We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ardilaun Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Anno Santo(Galway)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,549)
Filter reviews
1,549 results
Traveller rating
731
433
214
108
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
731
433
214
108
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centreblazers bardog friendly hotelbeauty salonleisure clubwedding receptionwedding venuesuperior roomrelaxing breaklovely hotelbar foodfunction roombit datedenjoyable staygalway cityboth nightsfrom start to finish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
861 - 866 of 1,549 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during the Easter weekend, we were a little apprehensive as we had not stayed at the hotel before and we were bringing our 3 year old daughter with us. My wife made the reservation with Catherine who was extremely helpful. Our check in was efficient and we were pleasantly surprised with how large, spacious & clean our room was. We used the leisure centre a couple of times during our stay and have to mention that the entire leisure centre was spotlessly clean and the staff were both friendly and helpful. We met a number of the housekeeping staff at work on the floors during our stay and each one acknowledged us with a smile and greeting which is not something that you would see in a lot of hotels. We also met the Head Housekeeper a couple of times as she went about her work, she stopped each time to acknowledge us, ask how our visit was going and if we needed anything. This was greatly appreciated and for us she was by far the most positive member of the team. We only used the restaurant for breakfast and had no complaints! Overall this was a very enjoyable stay, we would certainly recommend the Ardilaun and hope to return soon.......

Room Tip: Use the leisure centre and you won't be disappointed!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spurs64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Spurs64,

Many thanks for your lovely review of The Ardilaun following your stay with us over Easter. We are really delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we highly value your positive feedback. We are justly proud of our wonderful staff and are delighted to pass on your compliments to Catherine in reception and Anne our Accommodations manager and her team. Thank you also for your comments regarding our leisure club and restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
John Ryan, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at Easter weekend and we had a lovely time. We had a family room 2 adults and 2 children and the room was spacious and clean. We found the staff very friendly and helpful and the hotel itself has an old charm feel to it. The swimming pool was lovely and big although a little deep for a poor swimmer and I found myself sticking to a very small section because of this which is a shame considering the size of the pool. The food was fabulous we had a package of bed, breakfast and dinner. However considering we had booked a family room with this package we were charged extra for the children's meals when checking out which is a little mean and did take the shine off an otherwise very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubinDownSecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Ardilaun Hotel following your recent visit with us. we are delighted that you chose to stay at The Ardilaun and really appreciate your positive feedback regarding our accommodations, pool facilities, food, and our staff . We are very fortunate to have many dedicated and efficient staff working with us and we are very proud of them.

We consider our family packages to be very good value and they are put together with our customers in mind. While it is true that children's meals are not included in the package price this is done to provide flexibility. Some families may have only small children who require a baby bowl, while teenagers will often order from the full menu. It is also very clear on initial booking that children's meals are not included in the package price. All our food is freshly prepared by our chef and his team and is of the highest quality and while we do endeavour to always provide value for money we must also cover our costs.

we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Ardilaun Hotel and we hope to welcome you and your family back in the future.

Kind regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ardilaun. We stayed for a weekend break recently. The reception area and staff were very welcoming. We ate lunch in the bar on the first day and it was very tasty. You couldn't fault the room in any way, it was very clean and tidy although dated. The leisure facilities are good but shame the sauna was out of order during our stay. It is an old style hotel and could probably do with some modernisation, especially in the bar area. All in all it was a very friendly hotel with good location for the city or to explore the sites of Galway.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmzB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of The Ardilaun Hotel following your recent visit with us. we really appreciate your positive feedback regarding accommodation, food and staff. The Ardilaun is a family run business of over 50 years and as such we have in place a continual programme of refurbishment. We highly value all our customer feedback and use comments to maintain and improve our standards on an ongoing basis. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stay with family when I'm in Galway but visit this hotel at least 2-3 times for food and drink in their comfortable lobby. I was just there this past March 2014 and experienced 3 great visits! First of all, I love the walk to the hotel from Galway city. Taylor's Hill is absolutely beautiful and the hotel has a lovely entrance with a unique cottage at the main entrance. I have found the hotel staff to be most welcoming at each visit. The food is always tasty and not too expensive for hotel quality. Drink prices are same as everywhere else. We enjoyed people watching. The hotle is a great venue for weddings and anniversary parties. We observed many a bride to be come in for the wedding consult. Nicest Ladies room in Galway! I would stay here if ever needed. Also has a pool!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Mrs Colleen,

Many thanks for your kind review of The Ardilaun Hotel following your visit in March. we are delighted that you enjoy your regular visits to The Ardilaun and truly appreciate your positive feedback regarding our location, food, service and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had afternoon tea in the Ardilaun for the first time yesterday. It was a very good offering, and this will certainly not be the last time that we will visit this hotel for their afternoon tea.

The sandwiches (finger, of course) were varied in content - all were good: my favourite was the cheese and ham; my wife's favourite was smoked salmon.
The fruit scones came with the usual cream and jam, and the selection of "sweet treats" was excellent. We both had coffee with our selection.

The service was excellent and very friendly, and the price (€25) was reasonable by comparison with other similar offerings. It was served in the hotel foyer, a very pleasant area nicely furnished and appointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mikex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Mikex,

Many thanks for your recent review of The Ardilaun Hotel following your visit with us. Our Afternoon Tea is a new venture which is proving extremely popular and we are delighted that you enjoyed the experience so much. We appreciate your positive comments on staff, ambience and quality of service and we use all our customer feedback to continually maintain and improve our standards. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews