We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable hotel near the Waterfront in Galway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour Hotel Galway
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Harbour Hotel provide a restful stay with excellent breakfast amnd very good bar food. We enjoyed the room and the environs; A fifteen minute walk to downtown, ten minutes to the historic area. The desk was most efficient and helpful; the wifi reliable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

901 - 907 of 1,544 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed here for two nights in June with my husband and our ten month old baby and had a fabulous weekend. We were absolutely blessed with the weather but we were equally blessed with the excellent staff who work at the hotel! Every single staff member went out of their way to ensure we had a comfortable stay and were particularly helpful as we had the baby with us. We ate in the bar both nights and the food was great on both ocassions. Breakfast was also lovely with plenty of choice. We got a family deal which included 2 nights B&B, evening meal and tickets to the aquarium and it was excellent value. The only negative was the heat in the room at night as there is no aircon and we were mid heatwave! But it happens so infrequently in Ireland who can complain?? The next time we visit Galway, we will be staying at the Harbour!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LibraryGirlIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

On an ordinary Monday night, one man who thought he could expect tranquility, was presented with a challenge so formidable, so treacherous, and so daunting, that no one, however mighty would be faulted for crumbling under the pressure.

But this man, against all odds, rose to the occasion. That Hercules, was Pavol Sean.

Dapper, energetic, and nimble-minded -- this man deserves a promotion, despite his brief (and spectacular) tenure at the Harbour Hotel, a class establishment with a range of capacities to service families, business travelers, and out and out drunkards alike.

It was awe-inspiring to see him thrive on toil with an understated elegance, to strengthen over time where other service industry professionals would degrade. I can only imagine, in fact I am imagining right now, how prodigious his ability to stimulate one's erogenous zones must be. I shudder at the thought-- and happily.

In the denouement of carnage, his victory was not Pyrrhic, because he took to the vacuum cleaner like a real boss, and erased any evidence of untoward proceedings. Hire this man. Promote this man. But above all, order drinks from this man. You will be well served.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Excellent location, less than 5min walk from train station and Eyre Square. No need for any taxis.
We booked a triple room and it was a great size, loads of room. The beds were really comfortable and even though we stayed on the Sat of the Aug BH, we weren't disturbed at all by other guests arriving back late. we had food in the bar and it was really lovely, and breakfast the next morning was also really good with a great selection.
all staff we met were really polite and helpful. would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggers1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Satyed here for my birthday present and it was just fab stayed in a lovely big room with bed and breakfast rate. Room lovely and spacious and every thing you would want on a room. Bathrobe and slippers on price too. I did opt in for fruit and water in room which was lovely. We had dinner in the resturant and it was lovely and the staff were all friendly and more then helpful as well. We did have afternoon tea and this was just amazing and looked gorgeous you have to avail of this it is €12.50 each I think but worth it yummy. All the staff were amazing and as I said already very helpful more then any other hotel. I will most definitely be back to this hotel again when I get the chance Thanks to all the staff brilliant stay :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jewel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is a very well run hotel in a very good location. It is only a short walk from the main centre but being on the harbours edge it still has a feel of being relaxed. We had a family room for my wife, my son and myself and the room was perfect for us. If you plan to use the discounted parking available from the hotel watch out as it is not very well sign-posted. It is accessed from the left hand side of the building. At first we parked in the public car park immediately next to the hotel but we were advised to move when we were checking in. We were stung for 2 Euro parking fee on the public car park for just 10 minutes!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Spent 2 nights here last week. The hotel was in a great location and easy to find. Very smart room which matched the overall look of the hotel. We ate in the restaurant one night - my pasta was lovely and my partner really enjoyed his fish and chips. Staff were all very helpful, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hunt1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,166 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forster Court Hotel
Forster Court Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
131 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Address: New Dock Road | The Harbour, Galway H91 E9PR, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £68 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a warm welcome and fantastic customer service throughout your stay at the 4 star Harbour Hotel Galway. We are conveniently located in the heart of Galway City, perfect for a getaway break with so much to do on our doorstep. 96 bedrooms and executive rooms, onsite parking and fitness suite. Stay connected with complimentary high speed Wi-Fi provided throughout. Dine in Dillisk on the Docks, our restaurant and bar with stylishly rustic décor and comfortable furnishings. Dillisk on The Docks combines both modern-creative and traditional styles of cooking using only local producers. Galway’s newest social hub, with outdoor heated garden, social seating with pockets of inviting living room seating and a wide choice of cocktails, gins, wines and whiskeys. Location: Galway is famous for its culture, atmosphere, artistic heritage and breathtaking landscapes along the Wild Atlantic Way. There is so much to explore, experience and enjoy on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing