We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maureen was lovely!”

Glencree Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glencree Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #73 of 185 Galway B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Maureen was lovely!”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We loved staying at this B&B while traveling with my husband and his parents. Maureen couldn't have been more welcoming. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The location was good (15-20 minutes walk to city center, 5-10 to Salthill). It's close to the boardwalk along Galway Bay which is really nice. I would truly recommend this place most of all because of Maureen. She'll play you her mix tape of traditional irish ballods over a lovely Irish breakfast. She'll give you great recommendations for what to do nearby and she'll even search the room high and low for your mother-in-law's wig if need be. Don't hesitate to book this place!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelheidi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We spent here just one night but everything was perfect: our host was so friendly and nice and the breakfast she made for us was really good! The position is very good: you can reach the city center with a short walk, and the seasside was realy close!
The room was big and clean and so the beathroom (not so big but still ok!)
Totally recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FedeFe32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This a lovely B&B with clean and comfortable rooms located a ten minute walk from the Galway outdoor walking mall. Maureen is a wonderful ambassador for Ireland and exemplifies Irish hospitality. She gave us the best advice about where to go and what to see during our very short stay, and also prepared a lovely breakfast that filled us up till late afternoon. We booked three rooms for one night on our way to Clifden and should have stayed a few more nights in Galway. It is a fun town with lots of great music!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessaBoulder_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canuck in Mount Hope
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Superb location, excellent breakfasts, and great hosts (Helen and Kim). Only minor criticism would be lack of shower in our room. Out of 100....99%. Honesty bar was also a nice touch. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveAndCarolyn_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Maureen Nolan, the owner of this bed & breakfast, was very helpful. She arranged all our tours, and was very accommodating when we needed to have breakfast early on our last day in order to catch a flight at Shannon Airport. The breakfasts were very filling and delicious and you are given several choices that you make a day ahead of time. Everything was homecooked--even the jam! Everything was served on Irish china, which added to the breakfast experience. This B&B is a very short walk to the center of Galway and to Galway Bay/Salthill. The center of Galway is a good spot from which to take trips to Connemara, the Aran Islands, The Cliffs of Moher and many other spots. This was our second trip to Ireland and we have seen a few locations. My grandmother came from Ireland and this was the first location in Ireland that reminded me of my grandmother's way of speaking and her customs.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timmarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Dun Roamin
Dun Roamin
#108 of 185 in Galway
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lawndale B&B
Lawndale B&B
#71 of 185 in Galway
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Consilio
Consilio
#34 of 185 in Galway
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sli Na Mara
Sli Na Mara
#20 of 185 in Galway
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#17 of 185 in Galway
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inishmore House
Inishmore House
#29 of 185 in Galway
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencree Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencree Bed & Breakfast

Property: Glencree Bed & Breakfast
Address: Glencree 20 Whitestrand Avenue, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glencree Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing