We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tucked away and perfectly located near Salthill”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tucked away and perfectly located near Salthill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We (my wife, my nine year old son and I) stayed for two nights whilst we toured the Burren and shopped in Galway. The hotel is well appointed and the food (breakfast and dinner) was very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only drawback for us was the room. We were on the 4th floor next to the lift. It was noisy and the room smelled a bit musty (I think this came from the bathroom rather than the bedroom though - a simple thing like some domestos down the bath and sink plugholes would probably have sorted that - maybe the room hadn't been used for a while) The beds were comfortable though. Our stay was done as a Supervalu 2 night getaway break and my wife and I joked we'd been given the Supervalu room! We'd stay there again because the hotel ticks all the boxes for us (location, parking, food, friendly staff) but next time we'll get a better room! The gym facilities were top notch as well - they have an excellent selection of free weights.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyhobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear 'Happyhobo',

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for posting your review here on TripAdvisor.

Your feedback has been communicated throughout the hotel. Our accommodation team will certainly check the rooms on the fourth floor in relation to your feedback - it is quite unusual that we would receive comments of concern such as yours so it is important to us that you have let us know - we thank you for this.

When you return to the hotel in the future we will, of course, be very happy to have a different room assigned to you - please bring this to the attention of our reservations team at time of booking and we will arrange.

Thank you again - feedback is of the utmost of importance to us in order that we can continue to achieve the very high standards of customer service for which we are reknowned.

We very much look forward to welcoming you all back to stay with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    385
    179
    96
    60
See reviews for
344
523
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GALWAY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed here while at a friends wedding last year. The hotel is a little bit dated in the decor, but what it lacks in style it more than makes up for in ambience and surroundings. Its located about 15 minutes walk away from Galway city centre and also quite central to Salthill. It is surrounded by lovely grounds all trees and greenery and the hotel itself is lovely. The bedroom was small enough though and again quite dated with the decor but overall we would give this hotel 8 out of ten just for charm and atmosphere. Ideal for romantic break we would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOLLY_GGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear 'LOLLY_GGalway',

Thank you so much for your review here on TripAdvisor.

We really are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed at the Ardilaun one night as part of an Ireland tour. A number of things disappointed us with this hotel. First, the web site boasts acres of beautiful gardens to stroll through; in reality, they have a very small garden area that was not nearly as well-kept as I expected and took us all of 10 minutes to walk through. Then, upon asking to use the very bearutiful indoor pool, we found out that each person must have a bathing cap, and if you don't have one with you (who would?) you must rent one for 2.50 euro before swimming in the pool. You could use the hot tub without a cap. Also, the pool stayed open until 10, but children were not allowed after 7, which made it impossible for us to use the pool, since we did not arrive to the hotel until 6, with a pre-arraqnged dinner from 7-9. So, we were very disappointed with the fact that we could not use the pool. Third, the water pressure in the shower was pathetic, and the room was so small we could barely walk past each other. I think this hotel is over rated, presenting itself as a higher-end hotel, when the actual amenities are not as promised. Also, it s a good 20 minute walk to the nightlife in Galway; we would have rather stayed at a hotel closer to the nightlife.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T_Loves_to_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Dear 'T_Loves_to_Travel',

Thank you for your tripadvisor review. I would like to take the opportunity to respond to each of your comments.

In terms of our hotel marketing, our website does not in fact mention 'acres of gardens'. If you would like to revisit our website please feel free to do so. Within our website we refer to our 'beautifully landscaped gardens' with 'wooded areas which provide pleasant walks for hotel guests'. The original estate of five acres has been built on down through the years to allow for additional and more modern facilities but we still boast our beautifully landscaped gardens and wooded areas.

We have received numerous positive comments in relation to our gardens which are very well tended by our full-time gardener. Over the years we have achieved awards for our gardens - the most recent being the overall winner (for the seventh year in a row) for 'Best Garden of the Year' with our local Tidy Towns and Garden Competition under the category of 'Civic Centres, Hotels and Colleges'. The National University of Ireland, Galway achieved second place to us. This is something that we are very proud of indeed.

As we are a city location, we are very fortunate to have the beautiful gardens that we have and this is unique to what many of the other Galway Hotels can offer. It is for this reason that many guests chose to stay with us - to be in a quiet residential area while still very close to the city. We do not market ourselves as a 'downtown' hotel.

Our Leisure Club is very well managed and in line with ILAM and White Flag guidelines. The wearing of swimming hats is to ensure high standards of hygiene for all users. It would be quite unusual that any hotel would allow use of their pool without wearing a swim hat.

The rule in relation to use of the club for children is in place in order to allow adult residents and members sole use. Children who are residents are very welcome to use the facilities between 09:00 and 19:00 on a daily basis.

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience to you in terms of the water pressure. Unfortunately, over the past few weeks we have experienced an intermittent problem with water supply to the hotel which has had affect throughout the hotel. Unfortunately this problem was out of our control (it was a problem with Galway City Council) but we did all in our power at the time to resolve the issue working with the local fire officer who very kindly arranged to help us with providing a water supply to the hotel.

I hope that the response above will reassure your trust that customer service and feedback is of the utmost importance to us. We would be most delighted to have you as our guests again in the future should you be visiting Ireland.

With Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We had our wedding here and it was wonderful. The staff couldn't do enough for us and were really helpful, the grounds were fantastic and gave lots of opportunities for amazing photos and the food was delicious. We received many compliments from our guests with regards the above. Ours and many of our guests stay was in comfortable spacious very clan rooms. Many of the guests thoroughly enjoyed the leisure facilities also. All round excellent hotel, thank you for making our day extra special.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvelynBiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Evelyn & Barry,

Thank you so much for posting your review here on tripadvisor. We are most grateful that you have taken the time to do so.

I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your wedding day celebrations here with us and that you have fond memories. Thank you again for selecting our hotel as the venue for your most important day - it was our absolute pleasure to have you all as our guests.

Wishing you a healthy and fun-filled future together.

Warmest Ardilaun Regards
Orla and The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in July with my parents (late seventies) ..I think we slept in the older part of the hotel maybe more modern rooms available but ours were spotless...the whole hotel reminded me of an hotel from from the late 60 /early 70's & with it came the charm of that time. Wonderful service & genuine attention from the hotel staff - only too willing to assist with any requirements. Bar food at lunchtime was quite disappointing but ....the real breakfasts (thick bacon & proper tomatoes - no watery bits!) & evening meals in the restaurant made up for it, it was very tasty, well presented & of a very high standard . Age profile was on the older side - also has beautiful medium sized garden to stroll in.

Room Tip: Check which part of hotel you will be staying in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jothejourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear 'jothejourney',

Thank you so much for your feedback here on tripadvisor. We really are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

It is disappointing to read that your experience in our bar/bistro was not as memorable for you as your other dining with us. Your feedback has been communicated throughout the hotel with this being specifically highlighted to our bar manager and head chef.

Our bar/bistro is very popular both locally with residents of Galway and with guests for dining and we continuously receive very favourable comments and feedback. All comments are very welcomed so thank you again for yours.

With very best regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I have just returned from a three night stay at the Ardilaun. My room was lovely, spotlessly clean and overlooking the garden. I ate in the restaurant and the bar and was very impressed with the food and service in both. The buffet breakfast was ample and tasty. I found the staff very friendly and polite despite the fact that the hotel was busy with weddings, functions and tour groups. It's in a residential area and about a 20/25 minute walk to the centre of Galway and don't forget it's uphill on the way back! The distance from the centre of town means it can provide free parking and lovely seating areas in the garden. This is often not the case in it's more modern city centre rivals. I have only two small suggestions which I think would improve the service. Despite being assured by staff at reception that the tap water in the room is fit to drink it has a very strong taste of 'peat' and is quite unpleasant. Complimentary bottled water would be very welcome. The also appears to be a problem with the bedroom doors. It is very difficult to close them quietly and I was woken several times on two of the three nights by quests returning to their rooms. Despite these two small quibbles I would love to return to the Ardilaun Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollym1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear 'mollym1962',

Thank you, most sincerely, for your tripadvisor post following your stay with us recently. It is always great to receive feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.

Your comments have been communicated throughout the hotel and those in relation to drinking water and closing of bedroom doors have been specifically highlighted to our accommodations manager.

The issue with doors banging has been addressed by our maintenance team following your feedback.

While the water in the bedrooms is 100% safe to drink I sincerely apologise that it was not to your liking. In recent years we have invested considerably in a filteration system throughout the hotel. Of course, bottled water and filtered water is also available from the bar.

Thank you again

With Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

My husband and i took a mini break this week.We stayed in this hotel in Galway. A beautiful place to stay.We would highly recommend this hotel. Great rates,very good value for money.
very family friendly ....
The staff were very friendly and helpful too.Would defiantly stay here again...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eibhlin52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear 'eibhlin52',

Thank you. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some time in the future.

Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your stay,

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Property: The Ardilaun Hotel
Address: Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing