We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The website and price hint at something much better” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number 7 Cross Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Number 7 Cross Street
Ranked #86 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The website and price hint at something much better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is certainly not the worst I have stayed in. But for the price I would expect a little more.

It is dated. Very dated, with peeling paint and stained carpet. It is small. Tiny in fact. So our double room only had space for one bedside table and a bed. Well, actually 2 beds as we didn't have the promised bed, but 2 singles pushed together. So it was uncomfortable as well as cramped. Helpfully the only Powerpoint in the room was located diagonally across the room from the bedside table, so we had to put anything we wanted charged on the floor. As there was limited room to get around the bed, this required a bit of a hop to get from one side of the room to another to avoid crushing whatever lucky appliance was getting charged.

Luckily we used our electronic appliances less than we thought we would. The promised wifi is available only if you sit on the staircase, not in the room or the breakfast area. As I had to work during our stay, it meant I had to sit in the staircase at awkward times talking and emailing, just to get work done. So I felt sorry for anyone who had to listen to that as I try to be a considerate guest when it comes to noise.

Which brings me finally the noise. It is central, so I wasn't expecting deathly quiet. But for €100 a night, I did expect some sort of attenuation. There was nothing. So we had street noise until the band at the pub started, then the band, then the DJ, and even when the pub closed, hens night screaming, taxis and other traffic horns and finally the domestic argument just as the sun came up. But there were no curtains, so it was bright as well. For the price, it is just criminal that they do not mention this issue when checking in, or reduce the noise with double glazing or something similar.

If you want some where to stay overnight for a girls weekend, or by yourself, this would be fine as a day pack would fit. If you are a couple, or have an average size suitcase, even overnight would be pushing the friendship. If you plan to stay for more than one night, go elsewhere. There are plenty of options in the same area, at the same price or cheaper, which will offer better value.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PickyLadyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    68
    40
    12
    17
See reviews for
12
104
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cesky krumlov
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I spent in this hotel only one night, wish it had been longer. The staff were very helpful and very helped me with the planning of moving from Dublin to Galway. The hotel was small but very cozy with a great atmosphere. Everywhere smelled like lilies, simply beautiful. Hotel is right in the center of the old town, all around are shops and pubs - simply amazing atmosphere! The night was a little noisy, but that's normal in the city center! You must have a few beers and you will sleep very well! :)
The room was small but very cozy and clean. Internet in the room: the signal was not good, but I understand it, in old buildings it happens... and it was no problem for me. The breakfast was continental (salami, ham, cheese, bread, fruit, cereal ....) Good
I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacikKlacik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pemaquid, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Located in the heart of the Latin Qurter of Galway, 7 Cross Street offers small but comfortable rooms at reasonable pricing. This "boutique hotel" is somewhat dated and could use a bit of upgrading. The primary disadvantage to this facility is its proximity to a rather loud pub accross the street. The use of the interior shutter in the room made the late night revelry tolerable. Continental breakfasts and cordial staff make this a good value. Nearby parking with a special hotel rate is available a block away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodfyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We sadly returned from our 2 night break in Galway last week, we had originally booked a much larger hotel & on arrival realised what a mistake we had made! after a quick search online...We found 7 Cross Street, & we are so glad we did!! I immediately phoned to see if they happened to have a room available for 2 nights (sun&mon) and Hazel could not have been more accommodating! we arrived at 12 pm & left our bags with Hazel in reception, we went off to have a shop & bite to eat! The hotel is literally 2 minutes away from shopping, bars, beautiful cafes & restaurants....Perfect!! we returned at about 2pm to be shown to our room, which was spotlessly clean with lovely little en suite....they are not huge at all but it adds to the quaint character. We absolutely loved it! They serve a lovely continental breakfast with a choice of breads, croissants, cheeses & meat, yoghurts, fresh berries & juices. We would stay again & recommend to anyone going, yes there is a little noise but no more than you would expect in such a central location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussJodie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

The location is excellent, you are literally just off shop street and the harbour which is the best location for Galway where all the bars, restaurants and shops are. You literally couldn't be closer! The room however was tiny! It was a double room but there is no way you could fit two people in this room. They did know on booking that I was alone so im sure they took this into account and probably have slightly bigger rooms. All in all I was very clean and nicely decorated. I would definitely stay again due to the location however I would definitely be requesting a bigger room! I paid 110 for the room which I though was too expensive for the room I got but again the location probably allows them to charge more.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms, especially if you are a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorman001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Lovely rooms. Friendly staff. Tasty continental breakfast. What more could you ask for. Fab price. Re people complaining of noise, all city hotels that I have stayed at are loud. That is the small price you pay for such a central location. I would stay again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

This is a very old building that has been refurbished to a high standard and its location and cost of a room are the plus points however you could only ever stay here for a short stay . The rooms are too small for two people to move around at the same time and the bed to short for anyone over 6ft. Also the hotel has 10 rooms but the breakfast room only has 4 tables. The breakfast its self is basic continental and only has one toaster ( a very slow one at that ) . The reception staff were nice but lacking in any form of customer service ,for example when we paid on leaving there was no thank you did you enjoy your stay type questions . Luckily we were only staying two nights , would we stay again – No . We have been to Galway before and have stayed at other hotels that are better ( but were booked up this time ) One other point other reviewers had posted on -the noise at the front of the hotel – Mind you after a few pints of Guinness you should sleep soundly

Room Tip: rooms at the front are on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loanstar59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.1 mi away
The House Hotel
The House Hotel
#6 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barnacles Hostel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 51 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citypoint Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 7 Cross Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 7 Cross Street

Property: Number 7 Cross Street
Address: 7 Cross Street, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Number 7 Cross Street 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Cross St is a 600-year-old stone building with many stories to tell. This boutique hotel Galway City boasts ten en-suite, air-conditioned bedrooms which are thoughtfully renovated and decorated to preserve the unique character of this historic structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Number 7 Cross Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 7 Cross Street Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing