We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food!”
Review of EIGHT Bar and Restaurant - CLOSED

EIGHT Bar and Restaurant
Price range: US$5 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Owner Tom Sheridan and his team are dedicated to providing a modern approach to hospitality in Galway. Our food is unique, hearty and sourced locally. It is produced by the legendary Michelin Star trained chef Jess Murphy. Food is served 7 days a week from 6pm. Please ring for a reservation.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Dropped into Bar 8 on Saturday last at around 9 pm. Although the bar was quite full we were shown to an empty table. Service was prompt and we were presented with menus while a drinks order was taken. Shortly after that some pickled olives, gherkins and capers were brought accompanied by ciabatta. Nice touch! We decided to order three starters - patatas bravas, salt and pepper squid and hummus platter. All platters arrived together. There was a generous portion of bravas with lots of sauce. Squid was perfect.The hummus was really good and was accompanied by a felafel disk. We almost missed the garnish of semi-sundried tomatoes and onion jam which would have been a travesty! Yum! The accompanying salads were deliciously dressed. Service was great. A glass of white and a pint of Budvar brought the total bill to just under €30. Can't wait to revisit. Well done and thank you to all concerned.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taistealaithe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    5
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Eclectic and cool”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I visited "Bar Eight" recently, having not been there for a few months. It was a Saturday night in January and much to my suprise, the place was thronged.

If you haven't been, it's more of a gastro bar than a conventional restaurant...but the food is so much better than your standard "bar" fare. There's a really twist to the menu, well thought out and delicious.

Ultimately, my wife and I ate tapas style, ordering several starters and the cheese plate (from the desert menu). It was delicious and very reasonably priced.

There's a super beer menu, with a mix of artisan local and foreign beers. They completely shun the typcial Guinness/Heineken suite of beers, that are de riguer in virtually every other bar premises in Ireland. We didn't have wine on the evening, but have had it here before and whilst the choice is limited, what they stock is good.

If you like something a little bit left of centre, you'll love Bar Eight!

Service was a little on the slow side (the staff admitted that they hadn't

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RolloPollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Faultless Food - Shame About The Staff!”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

As a vegetarian, I really enjoying coming here as they always have food on the menu that I adore - which changes seasonally. The starters are very reasonably priced but are on the small side. The dinners are really tasty. Try ask for one of the windows by the tables when booking. The only let down is the staff aren't friendly and I always get the feeling they're trying to slog away and you have to settle for false smiles or none at all! Other than that, the atmosphere is really relaxed, comfortable and the food is gorgeous.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“A proper dinner”
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

The food was of a good quality. I have eaten there twice and my main courses were lamb and steak both of which were excellent. It is however a little pricy. There is a good buzz in the restraint and a wide selection of beverages

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b_h123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The food was great and the wine list too. We got a lot of food and we shared to try each others dishes and all the food was great.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed EIGHT Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing