We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old fashioned hotel”
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Nice hotel on an exclusive place in Galway. The hotel needs a bit up an update but was totally adequate. Breakfast was lovely and the room comfortable. The room was cold when we arrived but heated uo within an hour. We were later arriving and the restaurant was closed the bar staff however made up a lovely sandwich was for us which was much appreciated. Would retrn again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junctionone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear 'junctionone',

Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Our winter refurbishment programme is underway now so you will even notice differences already from when you were with us very recently.

Thank you again for your lovely comments.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,028 - 1,034 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

Booked this hotel late - didn't know what to expect as I didn't have time to read reviews. The moment I drove into hotel car park I knew I had picked a gem. The location was excellent. It looked a million dollars and once inside the foyer I was hit by the hotel's interior. Absolutely splendid. Then checked in by a member of staff (Jiri) who told us where everything was etc. Room was beautiful and to look out the window and see the attached gardens left one wondering was I given the correct price. Breakfast the next morning was the freshest and nicest I have tasted in such a long time - again helped by a friendly and courteous lady member of staff. The value for our family of 4 was magnificent and with leisure centre thrown in how could I ever pass this hotel when I return to Galway. Stand up and give yourself a round of applause.

Room Tip: Take anything - It will be well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank undertaker64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear 'undertaker64',

We are delighted that you booked with us and very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback here on tripadvisor which, as is the case with all feedback received, has been communicated throughout the hotel to each department.

Thank you, and we hope that you will come back to stay with us again soon

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Yet again we have enjoyed a fabulous 4 day break at this amazing hotel. The reception staff exercise the highest level of customer care. It would be impossible to single out one member of staff since they all deserve to be congratulated. The dining room staff are delightful and would appear to enjoy engaging in conversation with the clientele, which makes the whole experience relaxed and enjoyable. We were served up a feast of culinary delights by the amazing chef. Looking forward to our next visit which is already booked for March 2013.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idyllic51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear 'Idyllic51',

Thank you for returning to stay with us again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in March.

It is fabulous to know that you enjoy your Ardilaun experiences and we are grateful to you for booking with us.

Until next year - take good care

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Have just spent 5 days there.
Very friendly reception, nothing too much trouble. Upgraded to an exec room, which is very well sized, good bed and bathroom.
Bar has a nice atmosphere, and serves a good selection of food...and of course a good Guinness! So for 24 euro you can get a two course meal and a beer, with specials being served each day.
It has a leisure centre, but I had no time unfortunately to visit.
All in all, a place I would return to.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
Thank myboyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear 'myboyke',

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will have the time to use our Leisure Club facilities when you are with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

in mid october my husband and i stayed in the ardilaun hotel for one week. It was brilliant value in every sense. The food was excellent. well done chef. The bedroom was clean airy and very comfortable. All staff were most helpful and very cheerful. No need to ask for any necessities all were in place. I cannot praise the pleasant staff enough. They definetly make this hotel a great place to stay. Even when busy they had time for pleasantries. The leisure centre was excellent and spotless. We loved the pool. Staff here also very pleasant. Galway is lucky to have this hotel situated there. We will be back for another pleasant break.

Room Tip: higher floors have less a/c unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Marie,

Thank you so much for your really lovely review and for having stayed with us.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you have taken good memories of our hotel back to Waterford with you.

We very much look forward to your return visit.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

Staff were excellent only complaint is the room an the noise on corridors and can hear everything in rooms beside you!good location and leisure centre and pool was definitely worth a visit!!breakfast was a good selection with also very accommodating waitresses!only issue would be rooms need to be refurbished!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allyroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear 'Allyroux',

Thank you so much for your review - we are very grateful to receive your feedback.

While we are delighted to read your comments in relation to dining and our Leisure Club, we are sorry that your accommodation experience was not to the same standard. Customer comfort is of the utmost importance to us and we care that guests enjoy their stay.

Our winter refurbishment programme has just begun and will continue into the new year - this includes some of the hotel bedrooms and replacing carpet in some of the corridors.

Again, we thank you - for having chosen to stay with us and for having taken the time to give your feedback here on tripadvisor.

We hope that we will welcome you back to stay with us again.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Having stayed in the Ardilaun Hotel last year we couldn’t wait to return, we purchased a getaway break and stayed there for 2 nights.
On arrival we were greeted by Gerry who was so lovely and checked us in straight away, we stayed in a Deluxe room and it was fantastic, the room was decorated to such a high standard and the bathroom was so clean and big.
We had a full body massage each on the Sunday and it was so relaxing & we then ventured down to the massive Jacuzzi for a while.

We had dinner as part of the package in the hotel on Sunday and it was nice, we had to pay a supplement for the steak of e7.50 and the steak (which wasn’t the best quality) but we still enjoyed it, unfortunately the dessert we wanted was gone by the time we finished our main so we had to go with something else, overall it was an ok meal but the fantastic breakfast, beautiful hotel & service by Gerry and the other staff made up for it.

We will return for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire_Alice86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Dear Claire Alice

Thank you so much for your review. We always appreciate when guests take the time to review us following their visit - all feedback is very welcomed.

While we are delighted that you enjoyed your return stay with us, we are disappointed that you did not have a great experience when you dined for dinner - this feedback has been communicated to our head chef and his team - again, we thank you.

Feedback is, at all times, communicated throughout the hotel and Gerry is very happy to read your comment .

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,106 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,777 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,376 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Address: Taylors Hill House 2 Taylors Hill Road, Galway H91 YV5Y, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: £52 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing