We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent fish at a cheap price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of EIGHT Bar and Restaurant - CLOSED

EIGHT Bar and Restaurant
Price range: US$5 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Owner Tom Sheridan and his team are dedicated to providing a modern approach to hospitality in Galway. Our food is unique, hearty and sourced locally. It is produced by the legendary Michelin Star trained chef Jess Murphy. Food is served 7 days a week from 6pm. Please ring for a reservation.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent fish at a cheap price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

The place is at the border of the city center, the atmosphere is "minimarket" but we eat very good fish at a really convinient price! Also the wine is quite good and is not so expensive!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FlavioPompermaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    5
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Great location (view on the docks- you can see the fishermen leaving on their boat if you are seated next to the bay window), the waiter is really friendly and helpful, the food is original, fresh and good. I highly advise you to go there!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“On a sliding slope”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

I had being looking forward to my recent meal in this restaurant as previous expeiences in the restaurant had always been quite positive.However I was disappointed on a few levels. The whole place seemed to lack enthusiasm for business. The place has a relaxed atmosphere in general but it has lost the edge it previously had. There were a lot of tables empty. The art pieces were taken down from the walls and the walls looked dirty. The whole place needs some new paint. The service was poor and uninterested. The menu was lacking much choice in comparison to previous menus available in the restaurant and the place was cold. The food itself was good quality and tasty. Overall this place needs to pull up its socks.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cody2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Dropped into Bar 8 on Saturday last at around 9 pm. Although the bar was quite full we were shown to an empty table. Service was prompt and we were presented with menus while a drinks order was taken. Shortly after that some pickled olives, gherkins and capers were brought accompanied by ciabatta. Nice touch! We decided to order three starters - patatas bravas, salt and pepper squid and hummus platter. All platters arrived together. There was a generous portion of bravas with lots of sauce. Squid was perfect.The hummus was really good and was accompanied by a felafel disk. We almost missed the garnish of semi-sundried tomatoes and onion jam which would have been a travesty! Yum! The accompanying salads were deliciously dressed. Service was great. A glass of white and a pint of Budvar brought the total bill to just under €30. Can't wait to revisit. Well done and thank you to all concerned.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Taistealaithe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Eclectic and cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I visited "Bar Eight" recently, having not been there for a few months. It was a Saturday night in January and much to my suprise, the place was thronged.

If you haven't been, it's more of a gastro bar than a conventional restaurant...but the food is so much better than your standard "bar" fare. There's a really twist to the menu, well thought out and delicious.

Ultimately, my wife and I ate tapas style, ordering several starters and the cheese plate (from the desert menu). It was delicious and very reasonably priced.

There's a super beer menu, with a mix of artisan local and foreign beers. They completely shun the typcial Guinness/Heineken suite of beers, that are de riguer in virtually every other bar premises in Ireland. We didn't have wine on the evening, but have had it here before and whilst the choice is limited, what they stock is good.

If you like something a little bit left of centre, you'll love Bar Eight!

Service was a little on the slow side (the staff admitted that they hadn't

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RolloPollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed EIGHT Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing