We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Wedding”
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Great Wedding”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We had our wedding here and it was wonderful. The staff couldn't do enough for us and were really helpful, the grounds were fantastic and gave lots of opportunities for amazing photos and the food was delicious. We received many compliments from our guests with regards the above. Ours and many of our guests stay was in comfortable spacious very clan rooms. Many of the guests thoroughly enjoyed the leisure facilities also. All round excellent hotel, thank you for making our day extra special.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvelynBiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Evelyn & Barry,

Thank you so much for posting your review here on tripadvisor. We are most grateful that you have taken the time to do so.

I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your wedding day celebrations here with us and that you have fond memories. Thank you again for selecting our hotel as the venue for your most important day - it was our absolute pleasure to have you all as our guests.

Wishing you a healthy and fun-filled future together.

Warmest Ardilaun Regards
Orla and The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    387
    182
    96
    60
See reviews for
347
531
33
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in July with my parents (late seventies) ..I think we slept in the older part of the hotel maybe more modern rooms available but ours were spotless...the whole hotel reminded me of an hotel from from the late 60 /early 70's & with it came the charm of that time. Wonderful service & genuine attention from the hotel staff - only too willing to assist with any requirements. Bar food at lunchtime was quite disappointing but ....the real breakfasts (thick bacon & proper tomatoes - no watery bits!) & evening meals in the restaurant made up for it, it was very tasty, well presented & of a very high standard . Age profile was on the older side - also has beautiful medium sized garden to stroll in.

Room Tip: Check which part of hotel you will be staying in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jothejourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear 'jothejourney',

Thank you so much for your feedback here on tripadvisor. We really are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

It is disappointing to read that your experience in our bar/bistro was not as memorable for you as your other dining with us. Your feedback has been communicated throughout the hotel with this being specifically highlighted to our bar manager and head chef.

Our bar/bistro is very popular both locally with residents of Galway and with guests for dining and we continuously receive very favourable comments and feedback. All comments are very welcomed so thank you again for yours.

With very best regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I have just returned from a three night stay at the Ardilaun. My room was lovely, spotlessly clean and overlooking the garden. I ate in the restaurant and the bar and was very impressed with the food and service in both. The buffet breakfast was ample and tasty. I found the staff very friendly and polite despite the fact that the hotel was busy with weddings, functions and tour groups. It's in a residential area and about a 20/25 minute walk to the centre of Galway and don't forget it's uphill on the way back! The distance from the centre of town means it can provide free parking and lovely seating areas in the garden. This is often not the case in it's more modern city centre rivals. I have only two small suggestions which I think would improve the service. Despite being assured by staff at reception that the tap water in the room is fit to drink it has a very strong taste of 'peat' and is quite unpleasant. Complimentary bottled water would be very welcome. The also appears to be a problem with the bedroom doors. It is very difficult to close them quietly and I was woken several times on two of the three nights by quests returning to their rooms. Despite these two small quibbles I would love to return to the Ardilaun Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollym1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear 'mollym1962',

Thank you, most sincerely, for your tripadvisor post following your stay with us recently. It is always great to receive feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.

Your comments have been communicated throughout the hotel and those in relation to drinking water and closing of bedroom doors have been specifically highlighted to our accommodations manager.

The issue with doors banging has been addressed by our maintenance team following your feedback.

While the water in the bedrooms is 100% safe to drink I sincerely apologise that it was not to your liking. In recent years we have invested considerably in a filteration system throughout the hotel. Of course, bottled water and filtered water is also available from the bar.

Thank you again

With Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My husband and i took a mini break this week.We stayed in this hotel in Galway. A beautiful place to stay.We would highly recommend this hotel. Great rates,very good value for money.
very family friendly ....
The staff were very friendly and helpful too.Would defiantly stay here again...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eibhlin52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear 'eibhlin52',

Thank you. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some time in the future.

Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your stay,

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I've been to this hotel only 1 night, on 10 July 2011, as a member of an organized tour group to Ireland, so take this into consideration. Service was horridly slow, in dinning room, with the concierge, in the kitchen (dinner is a-la-carte) etc.
I got a room enough for two, although I was single. The room was small, very simple one, clean, and not fancy. In the bathroom the marble shelf was too small to put things on, but you can handle it if your are not meticulous. There is just a bath tub (no shower). The bed was comfortable enough. The breakfast was a buffet of full English breakfast and was o.k. The corridors between rooms are very narrow, so take this into consideration when moving with luggage.

Room Tip: a room for 2 is not enough for 2. try a suite, if there is one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronit10roni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We were in Ireland for a wedding, so this hotel was referred to us by the wedding couple. Their reception was held here so for convenience sake we decided to stay the week here. I can understand why there are so many conflicting reviews of this hotel. We had a fairly nice room, quite modern with all the amenities. Our friends who were paying the same rate, got a room that was quite outdated and in need of renovations. You just don't know what you're going to get until you get here unfortunately. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our others friends stayed at the Harbour Hotel...paid quite a bit less and I think got better value for their Euro. We were a 15-20 minute walk to the town square (great place to shop and eat/drink) and they were a five minute walk away.

Food here was just so-so. However, the breakfasts (which came with the room rate) were quite good - much more than the "continental" breakfasts that you get at most hotels.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abcdefghij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Stayed here with my partner for a weekend as part of an "Axa Leisure Breaks" offer from when you renew your car insurance with them. As part of the package, we received a €100 voucher towards spa treatments. The hotel itself was nice, no complaints about the service, staff, food, bathroom, noise, etc. Room was a bit small & windows overlooked air vents, but as we were touring, we didn't spend much time in the room. My major issue was with the spa (or lack of it!) having pre-booked treatments earlier in the week, I was only informed 2 mins prior to heading to the spa that the therapist had rang in sick (I suspect a hangover, given that it was 10.30am on a Sunday) and they were not able to get through to their backups. This put a sour note on an otherwise good stay, as the whole point of the weekend was a spa break. The duty manager facilatated my reuqest for €100 (the voucher total) to be subtracted from the bill, as we won't be back. No other comment on this experience was made by the manager or staff, so as such, this could have got a great rating, but they need to get their act together for a plan B in such events.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenechoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Dear 'TalbotR',

I was the Manager on duty on the date in question and spoke with you when you were here as our guest.

Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us but appreciate that you were disappointed in relation to your salon treatment bookings.

Unfortunately for us, it was impossible for us to have a 'Plan B' in place under the circumstances that day. The skill set and experience required for our salon treatments are unique and can only be carried out by our salon staff who are qualified in this area. On this occasion the staff member in question was to serve her final day of employment with us but made the decision not to show for work. This was very disappointing for us and I can assure you that the circumstances were beyond our control. Had we had sufficient notice, we would certainly have replaced her.

I hope that you can understand this and, again, I apologise for the inconvenience and disappointment.

Thank you

Best Regards,
Tom O'Dwyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Property: The Ardilaun Hotel
Address: Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing