We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tony and Mary”
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Four of us spent midweek in the Hotel. It was a pleasant,enjoyable and good experience for all of us. All the staff we met were very efficient ,courteous and above all very friendly and they couldn't do enough for us. The receptionist even drew us a very detailed map to ensure we avoided roadworks when leaving the city. We loved the breakfasts,reading in the foyer and in particular, the leisure centre. We will turn again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cashel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Tony & Mary,

Thank you both so much for having stayed with us recently and for your lovely feedback. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return again in the future.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

914 - 920 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a midterm 3 day midterm break at this hotel with husband & 11 year old daughter. While the decor throughout is quite dated, everywhere is spotless as was our room. The staff were all pleasant and helpful, some especially so. Food was excellent as was the pool and leisure area. The Avalon spa was excellent also.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 955maryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Mary,

Thank you for taking the time to post your tripadvisor review following your stay with us recently. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel that caters to numerous weddings. It has a lovely garden but beware, the gardens have lighting but they were not on at night and there was no lighting in the parking lot so it was VERY dark. The man managing the restaurant was extremely rude to one of the elderly ladies in our group (traveling with CIE tours) when she questioned whether or not she was getting what she had ordered. In fact, he pointed to a piece of paper and said is this you and then said isn't that what it says you ordered here. He then smirked when she said yes and walked away. That alone would ensure that I never chose this hotel to stay at but on top of this, we accidentally observed him giving one of his waitresses a "dressing down" that had her in tears. She was actually a very good waitress and had waited on our group very efficiently.

Room Tip: The older rooms are much quieter and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Showme_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for a weekend, it is a nice cosy hotel but not as modern as i like, our room was next to a noisy elevator which was quite noisy on Saturday night!! The hotel is very clean and even though the room are a bit dated i found it to be very comfortable. Breakfast was really nice Buffet style with lots to choose from.

Room Tip: Rm 200 is next to a very noisy elevator!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieArdfert_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Marie,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us recently.

We thank you also for your review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. However, we are very sorry to hear that you may have been distrubed due to noise levels and will be very delighted to ensure a room in a quieter area for you should you be booking with us again in the future - please do not hesitate to request this at the time of booking. I hope that this did not cause too much disturbance to you.

Thank you again

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The staff were very friendly & professional. We were upgraded to a suite, which was a nice surprise.

The rooms were very clean and well equipped.

We eat in the restaurant. The food was good and reasonably priced. The table service was very good. The only small comment I would make is that the lights were very bright for an evening meal and the tables very close together.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emull2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us recently.

Your comments have been communicated throughout the hotel and especially highlighted to our restaurant manager in terms of dining room settings.

Thank you again for your very valued feedback.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights last week and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is nice and Terry, their bartender was very cordial to us. The only problem is that is is a long walk to the city center so calling a cab is the best choice going to and from the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solotogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having stayed with us recently and for taking the time to post your tripadvisor review following your stay.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed being our guest. As is the case with all feedback received, your review has been communicated to Terry and throughout the hotel to each department.

We are not located directly in the city centre but have a courtesy phone linked directly to a local taxi company and are always happy to assist with placing reservations.

We hope that you will return to our hotel again at some point in the future if you are visiting Galway.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Hi just back after spending 3 nights in the Ardilaun , we had a fantastic time friendly staff great food and maybe a little too much refreshment ;) .We also
Took advantage of the Avalon spa and were totally spoilt many thanks to all management and staff great job
can't wait to get back

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank shanaghyduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Wonderful feedback - thank you so much - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope that you will come back to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,516 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,804 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,167 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,751 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Address: Taylors Hill House 2 Taylors Hill Road, Galway H91 YV5Y, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: £60 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing