We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Hotel Galway
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Ennis, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice ”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night last weekend, it was nice, the hotel has a car park beside it that only cost eight euro for the whole day. Inside the hotel is bright and modern however we didn't use the bar or restaurant facilities but we did notice seating outside, the room was nice, standard room really with tea coffee facilities provided very clean also, only bad point is there was no air conditioning and the room was so warm even with the windows open it became a little uncomfortable to sleep in, it's close to city centre and was a nice hotel overall

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    560
    204
    66
    34
See reviews for
203
620
48
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury Park, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I stayed in Galway for two nights and we stayed at the harbour hotel for both nights. Our time in Galway happen to land on a weekend. As we walked in to check in we walked straight into a wedding cocktail hour that was in process. It was difficult to distinguish the check in desk through the crowd. Two of the three front desk staff could have been friendlier and more polite. They looked stressed out.

The hotel itself was nice. I liked the colors and decor. The rooms were clean however the carpets were a bit dirty. Parking is absolutely horrible. The hotel has very small lot in the back. If your unable to find parking your other option is to park at an off site parking lot nearby where parking is more expensive. Either way parking isn't free. The smoking area is right outside the back entrance where you come in from the parking lot and people don't budge to let you through. It was horrible. We could hear the music from the Friday and Saturday night weddings from our bedroom on the 3rd floor.

On the bright side not too far a walk from shops, pubs and dining. Dinner at the hotel was delicious. Pricy, but delicious. Breakfast was also great.

This is definitely a hotel which houses many events. There were about 4 Bachelorette parties going on as well. Perhaps it's less busy during the week.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back face the hotel parking. No great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckydean23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our first visit to Galway, great rooms, reasonable prices for Ireland hotel, location is just a few minutes walk from the city centre action, for restaurants, shopping and pubs of course.
Driving to the hotel is good because of being just outside of the city center, parking easy and safe.
The staff is always their best to assist when you need and especially Marie at the front desk who goes out of her way to provide us with

Room Tip: we chose an upgraded room and the size made a huge difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Wow! The Harbour Hotel is absolutely superb. We stayed for the weekend to have a nice break away and this hotel was more than we hoped for.
The location is perfect. The staff are all so friendly, professional and helpful (especially Marie on the front desk, thank you!). We ate in the bar on the Saturday night and the food was really tasty! There is also an extensive wine list. The buffet breakfast had a wonderful selection, all fresh and plentiful. The rooms are clean and bright with all facilities you need.
Everyone at the hotel could not do enough for us. If you're going to Galway, stay here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank scutchy_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My boyfriend and i stayed here on new years eve. Location is good. About a 10min stroll to Eyre square. Was nice and peacefull. Lovely staff and clean hotel overall. Only problem we had was that our room key card wouldn't work we had to go down a couple of times to keep changing them, a manager then came uo ro let us in with master key. Not a major problem tho. The staff did apologise.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Me and my partner stayed here at the weekend. Accommodation was amazing, rooms are big, one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in in the hotel. Very clean, great breakfast and dinner. Staff was friendly and professional.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0nnieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Our room was attractive, very clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were outstanding and had a large variety of items. The dinners were good and well-presented. WIFI worked well and was free. Loved the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of something other than unattractive housing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JemezFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,891 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 45 in Galway
877 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Property: Harbour Hotel Galway
Address: 17 New Road | The Harbour, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Hotel Galway, is centrally located in the heart of Galway City - just a 3 minute walk to Eyre Square, Shop St. & Quay St. A family owned hotel, the focus is on customer service. Guests return to the Harbour Hotel, time and time again. Whilst the hotel is right in the heart of Galway City Centre, you will be able to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep as the hotel is located at the historical port in a primarily residential area, removed from the roar of the famous Galway nightlife in full flow. With a range of double, twin, triple, superior doubles and family rooms available, The Harbour Hotel Galway is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms feature complimentary high speed wireless internet access so you can work in comfort or keep in touch with loved ones at your leisure. A snapshot of our rooms: • Complimentary Wi-Fi (Wireless High Speed Internet) • Tea and coffee making facilities with Nespresso Machines in Superior Bedrooms • Pillow topped beds with fuffy duvets & crisp white linen • Writing Desk • Cable TV • Trouser Press • Hairdryer • Bathroom amenities Onsite parking is available to the rear of the hotel. Stay in touch with friends and family with Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel The Harbour Bar & Restaurant at the Harbour Hotel offers the very best of city centre dining in Galway. The perfect venue for a casual lunch or lingering romantic dinner. Head Chef Paddy Anslow's focus is on homemade, wholesome food using the very best of fresh, local produce. The ambiance is casual and you will feel instantly at ease on arrival. Recently renovated, with private booths and a warm, yet contemporary feel, the Harbour Bar & Restaurant is very popular with locals and residents alike. The Harbour Bar; Wind down at the Harbour Bar, the perfect place to chill out, catch up with friends and soak up the atmosphere. After a busy day, enjoy a glass of wine or a fun cocktail with friends. Watch up to the minute sports live on one of the two large Plasma Screens. Bar Menu served daily from 12noon until 10pm. Haven Health & Fitness allows you to work out in a personal environment at your own pace. Facilities of the gym include cardiovascular machines, weights and a stretching area. Conveniently located in the heart of Galway this small yet exclusive Fitness Club is designed with your modern busy lifestyle in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing