We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour Hotel Galway
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Poor!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Our room was 233 and there is absolutely no view! We were looking back to other rooms, down on the parking and the lower roof with the duct work! My room mate accidentally went to room 331 and her key opened that door! Do not be mislead into thinking you will have a harbor view! Very very disappointed in the hotel when I booked 6 months in advance! Will not recommend this hotel to anyone. Another lady was at the front desk asking why she got kicked off the free wifi every 5 minutes or so. The receptionist asked if she had an iPhone and the lady said yes. The receptionist says that happens a lot and there is nothing we can do about that.

Room Tip: Our room was very small to have a regular bed and a twin in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    529
    200
    61
    32
See reviews for
190
591
44
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We visited Galway during St Patty's Day weekend, and our original accommodations were for a B&B that we were not thrilled with. The Harbor Hotel was able to accommodate us on such short notice as well as on such a busy holiday weekend.. We were so overwhelmed by the kindness and hospitality we received the moment we walked in! This stay was towards the end of our honeymoon vacation and we were welcomed with champagne and an adorable sweets tray that were both a splendid surprise and such a nice addition to our honeymoon! the staff was incredibly friendly and one of the receptionist even offered to bring in her hair straightener from home because mine had burnt out from the Ireland electrical socket. This type of service goes above and beyond what a typical hotel offers and sky. We were very thrilled with their level of service and friendliness.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. The location is great for a city break. 2min walk to shop street. Staff were helpful and parking provided at the hotel for 5euro a night. Restaurant on site and a decent bar with great service. Rooms were spotless with large co.fortavle beds. This is my second time staying here and I will definitely be back

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123free123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Jacquie and I stayed there for 2 nights a cupla weeks ago. Really can't fault it at all. From arrival the staff were friendly and helpful. The service was perfect. The room was excellent. Food in the restaurant was excellent at night and great buffet breakfast. Only minus was when one of the staff announced he was a Chelsea supporter whilst I was watching Man City in the first half of the League Cup Final when we were 1 nil down!! Had a laugh. Will be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cushendall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed in Galway recently and we must thank Dan and the wonderful staff in the Harbour Hotel. They remembered us from our last visit which we had to cut short (flu!), and they went out of their way to make our stay memorable.
We loved that you can leave the hotel and within 5 minutes of walking be right in the heart of Galway. Looking forward getting back to Galway and the Harbour soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I made an impromptu overnight visit to Galway last week and we very much enjoyed out stay at the Harbour Hotel. The staff very particularly helpful and professional. The hotel is centrally located close to the amenities of the city. Breakfast was nice and WiFi was robust.

Room Tip: Our only suggestion would be to improve the power in the shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

I stayed there for one night only . The staff were all very friendly and attentive . The bar food was freshly prepared and of very high standard . The choice and quality for breakfast was really good .
The rooms are very nice with good quality bathroom products ( unlike the cheap stuff many hotels supply)
Overall this was excellent value and I recommend it highly if you want a Galway city base

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pingin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,876 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Property: Harbour Hotel Galway
Address: 17 New Road | The Harbour, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Hotel Galway, is centrally located in the heart of Galway City - just a 3 minute walk to Eyre Square, Shop St. & Quay St. A family owned hotel, the focus is on customer service. Guests return to the Harbour Hotel, time and time again. Whilst the hotel is right in the heart of Galway City Centre, you will be able to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep as the hotel is located at the historical port in a primarily residential area, removed from the roar of the famous Galway nightlife in full flow. With a range of double, twin, triple, superior doubles and family rooms available, The Harbour Hotel Galway is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms feature complimentary high speed wireless internet access so you can work in comfort or keep in touch with loved ones at your leisure. A snapshot of our rooms: • Complimentary Wi-Fi (Wireless High Speed Internet) • Tea and coffee making facilities with Nespresso Machines in Superior Bedrooms • Pillow topped beds with fuffy duvets & crisp white linen • Writing Desk • Cable TV • Trouser Press • Hairdryer • Bathroom amenities Onsite parking is available to the rear of the hotel. Stay in touch with friends and family with Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel The Harbour Bar & Restaurant at the Harbour Hotel offers the very best of city centre dining in Galway. The perfect venue for a casual lunch or lingering romantic dinner. Head Chef Paddy Anslow's focus is on homemade, wholesome food using the very best of fresh, local produce. The ambiance is casual and you will feel instantly at ease on arrival. Recently renovated, with private booths and a warm, yet contemporary feel, the Harbour Bar & Restaurant is very popular with locals and residents alike. The Harbour Bar; Wind down at the Harbour Bar, the perfect place to chill out, catch up with friends and soak up the atmosphere. After a busy day, enjoy a glass of wine or a fun cocktail with friends. Watch up to the minute sports live on one of the two large Plasma Screens. Bar Menu served daily from 12noon until 10pm. Haven Health & Fitness allows you to work out in a personal environment at your own pace. Facilities of the gym include cardiovascular machines, weights and a stretching area. Conveniently located in the heart of Galway this small yet exclusive Fitness Club is designed with your modern busy lifestyle in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing