We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Navy fans Ireland Excursion - August 2012”
Review of Jurys Inn Galway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Galway
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Navy fans Ireland Excursion - August 2012”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A good hotel. Excellent location for shops and nightlife. Best Irish Coffee of our whole trip.
Guinness was great as was the Guinness Stew. Our bartender was friendly and the service was fantastic. Within walking distance to several great pubs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SK2Hutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean O, Manager at Jurys Inn Galway, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We appreciate all feedback but especially enjoy hearing about the guests that leave us feeling satisfied and impressed. We hope to see you back with us in the future.

Best Regards,

Sean Osborne
Deputy General Manager
Jurys Inn
Galway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    679
    228
    65
    34
See reviews for
488
705
89
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Paid €40 add-on when making reservation for early check in and late check out. Called day in advance to confirm details with hotel, and was reassured over phone that the add-on I had paid for was secure. Was told not to arrive at 12pm due to early check in due to hotel being busy, so arrived at 1.30pm and was still asked to wait for a room. Door man rude and staff in bar and breakfast buffet abrupt and unfriendly. On day of check out was interrupted by room staff twice between 11-11.30am, and rudely informed by manager at 12.30pm that check out was 12pm. On check out at desk was made to feel like a liar and nuisance, as the add-on I paid for "didn't show on system". Calmly explained situation to manager and receptionist who were dismissive and did not apologise. Service was appalling, food and rooms average, and needed to pay €20 extra for parking, which I did not realise until arrival as I had assumed the hotel would have it's own car park. Felt unwelcome and would definitely not return or ever recommend to others. I have stayed in everything from hostels to B&Bs to 5 star hotels and have never received such unfriendly, appalling service in my life.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Labhaoise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean O, Manager at Jurys Inn Galway, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Labhaoise N,

Thank you for your recent review. I was shocked to hear of the poor experience you had here in Galway and that you felt our levels of customer service fell below your expectations.

I would like to discuss your stay further with you to establish where we came up short and to gain as much information possible so that I can resolve the issues at hand. If you would be so kind as to email me on sean_osborne@jurysinn.com with your contact details I will give you a call.

Best Regards,

Sean Osborne
Deputy General Manager
Jurys Inn
Galway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival to the hotel, I have to admit I was worried about noise. It was right in the heart of a busy part of Galway, right along the river by the Spanish Arch. The lobby was beautiful and clean and our rooms were spacious and accomodating. The noise level was not a problem at all and we enjoyed our view of the river. It was an unusually warm day, so the room was a bit stuffy, but once we opened the windows and got the desk fan going we were fine. We would stay again if we find ourselves in Galway!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank silenttigress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean O, Manager at Jurys Inn Galway, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear silenttigress,

Thank you very much for your kind words. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in Galway. We appreciate all feedback and especially enjoy positive comments from guests such as your own.

Best Regards,

Sean Osborne
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed on ladies day of the Galway races and arrived a few hours before check-in. The lady at check in went out of her way to get us a room early and managed to do so which was very much appreciated. The room was very nice, a good size and very clean and had a lovely view over the river. The hotel is in such a central location. You could not beat the location. It is an expensive day for accommodation in Galway but this hotel while still expensive was a lot better value than other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovehotelsWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean O, Manager at Jurys Inn Galway, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear lovehotelsWicklow,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It was great to hear that our staff went out of their way to make your stay more enjoyable. I hope you enjoyed your time here in Galway for the Races and I hope to see you back next year for the festtival.

Best Regards,

Sean Osborne
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My friend and I were in Galway for the Arts festival and stayed in Jurys hotel on the 25th and 26th July..
.it is a really great location and we had a fab view of the river from our room..
We did hear people complain about the heat and having no AC in the rooms but we found the open windows were enough to keep us cool.. overall we enjoyed our stay...! But I must say when we opted to have dinner in the hotel on the Saturday evening we were so disappointed...!! First of all the menu is Very limited.....!! The main course we ordered was not what we got , it was the bar food menu version....and by the time it was righted the meal was ruined...!
Lovely hotel in a great location ....But food not great...!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean O, Manager at Jurys Inn Galway, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Frances M,

Many thanks for your recent review. I was delighted to hear that you made the most of our central location and enjoyed the views of the River Corrib from your room.

I was disappointed to hear that the meal you had was not to your satisfaction. If at all possible, I would like the chance to discuss this matter further with you with the hope of using your comments to investigate these issues and to implement practices to avoid such issues occuring again. If you would like to contact me via email ( sean_osborne@jurysinns.com ) with a time that suits you, I will follow up with a telephone call.

I thank you again for your review and I hope to hear from you soon.

Best Regards,

Sean Osborne
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I had been booked into this hotel rather hastily by a friend. Apart from the central location I have not much good to say about the place. Overpriced rooms at 140 euros a night and overworked staff. The furnishing in the rooms are terribly dated circa 1980's, bath damaged from wear and tear with a smelly, mouldy shower curtain. I was looking forward to a bath there but decided not to after seeing the state of the bathroom. Not enough towels for two people either. Our bins were not emptied for two days, overflowing so I had to use plastic bags. No air conditioning, stuffy and had to keep the window open the desk fan on all night to circulate the air so it was constantly noisy from the beer garden and fan. The drinks in the bar are also a rip off. The worst was discovering that the room keys opened other doors, by mistake I hit the wrong floor and without my glasses to see the door number properly thinking I was on the correct floor.... opened another person's room. How embarrassing and shocking for us all. Terrible security issues. Bookers beware.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean O, Manager at Jurys Inn Galway, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear M C,

Thank you for your recent review. I was shocked to hear of the poor experience you had here in Galway and that you felt our levels of customer service fell below your expectations.

As I was not made aware of the issues you encountered I would like to discuss your stay further with you to establish where we came up short and to gain as much information possible so that I can resolve the issues at hand. If you would be so kind as to email me on sean_osborne@jurysinn.com with your contact details I will give you a call.

Best Regards,

Sean Osborne
Deputy General Manager
Jurys Inn
Galway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We went as a three and had a lovely room looking out on the river. We only had breakfast there, but that was really good. The room was nice and airy and clean. The bathroom was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is also handy for Quay street and Shop street, which was brilliant for dinner and shopping and things to do.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Conor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,053 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 45 in Galway
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,684 reviews
1.7 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
0.3 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Galway

Property: Jurys Inn Galway
Address: Quay Street, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Galway is ideally located in the heart of the city on Quay Street with a host of bars and restaurants on its doorstep. Overlooking the historic Spanish Arch and Galway Bay, Jurys Inn Galway is within short walking distance of the city's commercial and shopping districts. One of the most popular Galway hotels, Jurys Inn is in the perfect location whether visiting the city on business or pleasure. The hotel features an all day coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in the hotel's trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:30am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 9:30pm for dinner. If arriving by car guests will find a secure paid car park adjoining the hotel. Jury Inn guests can avail of a €10 overnight fee. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. Our bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flatscreen MultiChannel TV and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can also enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Galway with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Galway Hotel Galway
Jurys Hotel Galway
Galway Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing