We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour Hotel Galway
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Pleasant one night stay. Friendly staff. Reasonable price. Self-service breakfast.
Parking-very tight. Close to the attractions of Shop St. and Quay St. Galway - great as ever. Go for a swim at Blackrock Diving Tower in Salthill in the morning - that will separate the men from the boys!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank meod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear meod,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review, we are very happy that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We are fortunate that we are in an ideal location so close to the city centre and all it has to offer. We have asked the staff if they would like to dive into the sea at Blackrock diving tower in Salthill and are still waiting for any brave volunteer. We congratulate you if you managed this feat yourself during your trip west.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Harbour in the the very near future.

Warm Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Myself my wife and our 3 childen stayed in th Harbour hotel for the first week in July and we will be back.
From check in to going home we could not fault the staff who were very welcoming and helpful especialld Dan on the front desk. The rooms were lovely and clean and even with the two camp beds for the children there was enough space. The food in the restraunt was excellent as was the breakfast in the mornings . The hotel has free wifi which is the best I have used while away from home. It is lovely to stay in a hotel where children are made so welcome. This hotel also has a great location only minutes fro Eyre square

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolstan321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear wolstan321,

We are delighted to read from your review that your stay with us was such an enjoyable experience for you and your family. We will be passing on your very kind words to our teams and we all look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the future.

Warm Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is the first time I have ever left a review so I hope that relays how much I want people to know what a fab hotel this is... From my initial enquiry about a block booking the staff were amazing where another hotel would have been unwelcoming or off putting. As anyone who has organised a large group to go away you run into the usual late cancellations, unusual requests, late deposits, well have no fear the Harbour Hotel was the most understanding and accommodating hotel I have ever dealt with. From the rooms, to the food, to the rate it was ideal but where this hotel excels is it's staff... I have worked in the hotel industry and I honestly have never seen a more professional, efficient and friendly staff force... They all greet you with a smile and no request is too ridiculous (we had a Christmas party in July)..

Overall I recommend this hotel to anyone stayin in Galway, its a short walk to shop street and has everything you could need.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank orla c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear orla c,

Thank you for your very kind words in your review, we are thrilled to read that you and your party enjoyed your stay with us.

We are always looking for areas of improvement and it is lovely to be able to thank our staff for excellent service feedback. We love the opportunity to host a Christmas party at anytime of the year so its great to hear that you enjoyed the festive season in July.

We look forward to welcoming you all back in the very near future.

Warm Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I recently celebrated my 30th birthday in the John B Keane suite in the Harbour Hotel Galway. From the very 1st contact with the hotel back in January the service has been 5 star.The hotels event manager Emer Hall was extremely helpful,friendly and a delight to work with while organising my party. Emer was always in contact to make sure that all aspects of the planning was on the ball and working for me. The professionalism of Emer and her attention to detail helped make my party a night to remember. On the night itself the management and staff went above and beyond to cater for everyone. All the guests at the party had only the highest of praise for the staff at the Harbour Hotel. I would highly recommend the harbour hotel to anyone who has an event to organise. I will definitely be in contact with Emer and the harbour hotel should i have another event in the near future. Linda Cleere

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Linda C,

It was delightful to read your kind review and to hear that you and your guests enjoyed your celebrations. We have passed on your very kind words to the fantastic Emer our conference and banqueting co-ordinator and congratulate her on a job well done. We thank you for choosing our hotel to host your special occasion and wish you a belated happy birthday from everyone in the Harbour Hotel. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just spent two nights at the Harbour Hotel in Galway. At first we thought it might too far from Galway's main shopping district for pubs and dinner. The desk clerk aimed us correctly and we discovered it was closer than the hotel near Eyre Square.

The room was nice but faced the street so with windows open (no air conditioning and hottest day of the year) it was noisy. The staff brought us a small fan when we inquired. I would recommend the hotel and would stay there again. We enjoyed the restaurant/bar. Only had lunch there, but it was great, a panini with sesame seeded bread. Great.

Room Tip: Get a room not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Bill H,

Thank you for your delightful review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you managed to avail of some of the experiences that the Harbour & Galway city have to offer.

We will pass on positive comments to our food and beverage team and thankful for your recommendations, most importantly we hope to welcome you back sometime soon.

Warm Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Excellent service with very friendly staff. The restaurant and bar is very inviting with top quality food. Comfortable room with fast Wifi access. Minutes away from the city centre. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DannyC881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Danny C,

Thank you so much, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you positive feedback, which we will share with all our teams. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We arrived early but they checked us in so that all we would have to do is get the keys when the room was ready. We then spent an enjoyable 20 minutes in the hotel bar where we had a great conversation with the two bartenders working that day. The room was nice and pretty big and the location of the hotel is walking distance to the city center.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CalJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear CalJF,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and we were delighted that your stay was a pleasant one. Usual check in is at 3pm, however where possible we strive to accommodate all our guest requests and are delighted you availed of our fantastic bar facilities to start your stay with us. We are fortunate that we are in an ideal location so close to the city centre and all it has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,372 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 46 in Galway
941 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Address: New Dock Road | The Harbour, Galway H91 E9PR, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £73 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a warm welcome and fantastic customer service throughout your stay at the 4 star Harbour Hotel Galway. We are conveniently located in the heart of Galway City, perfect for a getaway break with so much to do on our doorstep. 96 bedrooms and executive rooms, onsite parking and fitness suite. Stay connected with complimentary high speed Wi-Fi provided throughout. Dine in Dillisk on the Docks, our restaurant and bar with stylishly rustic décor and comfortable furnishings. Dillisk on The Docks combines both modern-creative and traditional styles of cooking using only local producers. Galway’s newest social hub, with outdoor heated garden, social seating with pockets of inviting living room seating and a wide choice of cocktails, gins, wines and whiskeys. Location: Galway is famous for its culture, atmosphere, artistic heritage and breathtaking landscapes along the Wild Atlantic Way. There is so much to explore, experience and enjoy on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing