We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite B&B, more like average hotel”
Review of Ocean Crest B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Crest B&B
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This place lacks the charm of good B&B, it reminds me of ordinary hotel. It isn't centrally located and it takes you 15-20 min walk to get to city center. The building, the room were good and clean. We had two room suite on the ground floor with second exit to parking yard behind the hotel which was quite comfy actually but hence - no views from the windows. Classic irish breakfast was bountiful but can't say any more special about this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirilldu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

Worst bed I have ever slept in. The springs poked me in hips. The first morning, no hot water. The bathroom had a great jetted tub surrounded by moldy caulking and moldy ceilings. The service was pleasant and breakfast good. The room was a nice size and great location with views of water.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DragonflySusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

The B&B was in a great location for both Salthill and Galway City Centre. We walked into both, though Galway was a slightly longer walk. Everywhere was very clean in the hotel from dining room to bedrooms, in fact there was a lovely homely smell of fabric conditioner in the house as they always seemed to be washing / ironing in the downstairs staff room. The staff/owners were very friendly and made you feel welcome. Breakfast was lovely - we had a full Irish all 3 mornings with more than enough toast & bread for us all. We travelled as 2 couples for my 40th Birthday and we frequented a great pub in Salthill (behind Seapoint) called O'Connors - definitely worth a look!!! We will be returning to Galway again soon and will definitely look at coming back to Ocean Crest. We got a good deal on a website and our stay was great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatG1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

This hotel has a great view. Try to get a room on the front so you will have a view of the bay. You are a short walk to pubs, city center Galway, and across the street from the bay which has a lovely walkway along it. You can catch a bus easily right out your door and a view steps down. Very nice staff. Lovely breakfast area and a cracking good breakfast. Clean, tidy, and well kept up. Our tour company picked us up right outside our front door.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cinydylou504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We visited here on business however knowing how lovely Galway is here we planned our visit to ensure we had time to spend in the lovely traditional bars here. B & B owner was very polite and let us check in an hour early (we rang first). Rooms very spacious, very clean, we had a front view room so had a gorgeous view out to sea. Free parking available. Nice breakfast! (But no irish white pudding :-( !!! ) Breakfast between 8 & 10. About 10 minutes walk to city centre. Set in a nice area! Would definatley stop here again. Thank you!! Galway itself is romantic and bars have culture and tradition.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LannyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pleasure2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank daninoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.2 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
5.8 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
231 reviews
6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
847 reviews
2.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
0.4 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#36 of 46 in Galway
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Crest B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Crest B&B

Address: Ocean Crest 6 Ocean Wave, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: £33 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Crest B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Crest B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing