We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault this hotel - best I have stayed in yet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour Hotel Galway
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Couldn't fault this hotel - best I have stayed in yet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I live this hotel, it was my second time to stay there and I can't wait to go back for a third time. The location is fantastic (less than 5 mins walk to City Centre), the rooms are lovely, the food is beautiful but for me the big thing was how nice the staff were. Every single staff member always had a big smile on their face and they are all so helpful. I have never stayed in a hotel with such friendly helpful staff and it really created a lovely relaxing atmosphere for the weekend. I would highly recommend this hotel, top marks all over.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    529
    200
    61
    32
See reviews for
190
591
44
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
175 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

The Harbour hotel is located, obviously enough, at Galway Harbour, a short stroll to the restaurant and nightlife heartland of Quay Street/Cross Street.

Hotel is welcoming and the staff are friendly and approachable.

Parking is limited at the back of the hotel - spaces are tight - but manageable with a bit of patience!

Rooms are clean, come with comfortable beds, a decent hairdryer and a powerful shower. The views aren't what you are paying for - get out and see the city! There was a gale blowing when we stayed and unfortunately, it could be heard whistling through the window - but not enough to stop me from sleeping.
We had dinner here - a birthday party for 8 people - the food was excellent, service was fantastic and we all had a blast.
Breakfast the following morning was buffet style - the best poached eggs I've had in Ireland this year - and I love my poached eggs! As much toast and tea and coffee as we could manage - and every single member of staff approachable and welcoming.

Sometimes I don't think this hotel does anything special - except for the way a hotel should make you feel - welcome and cared for, cosseted and looked after, nothing being too much trouble and saying hello with a smile - and this, they get so right. It's not a 4-star bling blong hotel, but it is well decorated and clean and brilliantly located with really good rates. It's my go-to first choice for accommodation in Galway.

A special note of thanks to Tina who looked after us at dinner that night, when we wobbled home even later that night and still on duty the following morning to serve up breakfast - the girl's got talent - and a brilliant sense of humour too!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

services match the price, the location is also good, right next to city center. car park is additional charge which was not part of the bill when booked online. overall a good place to stay and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atif K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on the 8th of Feb, hotel is lovely. Great location, so convenient to walk to eyre square and beyond, staff were lovely. Breakfast was amazing, plenty of everything and so tasty. The bed in my room was so so comfy,
My only complaint was noise... i know it's difficult to ensure people keep quiet but there were many hen and stags in the hotel that night, we were kept cycle until 5am by screaming and banging and singing. I did make reception aware of this and again when checking out spoke with reception, who were most apologetic... of course nothing they can do but I feel when paying 154euro for one night i expect a decent night sleep, other than that. I would highly recommend the harbour hotel. :-)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is a fantastic hotel. For a little bit more you pay for a B&B, you stay in a very high standard hotel. 5 mins walk from the city center, clean, big rooms. Free wifi. Amazing breakfast. Parking is not included in the price though, and there are not many parking spaces around.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepitopulpito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Just back after staying 2 nights in this hotel. Perfect location, fantastic hotel, staff very friendly and helpful. 100% will stay here again. Food in hotel is very good, we had breakfast included and plenty on offer. Get down early for breakfast as nearing time of finishing you could be waiting.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kar102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

A friend and I spent one night here just after Christmas. Couldn't fault this hotel at all, it really has got everything going for it. Location is perfect, just minutes from Eyre Square and Shop Street, but very quiet at night time so you can have a good night's sleep. All staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were spotlessly clean, and food was terrific, especially the breakfast. As another reviewer said, you have to pay for the car park but I think it's well worth it when you can abandon the car without worry until your return trip. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,876 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Property: Harbour Hotel Galway
Address: 17 New Road | The Harbour, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Hotel Galway, is centrally located in the heart of Galway City - just a 3 minute walk to Eyre Square, Shop St. & Quay St. A family owned hotel, the focus is on customer service. Guests return to the Harbour Hotel, time and time again. Whilst the hotel is right in the heart of Galway City Centre, you will be able to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep as the hotel is located at the historical port in a primarily residential area, removed from the roar of the famous Galway nightlife in full flow. With a range of double, twin, triple, superior doubles and family rooms available, The Harbour Hotel Galway is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms feature complimentary high speed wireless internet access so you can work in comfort or keep in touch with loved ones at your leisure. A snapshot of our rooms: • Complimentary Wi-Fi (Wireless High Speed Internet) • Tea and coffee making facilities with Nespresso Machines in Superior Bedrooms • Pillow topped beds with fuffy duvets & crisp white linen • Writing Desk • Cable TV • Trouser Press • Hairdryer • Bathroom amenities Onsite parking is available to the rear of the hotel. Stay in touch with friends and family with Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel The Harbour Bar & Restaurant at the Harbour Hotel offers the very best of city centre dining in Galway. The perfect venue for a casual lunch or lingering romantic dinner. Head Chef Paddy Anslow's focus is on homemade, wholesome food using the very best of fresh, local produce. The ambiance is casual and you will feel instantly at ease on arrival. Recently renovated, with private booths and a warm, yet contemporary feel, the Harbour Bar & Restaurant is very popular with locals and residents alike. The Harbour Bar; Wind down at the Harbour Bar, the perfect place to chill out, catch up with friends and soak up the atmosphere. After a busy day, enjoy a glass of wine or a fun cocktail with friends. Watch up to the minute sports live on one of the two large Plasma Screens. Bar Menu served daily from 12noon until 10pm. Haven Health & Fitness allows you to work out in a personal environment at your own pace. Facilities of the gym include cardiovascular machines, weights and a stretching area. Conveniently located in the heart of Galway this small yet exclusive Fitness Club is designed with your modern busy lifestyle in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing