We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“more like a three star”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“more like a three star”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

While the staff were friendly and helpful, I found the hotel overpriced and dated. On checking in at 1.30 I was told my room was not ready, however reception were able to contact housekeeping and sorted it out. Unfortunately my (nonsmoking) room reeked of smoke. I left the window open for the afternoon to air it, but someone closed the window and on my return the room still stank. Reception moved me to another room, which was fine, although I prefer a double bed. Temperature regulation on the shower seemed to be broken, and water was scalding hot. My final bill had a telephone charge on it which i hadn't made - I was told "sorry - it happens all the time, but we can't do anything about it". If i return to Salthill I will not stay here again - would prefer one of the hotels on the sea front.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank choppers-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Dear 'choppers_on_tour',

Thank you for taking the time to post your review here on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. Feedback is very important to us and we are grateful that you have taken the time.

At all times we do all possible to assign rooms to guests when they arrive to the hotel. As our check-in time is 2:30 this is not always possible but I am glad that you could be facilitated at an earlier time.

Sincerest apologies that the room initially assigned to you did not seem to be a non-smoking room and that you were inconvenienced with a room move. I would like to give you our assurance that room 219 is indeed a non-smoking room (as is room 220).

We apologise also in relation to your comment re: the shower. Unfortunately this is not something which was brought to our attention when you were with us - had it been, we would certainly have adressed the issue immediately. Having read your review here on tripadvisor we have now rectified the problem which we were unaware of at the time.

It is very surprising for us to read your feedback in relation to the telephone charge which showed when you were presented with your bill. This is certainly not something that happens regularly and should not have appeared as it did, in error, on your bill. Apologies that this was not realised and rectified prior to bill issue - it would not be a usual occurance at all.

Thank you again for having booked with us. It was our pleasure to have had you as our guest. Should you wish to reconsider and stay with us again in the future, we would be very happy to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    385
    181
    96
    60
See reviews for
345
524
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Was there along with my sisters and we had bar food in the hotel bar. the service was very professional and even though the place was buzzing with lots of people as there was a fashion show and another charity event on, the food was served prompty and it was top notch. the steak was beautiful as was the lamb dish. Desserts presention was excellent for a bar. Four star hotel with 5 star food and service in the bar.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear 'smm30',

Thank you. You are very kind to post your review having dined with us recently. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed it and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunmanway,Ireland.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Excellent customer care, very comfortable rooms, the best bar and restaurant food we've ever had............. we've been lucky to have stayed in many hotels over the past 5 years and this one gets the Number 1 spot in our Top 5 List of Irish hotels. Very friendly, helpful staff and excellent value for money so this family will definitely return - we can't wait!!!!! Karen Collins.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Dear Karen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We really are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We have just been awarded the 'AA Ireland Courtesy & Care Award for 2011/2012' and are very excited with this high achievement.

Looking forward to welcoming you all back to stay with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We recently had our wedding at the Ardilaun and were very happy with everything. Our priority was that our guests had a great meal and the staff at the hotel did everything to ensure that we were happy. The chef met us twice and was very open to discussing new ideas, away from the set menus.The food on the day turned out to be even better then either of the tastings we had. John and Maureen were so helpful both before and on the big day. The jazz band and cosy feel of the lobby made the atmosphere so relaxed. It was a wet day but the hotel has many nice areas for photographs. The party and singsong went on until the very early hours and none of the guests were rushed out. The following day we had another lovely buffet meal in the Garden Room for about 40ppl and that was lovely too. When we viewed the hotel first I thought the carpet and dance floor in the reception room was a little old and dated but on the day, with the lighting and the tables I didnt notice that at all. We had so many compliments on both the food and the great atmosphere at the hotel and will be back to this hotel for many more family functions!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Dear 'HAmills',

Thank you both so much for having chosen The Ardilaun as the venue for your very special day. We know how important this day is for you, your family and all of your guests and are absolutely delighted that your expectations were exceeded.

In 2012, we will celebrate 50 years as a wedding venue here in Galway - something we are very proud of. To date this year, our awards include 'Irelands Top Wedding Venue of the Year in Connacht' and 'AA Ireland Courtesy & Care Award' - both of which are testiment to our dedication to you.

It was our pleasure to work with you in the planning and we look forward to welcoming you back to visit us again in the future.

Best Wishes and Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

I did not stay in the hotel. Buy was there on 3 consecutive days for 3 different functions. Everything was well run. And some lovely food. I was very impressed with the place.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyPolski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear 'PaddyPolski',

Thank You. It is lovely for us to know that you enjoyed the events you attended at The Ardilaun. Thank you for taking the time to post your reveiw here on tripadvisor. We are very grateful.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

The hotel itself is set in a lovely, quiet location but the bedroom let them down. It was very clean, but just a little old fashioned, could do with new TV sets also! Otherwise breakfast was fine, dinner was only OK. Bout 20 minutes walk into Galway city centre; and plenty of parking. The swimming pool was nice. Beauty salon was OK-very small, don't think your going to a spa though!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marriedmidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Dear 'Marriedmidwife',

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

We would welcome the opportunity to discuss with you in more detail so, if you would be willing, please call us at a time convenient for you and ask for our duty manager.

The hotel takes great pride in our quality and service and I can assure you that we welcome feedback.

Our autumn refurbishment programme has begun here at the hotel. TVs are being replaced in rooms as there is a need to do so. Those in all of our rooms are in perfect working order although some are not the flat screen at the moment.

Thank you again and we hope to hear from you soon.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Recently i had the great pleasure of staying at the Ardilaun hotel in salthill area this weekend The hotel is situated in a beautiful setting which is quite close to galway city centre, the rooms are furnished to a high standard, very clean well presented.staff at the hotel are very helpful and professional. when i return to galway in the future this is the hotel i will be booking. top class!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinP1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Dear 'AustinP1999',

Thank you so much for your lovely review here on tripadvisor. We are grateful that you have taken the time to post.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,876 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,650 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Property: The Ardilaun Hotel
Address: Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing