We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique townhouse, friendly, helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number 7 Cross Street
Ranked #90 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Our very small room was on the fourth floor so quite a hike with luggage! It was clean with a comfortable bed and modern bathroom. I thought they provided a nice breakfast with an assortment of fresh fruit, cereals, bread and more. Unfortunately the Internet did not work in our room and we had to go downstairs to use it. Apparently this is a problem on the upper floors. The location is great for enjoying the city but nighttime is noisy with all the nearby pubs and also the morning garbage pick up. The uniqueness just doesn't make up for what this expensive hotel lacks such as elevator, room space, Internet, and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FourdaysWestdeptford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

having stayed three uncomfortable nights here never again. just a bed in the room ,no wardrobe no place to even put your bags. at nearly 100 euro a night this is just not acceptable, not even do you get cable tv only, four stations. faulty towers would not come close to this place.breakfast consists of a bowl of cereal and some toast. we would not reccommend this place to anybody

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank 789sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

Refurbished, a/c in room, very small rooms, without any furniture, just a bed. But clean and cosy. Comfortable bed. But impossible to sleep. Too noisy, even with Orophax not possible to sleep. Much too expensive, not suitable for families. Done to go drink until 3 am, but not to sleep. If you are tired pass it out.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgillioz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Apparently "boutique" translates as beds shoved into very small spaces. Check-in was interesting as I had to call the hotel from the hotel to get someone to come and check me in. Breakfast is continental ie no cooked food available. No tea and coffee facilities in the room - love my early morning cuppa while watching the news.

There's a pub facing the hotel which stays open until about 2am; it's very loud. It all settles down about 3am and then kicks off again about 5.30am when deliveries start. Worst night's sleep in a hotel ever.

Breakfast consists of a good selection of bread, cereals, pastries, cheese, cold cuts, yoghurt, tea, infusions, coffee. Self service but there was a very pleasant young woman (Hannah) to make tea and coffee while we raided the cold cuts.

A quirky place with some nice touches but I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, away from the noisy pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

It is extremely central, a lovely property but the rooms are tiny. We stayed at peak time and it was expensive enough.The staff were extremely helpful. Nice location to tour the city. Don't forget your umbrella.

Room Tip: Very small a bit of A posh b&b
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Great place to stay for those socialising in the city centre, literally right in the middle of everything, in a really pretty part of Galway city. Rooms are tiny but tastefully decorated -very old, historic house, so v authentic!
Noisy at night, so probably not the best place to stay if you have an early morning business meeting! No taxi fees, and you can park next door at Jury's Inn car park for reasonable prices. Really enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, might be quieter. Not suitable for people with mobility problems as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navchic74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

This was my second time at this hotel I stay here if my other choice is full so it is my second choice. The plus points are 1 the central location and 2 the price is reasonable. 3. It's a very relaxed and comfortable stay.
The downsides are the rooms are tiny but they are well decorated so I can overlook this. However I find it very odd to have nowhere at all to store clothes or bags. And also you have to ask for a hairdryer. The bathrooms are very clean and functional and breakfast is good enough. There is very little service here this area could be much improved.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinkfizz31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.0 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#31 of 46 in Galway
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,039 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#28 of 46 in Galway
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Barnacles Hostel Galway
0.1 mi away
The House Hotel
The House Hotel
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galway Arms Inn
Galway Arms Inn
#131 of 189 in Galway
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 7 Cross Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 7 Cross Street

Address: 7 Cross Street, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: £60 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number 7 Cross Street 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Cross St is a 600-year-old stone building with many stories to tell. This boutique hotel Galway City boasts ten en-suite, air-conditioned bedrooms which are thoughtfully renovated and decorated to preserve the unique character of this historic structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Number 7 Cross Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 7 Cross Street Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing