We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel very close to Galway city cent.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Hotel Galway
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice hotel very close to Galway city cent.”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were down here for a stag weekend and we were not disappointed with this hotel. The hotel is approx a 5 min walk to Galway city cent (shop street) and 5 mins to the train station, very accessible.

The hotel staff are all lovely from check in to departure if there was anything else they could do to help us they were there for us.

The rooms are very modern and nice and clean, in all of our rooms there is a large extractor fan in the bathroom just an FYI turn it off before going to bed at night as if you turn on the light during the night it takes a good 5 mins for it to switch off and can be quite loud.

We had dinner in the restaurant and it was really great quality, fish is very fresh and the portions are quite large, but we were quite hungry after all of our activities so this was perfect for us. Also breakfast is a self-service affair and the quality was also excellent.

The only down side was the price of the hotel as it seemed very expensive but it was in or around the same price as all hotels in Galway that weekend so there could have been something on and in the end it was worth the money.

The hotel does have a gym but no swimming pool or other spa facilities.

Highly recommend this hotel for couples, weekends away and business trips. Will be back for another visit shortly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eblob84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    547
    204
    64
    33
See reviews for
197
612
46
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel for access to every thing in Galway city centre. Staff were very friendly and room service is good and fast. Bar opens late for residents. Breakfast is good and there is plenty of choice. At weekends there seems to be many hens and stags. Good atmosphere about it

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Centre p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for work and its a good solid hotel with decent facilities

Lobby and restaurant area are nice and much nicer than the rooms which in my opinion are a bit dated

Decent location overlooking the harbour and the staff were very helpful in recommending local places

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank shan4179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Booked Hotel for a family break. On arrival First impression, no welcome, just a grunt, which i think meant hello. Then while speaking at us rather than to us, the receptionist booked in and shown us in the direction of our rooms. Rooms clean and of a standard generic type with nice view of busy road directly below us. Notified reception, a bedside and desk light were broken, nothing done. Checked out dinner Menu, poor choice and expensive, so we dined out. Later returned to hotel bar, which was practically empty. No entertainment of any sort, but Bar man and night porter were friendly. Woken next morning by the sound of what i think was a noisy water pump located in a cupboard in main hall way. Breakfast was good with good choice. To my surprise, it was busy too. Staff member at dinning room door was just like the receptionist, lacking in warmth or personal touch, she spoke at you and not to you. My general impression of hotel is that it is set up to cater for business/corporate clients/visitors. It lacks a friendly and welcoming atmosphere, reflected by some of its staff. No at all suitable for a family break or holiday. On the up side, the Hotel is in a good location, five to ten minutes walk from the City Center, but its parking arrangements could be better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel is nothing special, and we were very disappointed to be orginally given room 134, over looking the underground car park entrance and beside the huge ventilation system. It was the most depressing hotel room I had ever seen in a so called 3star hotel. We sat in the room for no more than ten mins before asking to move to another room. The staff were extrememly accommodating and pleasant as I'd imagine it wasn't the first complaint they received.

The lack of air conditioning is the worst thing as the rooms are really stuffy.

As other viewers have pointed out, this is a hub for hen parties, but overall a grand place to stay if you plan to go out til late everynight - not a place for a quiet, romantic weekend away. I would only stay here again if there was nothing else available (the reason we stayed in the first place).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleterial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just back from a fun night stay in Galway. My first choice is always to stay at the Harbour Hotel. The staff are so lovely and welcoming and have more than once accommodated my special requests. It's in perfect walking distance from the town so you can park up for the duration, no taxi fares. I can't say enough nice things about this hotel, comfortable spacious bedrooms and bathrooms with tea and coffee always a must,fabulous breakfast and again what makes a good hotel experience the epic friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

All in all a good weekend. Thought the price was abit expensive.
Food was really nice had lunch in the bar and dinner in the resturant both were 8/10
Loved the rooms the linen on the beds were to die for and spoltless clean.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christine Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,712 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
859 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Property: Harbour Hotel Galway
Address: 17 New Road | The Harbour, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Hotel Galway, is centrally located in the heart of Galway City - just a 3 minute walk to Eyre Square, Shop St. & Quay St. A family owned hotel, the focus is on customer service. Guests return to the Harbour Hotel, time and time again. Whilst the hotel is right in the heart of Galway City Centre, you will be able to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep as the hotel is located at the historical port in a primarily residential area, removed from the roar of the famous Galway nightlife in full flow. With a range of double, twin, triple, superior doubles and family rooms available, The Harbour Hotel Galway is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms feature complimentary high speed wireless internet access so you can work in comfort or keep in touch with loved ones at your leisure. A snapshot of our rooms: • Complimentary Wi-Fi (Wireless High Speed Internet) • Tea and coffee making facilities with Nespresso Machines in Superior Bedrooms • Pillow topped beds with fuffy duvets & crisp white linen • Writing Desk • Cable TV • Trouser Press • Hairdryer • Bathroom amenities Onsite parking is available to the rear of the hotel. Stay in touch with friends and family with Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel The Harbour Bar & Restaurant at the Harbour Hotel offers the very best of city centre dining in Galway. The perfect venue for a casual lunch or lingering romantic dinner. Head Chef Paddy Anslow's focus is on homemade, wholesome food using the very best of fresh, local produce. The ambiance is casual and you will feel instantly at ease on arrival. Recently renovated, with private booths and a warm, yet contemporary feel, the Harbour Bar & Restaurant is very popular with locals and residents alike. The Harbour Bar; Wind down at the Harbour Bar, the perfect place to chill out, catch up with friends and soak up the atmosphere. After a busy day, enjoy a glass of wine or a fun cocktail with friends. Watch up to the minute sports live on one of the two large Plasma Screens. Bar Menu served daily from 12noon until 10pm. Haven Health & Fitness allows you to work out in a personal environment at your own pace. Facilities of the gym include cardiovascular machines, weights and a stretching area. Conveniently located in the heart of Galway this small yet exclusive Fitness Club is designed with your modern busy lifestyle in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing