We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated hotel with satisfactory rooms”
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This hotel was not as impressive as some other 4 star hotels that we were staying in during our trip. The room decor needed updating. Staff were lovely but the breakfast was average e.g. not freshly squeezed orange juice, ran out of eggs and no one replaced these. It was further out from Galway than we realised - you would need a car to drive in at night. There were a few restaurants in Salthill but you would need to book the nice ones - tried to get into Black Cat on a Thursday night with no luck.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AC560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

855 - 861 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this property and you can see that it has been refurbished from and old estate into a hotel. The halls to get to the lifts and your rooms can be a little confusing but overall once you find it the first time you are fine after that. The room was very well maintained and the beds were super comfy.

The bar and restaurant were a wonderful delight with the amount of options available for dinner. The staff were friendly (on the whole) but could do with some refresher courses on how to serve dinner plates. I found it a little off putting to have a wait staff reaching across the table in front of me to give my partner their meal. I guess because they have so many large tables in the room this could just be a logistics thing. Either way would not deter me from eating there again.

Over all I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling through and wants a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Kylie,

Thank you so much for your review and for your feedback. Feedback is always very welcomed and is important to us.

I have communicated your comments to each department throughout the hotel with specific note to the service staff. Please accept sincerest apologies for the discomfort to you in relation to service during your meal. I can assure you that this feedback has been addressed.

Thank you once again and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Ardilaun. An excellent property developed from an old estate. The halls can be a confused, but the rooms are extremely well appointed and comfortable. Heavy duvets keet us snug at night but the heat of the room is difficult to control. Management only starts the radiators warming about 6 PM and the room can be chilly in the AM. We did not get to see much of the grounds due to the weather but what we did see was well attended.
Our only negative was the distance from the property to the city of Galway. This greatly restricted our touring.
I will review the restaurant separately

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuikAg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we gratefully receive your feedback.

Your comments in relation to the timings of our heatings has been brought to the attention of our accommodation department. Timings are, at all times, regulated in line with the weather conditions but we are always happy to help ensure guest comfort should additional heating be required in any room.

Thank you once again for your review.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed at The Ardilaun 6th+7th November from when we checked in until we checked out had a great time. Room might have been on small side but you only sleep there and it was at rear of hotel which meant it was quiet. All the staff were very attentive from reception, to bar staff, waiting staff and leisure staff. Had a meal on the second night can't say a bad word about it, hot, plenty of it and well served. Not far from centre of Galway 30 min walk which is good after a hearty breakfast. Thank you Ardilaun.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for room in new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest,

You are most welcome. It was our pleasure to have had you stay with us. We thank you for your review.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had a wonderful evening at the Ardilaun on Saturday 2nd November.
The hotel had reserved a special room that was very comfortable. The reception was warm and welcoming. The meal was wonderful, beautifully cooked and well served.
The staff were all very attentive and most courteous throughout the evening.
Bhain gach duine an-sult as an oíche

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aindrias3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your anniversary celebration here at The Ardilaun. Thank you for having chosen to book with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel end of October, 2013 and had room in "New Wing". Room was very clean with plenty of space. Bathroom had both bath and shower clean with good towels. There is dual heating via central heating radiator and also via a very efficient air conditioning cum heating system. The double bed was, however, not very comfortable. The mattress was worn and had lost its 'spring' leaving it flat and hard. Still have 'creak' in my neck. Bedclothes too should be upgraded to duvets for comfort and hygiene. The TV was small and old with just the 4 Irish channels available - not good for keeping kids entertained for even short periods. To get to our room one had to traverse a long narrow corridor (about 3 feet/900cm wide) in the old house part of the hotel - quiet a long walk and a little worrying if one had to leave quickly in an emergency. Lift in this area is small noisy and worn. There was an alternative to reach reception and dining room by going outside along covered walk (roof only) through garden but in Galway the rain comes sideways most times and its cold. Apart from these items of concern the hotel is in great location and its strong point are its staff - they are most helpful, efficient, friendly and work very hard. The public areas in reception, the bars and leisure centre are all excellent and make for a relaxing stay. Breakfast is average with poor selection of fruit. Dinner however is good, with a good menu, good wine list and excellent service in a very well appointed and pleasant dining room.

Room Tip: I believe there are superior rooms in the 'new wing' but didn't get to see them as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Westwing67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Lovely old style hotel. Plenty of comfortable seating area. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms clean. Soft towels in bathroom. Could update their tv in bedroom. Dinner in restaurant very disappointing. Portions small and food cold. We had to look for more vegetables to fill us up. Breakfast was poor. Orange juice un-drinkable. Porridge poor. Eggs over cooked. Dinner in the bar the second night was far better. Once again portions small. We had to order vegetables and potatoes to feel we had a dinner. But the food was hot and tasty. Joesph the dinning room manager really looked after us. Thank you Joesph. Overall we all agreed that we Will go back. Swimming pool very nice. A nice home from home.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank BettyBoopClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,104 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,777 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,372 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Address: Taylors Hill House 2 Taylors Hill Road, Galway H91 YV5Y, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: £51 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing