We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ardilaun. We stayed for a weekend break recently. The reception area and staff were very welcoming. We ate lunch in the bar on the first day and it was very tasty. You couldn't fault the room in any way, it was very clean and tidy although dated. The leisure facilities are good but shame the sauna was out of order during our stay. It is an old style hotel and could probably do with some modernisation, especially in the bar area. All in all it was a very friendly hotel with good location for the city or to explore the sites of Galway.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmzB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of The Ardilaun Hotel following your recent visit with us. we really appreciate your positive feedback regarding accommodation, food and staff. The Ardilaun is a family run business of over 50 years and as such we have in place a continual programme of refurbishment. We highly value all our customer feedback and use comments to maintain and improve our standards on an ongoing basis. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stay with family when I'm in Galway but visit this hotel at least 2-3 times for food and drink in their comfortable lobby. I was just there this past March 2014 and experienced 3 great visits! First of all, I love the walk to the hotel from Galway city. Taylor's Hill is absolutely beautiful and the hotel has a lovely entrance with a unique cottage at the main entrance. I have found the hotel staff to be most welcoming at each visit. The food is always tasty and not too expensive for hotel quality. Drink prices are same as everywhere else. We enjoyed people watching. The hotle is a great venue for weddings and anniversary parties. We observed many a bride to be come in for the wedding consult. Nicest Ladies room in Galway! I would stay here if ever needed. Also has a pool!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Mrs Colleen,

Many thanks for your kind review of The Ardilaun Hotel following your visit in March. we are delighted that you enjoy your regular visits to The Ardilaun and truly appreciate your positive feedback regarding our location, food, service and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had afternoon tea in the Ardilaun for the first time yesterday. It was a very good offering, and this will certainly not be the last time that we will visit this hotel for their afternoon tea.

The sandwiches (finger, of course) were varied in content - all were good: my favourite was the cheese and ham; my wife's favourite was smoked salmon.
The fruit scones came with the usual cream and jam, and the selection of "sweet treats" was excellent. We both had coffee with our selection.

The service was excellent and very friendly, and the price (€25) was reasonable by comparison with other similar offerings. It was served in the hotel foyer, a very pleasant area nicely furnished and appointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mikex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Mikex,

Many thanks for your recent review of The Ardilaun Hotel following your visit with us. Our Afternoon Tea is a new venture which is proving extremely popular and we are delighted that you enjoyed the experience so much. We appreciate your positive comments on staff, ambience and quality of service and we use all our customer feedback to continually maintain and improve our standards. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights and absolutely loved everything about this hotel. Super friendly staff -there was a trainee on reception (I think her name was Tara) was really friendly and helpful with a great warm and welcoming smile we wish her all the best. Breakfast was great, fresh and plentiful. Great location for both Salthill and Eyresquare - We will definitely come back here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank IreLandFi0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear IreLandFiona,

Many thanks for your lovely review of The Ardilaun Hotel following your recent visit with us. we appreciate very much your positive feedback on staff, service, food and accommodation. We are delighted that you so enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We recently stayed at the Ardilaun Hotel for my brother-in-law's wedding (12April). This was the second wedding we've attended there and I have to say, they know what they're doing! The food was fantastic and the evening went off without a hitch (no pun intended). Our room was lovely and spacious. Very tastefully decorated. We added a child to our booking fairly late and the hotel was fantastic about changing our reservation for us. We had breakfast delivered to the room in the morning and it came in piping hot and on time. Overall, a wonderful stay...we only wish we'd had more time to enjoy the room!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Michelle C,

Many thanks for your recent review of The Ardilaun Hotel. We appreciate your positive feedback on food, accommodations, staff and food. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The Ardilaun team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just home after another amazing break at this hotel. It would be impossible in the space allotted to me to praise the delightful staff in the Ardilaun. Again we have experienced the first class service we have become accustomed to. The Ardilaun is our second home. We were sad to hear that Barbara had retired (lovely lady) and that Tom had moved to pastures new but our stay was nonetheless as enjoyable as it had been on our previous visits. Front of house staff exercise excellent customer care as do the chatty/happy staff in the dining room. The chef is to be complimented.......our meals were 5 star. Thanks again Ardilaun........see you all in October.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idyllic51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Idyllic51,

Many thanks for your recent review of The Ardilaun Hotel following your stay with us. We truly appreciate your positive comments regarding staff and food and our standards of service. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us yet again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Ardilaun team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

OMG this is a great hotel home away from home. Excellant food friendly and helpfull staff and oh so peaceful. Every time we come to the West we stay at The Arduilaun. Well done to all there and keep the standard up.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christina g m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Christina g m,

Many thanks for your recent review of The Ardilaun Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and truly appreciate your positive feedback regarding staff, accommodation and food. We value all our customer feedback highly and use the comments to maintain and improve our standards continually. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,099 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,776 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,366 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Address: Taylors Hill House 2 Taylors Hill Road, Galway H91 YV5Y, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: £52 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing