We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Ocean Crest B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Crest B&B
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Schofield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were here for 4 nights in May of 2014. Sharon was very helpful, friendly and accomadating. Her little touches that she added were very much appreciated. We had a view of Galwqay Bay. Very nice path along the water.The B&B was a good location to do the sight seeing that we had planned.. Very spacious and comfortable rooms, nice lounge area and balacony too. We drove into Galway once, very confusing streets and of course narrow, unless you know your way around that city. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    43
    26
    10
    5
See reviews for
17
54
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampstead, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Very reasonably priced B & B and our room had a lovely view of the ocean (ask for it). Very friendly owner, interesting city. Breakfast was extra but well worth it. If you are from US, ask for directions on using shower! Bed very comfortable. Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I treated myself to one night at an Irish B&B and am glad of it. The Ocean Crest is a charming place. Very clean with great service. And Sharon knows how to cook an egg! I can recommend the scrambled and the poached. Both were delicious. Acroas the street there is a great view of the water. The B&B is a little bit of a trek into Galway and there is a hill. Give yourself 20 minutes. You may get a better price if you email or call to book. I'll stay here next time I'm on the west coast.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The landlady, Sharon, is the epitome of Irish hospitality. She loved giving us suggestions on where to go in and around Galway and western Ireland. She booked our travel, arranged our day trips, made lovely breakfasts, ensured we were comfortable in our room, and made for an overall phenomenal stay in Galway. It's a scenic 10 minute walk into downtown Galway, but I much prefer its quaint view to the hustle and bustle of downtown. I would definitely stay at the Ocean Crest B&B again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Very quiet quarter. 15 minutes walking from the downtown of Galway.

My girlfriend an I stayed there for 2 nights. The rooms are pretty spacious and the views to the lake are really amazing.

The girl that attended us was very kind, she recommended us some places to dinner and have a drink.

Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank proper_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShanIn
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Start with the good: nice location, with a short stroll to restaurants and cafes. Shannon, the proprietor was nice enough, recommending activities and making bookings for us. However the place looked as though it had not been throughly cleaned in some time. There was dust everywhere, the towels and bathmats were fraying and the sheets were absolutely DISGUSTING. Shiny brightly patterned plastic sateen. Nasty Nasty Nasty. I felt icky sleeping there and refused to eat breakfast there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ShanIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

While the host was kind upon arrival, we were in a twin room which may have been a booking error. Regardless, the rooms were very dusty. So dusty, in fact, that my husband (we were on our honeymoon) had such a severe allergy reaction that we had to seek medical advice and seek out allergy medication. Not only were the rooms dusty, the bedding was old. The beds were so weak and used that they sank almost to the boxspring when we sat on them. The comforter/bedspread was dingy and stained. The pillows were very old and hard from overuse. The towels were ratty and discolored, mismatched and in need of an upgrade. The bathroom had one small shaving light that was pulled by string. There were mold marks lining the shower, the toilet and the sink.

The doors were very thin and since we were staying next to the stairwell we could hear every single conversation being held by the owner right in front of our door.

This room was not as advertised.

Furthermore, the B&B host who greeted us at the door had a room she was working out of across the hall. On our first night we sat on the stairs a good 40ft from the entrance and watched one of her friends/family members hang out of the balcony, obviously intoxicated, yell at ladies walking by on the sidewalk and parking lot. We saw the owner in the same room laughing and having a grand time, allowing this behavior to happen. Completely inappropriate.

This Bed and Breakfast charged us for morning meals, yet the cereals and cookies and crisps were left out, opened and exposed, from our arrival time on for the next morning. We did not even want to eat there because everything looked incredibly stale.

http://Booking.com as well as Ocean Crest B&B should be ashamed representing such a disgusting place on their website. Of course we did not want to spend the second night, the accommodations were horrid. We will be disputing these charges on our credit card.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hycaliber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#34 of 45 in Galway
100 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
214 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Anno Santo
Anno Santo
#36 of 45 in Galway
95 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#7 of 45 in Galway
450 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Crest B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Crest B&B

Property: Ocean Crest B&B
Address: Ocean Crest 6 Ocean Wave, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Crest B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Crest B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing