We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare”
Review of Jurys Inn Galway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Galway
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nightmare”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Had by far the worst night in our Ireland trip at this hotel.

The last room on the ground floor should be a broom closet not a hotel room! Drunk people walking outside non stop - except for those who did stop to piss against the wall! And all this for $500 AUD a night...if I could have moved I would have but reception assured me no other rooms and weren't particularly interested anyway.

My mistake for arriving in Galway during race week and finding the only accommodation available was at Jurys Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelmore2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    679
    228
    65
    34
See reviews for
488
706
89
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My wife and one year old daughter and I recently stayed at the Jury's Inn in Galway for two nights on a trip through Ireland. The hotel cannot be beat for the location, which is right in the heart of Galway's vibrant Quay Street. The hotel was very accommodating and provided a baby cot for our daughter, and even provided an ice bucket to keep our baby's milk cold. Parking isn't included, but there is a lot attached to the hotel that gives you a discount. We parked and didn't move our vehicle for the two nights we were there.

The place was clean and in a great location, and the cost for the breakfast was well worth it. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatsnotfunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is right on the Main Street! It is lovely and warm.
The staff was great and helpful.
Thank you so much!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Noa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean O, Manager at Jurys Inn Galway, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Review,

Many thanks for your recent review. We appreciate all feedback and especially enjoy reading about particularly enjoyable stays. I will ensure to communicate your comments to the Hotel team.

Best Regards,

Sean Osborne
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Loved the location of the hotel. Right on the river Corrib. Great for shopping and a visit to the local pubs and restaurants. Food in the dining is excellent and well presented. Very relaxing and friendly

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room which was given and was very quiet and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gortahork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Loved every minute off our stay in Galway the Jury's has to be one off the best city hotel locations in Galway we had a lovely room with a river view the staff were very helpful and we would highly recomend this hotel to anyone who wants to be near all the shops and restaurants and also all the excellent street acts

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Good location near the heart of Galway. It was within walking distance to many pubs, restaurants and the sea. It takes a good 20 minutes walk from the main bus depot to get to the hotel. I was disappointed though as I found my room lacked privacy. Outside my window I had people sitting eating. There were no venetians or blinds etc. on the windows so I had to keep the curtains continuously pulled. There did not appear to be any window tinting. At night it was noisy at times. The room was clean, modern and had a comfortable bed. It also had a nice bathroom with a great shower.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldilocks14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean O, Manager at Jurys Inn Galway, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Goldilocks14,

Please let me begin by thanking you for choosing to stay with Jurys Inn. I would also like to thank you for your feedback. I was happy to read that there were many positive aspects to you stay. I was however disappointed to hear that your room encountered some privacy issues.

I have taken your comments on board but I would like to stress the ground floor rooms do have many features to increase privacy. The lower halves of all of these windows are frosted meaning the room cannot be seen into through our garden. The garden is also on a lower level to the bedrooms, meaning that from the garden, the only view of these rooms is a small area of the ceiling. I completely understand your disappointment and the issues you mentioned were brought up in an internal meeting.

I would like to thank you once again for your comments. We have taken them on board and will use them to improve the hotel. I hope to see you return sometime in the future.

Best Regards,

Sean Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is located right on the edge of the Quay Street, a street filled with restaurants and bars. It is also located right along the water. The rooms were great and very quiet. The staff was also very kind. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean O, Manager at Jurys Inn Galway, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Stephanie W,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Ireland and look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Best Regards,

Sean Osborne
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,054 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 45 in Galway
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
1.7 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
0.3 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Galway

Property: Jurys Inn Galway
Address: Quay Street, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Galway is ideally located in the heart of the city on Quay Street with a host of bars and restaurants on its doorstep. Overlooking the historic Spanish Arch and Galway Bay, Jurys Inn Galway is within short walking distance of the city's commercial and shopping districts. One of the most popular Galway hotels, Jurys Inn is in the perfect location whether visiting the city on business or pleasure. The hotel features an all day coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in the hotel's trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:30am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 9:30pm for dinner. If arriving by car guests will find a secure paid car park adjoining the hotel. Jury Inn guests can avail of a €10 overnight fee. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. Our bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flatscreen MultiChannel TV and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can also enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Galway with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Galway Hotel Galway
Jurys Hotel Galway
Galway Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing