We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number 7 Cross Street
Ranked #57 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Thurles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over-priced”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We had a pleasant enough time in Galway despite staying in this hotel.
The only real positive of this hotel is its location, though there are many other hotels with similarly great locations (e.g. Jury's, the Spanish Arch).
The room was tiny, barely enough room to move around the bed. There was no storage whatsoever. The television was a bit dodgy and the wi-fi did not work at all. The shower had fairly poor temperature and water pressure. The room was quite noisy at night, but that didn't bother us too much. Breakfast was fine - I didn't want a hot breakfast in any case.
The staff were friendly enough, though they did seem a bit stressed for some reason.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    71
    43
    12
    17
See reviews for
12
111
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel is right in the thick of it and you couldn't have a better location if you are in town for a night out. The design is good. The rooms are small for the price but wasn't a problem for us. The parking is just around the corner and there is a special rate for EUR10. If you weren't going out in the night, you might find it noisy. However, it wasn't a problem for us. Breakfast is good but minimal and there is no hot option.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPVLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. Central in lively Galway latin quarter. Charming 10 room boutique B&B. Friendly and service oriented staff. (Very) Small room, excellent bed, good, albeit small bathroom. Would refer to friends.

Room Tip: Take a room away from bar-lined streets. Late party go-ers, early beer suppliers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kees A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stayed one night here fantastic welcome location second to none.We were even given an early breakfast as we were leaving early.Lovely modern clean rooms would be maybe a little small no wardrobe and tv reception wasn't great also wifi very patchy and a tad noisy for a long trip,but perfect if you want to be in the centre of everything.We got a great rate and it was perfect for us

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akroscommon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenagh, Co Tipperary
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at No 7 Cross Street for one night only and it was an experience not to be repeated in the future! We couldn't find the place and tried to call the hotel several times but to no avail, all we could get was an answering machine. When we finally found it we were both cross and tired and having carried the luggage up the stairs all we were fit for was sleep. The room was very small but clean and comfortable, however the noise outside was incredible and went on until the wee hours of the morning. We had an early start and the girl very kindly offered to have breakfast ready for us at 7.45am instead of the usual 8pm. Breakfast was pleasant with nice coffee on offer and several cereals and cold meats and cheese. No cooked breakfasts though which was disappointing. At €120 for the night I would not consider it good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel if possible as it might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaD3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West deptford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Our very small room was on the fourth floor so quite a hike with luggage! It was clean with a comfortable bed and modern bathroom. I thought they provided a nice breakfast with an assortment of fresh fruit, cereals, bread and more. Unfortunately the Internet did not work in our room and we had to go downstairs to use it. Apparently this is a problem on the upper floors. The location is great for enjoying the city but nighttime is noisy with all the nearby pubs and also the morning garbage pick up. The uniqueness just doesn't make up for what this expensive hotel lacks such as elevator, room space, Internet, and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FourdaysWestdeptford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

having stayed three uncomfortable nights here never again. just a bed in the room ,no wardrobe no place to even put your bags. at nearly 100 euro a night this is just not acceptable, not even do you get cable tv only, four stations. faulty towers would not come close to this place.breakfast consists of a bowl of cereal and some toast. we would not reccommend this place to anybody

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 789sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galway hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.0 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#34 of 46 in Galway
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,924 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 46 in Galway
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#33 of 46 in Galway
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
The House Hotel
The House Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
1,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 58 in Galway
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 7 Cross Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 7 Cross Street

Property: Number 7 Cross Street
Address: 7 Cross Street, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Number 7 Cross Street 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Cross St is a 600-year-old stone building with many stories to tell. This boutique hotel Galway City boasts ten en-suite, air-conditioned bedrooms which are thoughtfully renovated and decorated to preserve the unique character of this historic structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Number 7 Cross Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 7 Cross Street Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing