We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic seafood place”

Oscar's Seafood Bistro
Ranked #7 of 484 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$62
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Eclectic seafood place”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Entered at 7pm and immediately settled into this relaxed restaurant. The decor is bright and filled with modern art but the overall feeling is cosy and unstressed. The boss (not Oscar) welcomed us with menus and we picked the main course from the specials of the day - A duo of pollock and turbot in a bisque reduction with samphire and leek with beetroot crisps on a bed of mashed potato. Really excellent, with accompanying vegetables perfectly cooked (turnip puree never tasted better). We shared a dessert, a trio of creme brulee, traditional, white chocolate and rhubarb, all excellent, although the egg base was slightly thickened, accompanied by two home made 'moreish' biscuits. Wine was an Albarinho, a touch expensive but full-bodied and well balanced. The freshness of the fish and the vegetables is the key impression we took away.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geohappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    198
    51
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my family visited last night after finding it on here and were very impressed , the waitress was so lovely and happy she made it for us just as much as the food did
(I think maybe she was owner or with the chef but didn't catch her name )
The food was amazing , all 3 courses as good as the next :-)

Helpful?
Thank Kattowee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbeyfeale, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy couple”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Staff were really friendly, genuine smiles all round. Very busy at the time. Food was delicious, could not fault it in any way. We thought the side orders were pricey!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mollflops2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“great seafood”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I was recommended this restaurant by hotel staff and was lucky to get early table the same (Friday) evening. Never mind the ceiling or the chairs, the ambience was just fine; not pretentious but cheery. Staff gave just the right level of attention.
We had the platter, lobster and swordfish: that was so fresh it wasn't even in the specials list.
Best fish I've had in the British Isles.
Also less expensive than I'd expected and worth every cent. Marvellous.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fish supper in race week”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

famous local restaurant which we booked at 24 hours notice in busy race week; suprisingly un-busy when we got there at 8.30 PM the next day.
The fish was excellent, both starter and mains; the atmosophere was informal and provincial and yet the food presented in a sophisticated way. Recommended!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DrH107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oscar's Seafood Bistro also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Oscar's Seafood Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing