarrassment in our party as well as to others we observed on the day. If this was rectified, it would become one of my favourite restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This place exudes Irish charm. Try it if you're staying at the Maldron. It's right down the road and has real French pressed coffee.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CathRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Lovely Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

On a trip from Mayo to Cork we decided to give Galway a miss with all the hassle of parking and traffic and decided to stop off in Oranmore for a quick bite to eat to keep us going until we got a proper lunch along the long road ahead of us.. Not knowing Clarinbridge we stopped at Claires Tea rooms with a quick scone and cuppa in mind. WOW.... what a find was this wonderful and quaint little spot. We were seated by a very friendly lady and offered menu's with a beautiful selection of breakfast items. I was tempted by the Eggs Benedict and the other half had Scrambled Eggs with Smoked Bacon. These came with freshly squeezed Orange Juice and fine sized pots of tea and coffee and hot toast. When waiting for our food I went for a wander and found Charlie Browns bookshop located upstairs. Small but stocked with a good wide selection of books. Our food was absolutely delicious, with good sized portions and piping hot. We entered looking a quick fill up of a coffee & scone and left not needing anything until dinner time. This is an excellent little spot and next time we are in Galway we will definitely be travelling Clarinbridge to sample the lunch menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snudge73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Claire's Tearooms also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing