We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ardilaun Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Anno Santo(Galway)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,549)
Filter reviews
1,549 results
Traveller rating
731
433
214
108
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
731
433
214
108
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centreblazers bardog friendly hotelbeauty salonleisure clubwedding receptionwedding venuesuperior roomrelaxing breaklovely hotelbar foodfunction roombit datedenjoyable staygalway cityboth nightsfrom start to finish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
859 - 864 of 1,549 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here when attending a family wedding .. Staff, service & personal touches excellent - nothing was any trouble. Food was top notch for a large wedding group - more like restaurant fare - excellent. Polish Robert in the bar was a gent -- highly rate this hotel

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Taramick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Taramick,

Many thanks for your recent very kind review of The Ardilaun following your stay with us. We are delighted to have been of service to you and really appreciate your positive feedback on food, accommodation and staff. Your compliments will be passed on to all the relevant staff and of course to Robert. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind regards,
John Ryan, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a bus tour. Room was good. Free wi fi. No problems with wi fi connection. We enjoyed dinner. The gym was outdated. It has a big pool.

We wanted to go to the gym, staff pointed us in the right direction but on our way to the gym, we saw 2 doors and a sign that read something like ring the bell and wait for the attendant. We rang the bell but nobody came. We returned to the front desk and reported that there was nobody answering the door. Staff told us that we did not have to ring any bell and to just open the door and get in. Then, why the sign???

Overall we liked our stay, other guests said that one can walk downtown and be there in 20 minutes. We did not tried it though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresa3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear teresa3000,

many thanks for your recent review of The Ardilaun Hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Ardilaun and thank you for your positive feedback regarding dinner, accommodation and leisure club. We use all our customer feedback to maintain and improve our high standards and highly value all our customer comments. We hope to welcome you back to The Ardilaun in the future.

Kind regards,

John Ryan, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during the Easter weekend, we were a little apprehensive as we had not stayed at the hotel before and we were bringing our 3 year old daughter with us. My wife made the reservation with Catherine who was extremely helpful. Our check in was efficient and we were pleasantly surprised with how large, spacious & clean our room was. We used the leisure centre a couple of times during our stay and have to mention that the entire leisure centre was spotlessly clean and the staff were both friendly and helpful. We met a number of the housekeeping staff at work on the floors during our stay and each one acknowledged us with a smile and greeting which is not something that you would see in a lot of hotels. We also met the Head Housekeeper a couple of times as she went about her work, she stopped each time to acknowledge us, ask how our visit was going and if we needed anything. This was greatly appreciated and for us she was by far the most positive member of the team. We only used the restaurant for breakfast and had no complaints! Overall this was a very enjoyable stay, we would certainly recommend the Ardilaun and hope to return soon.......

Room Tip: Use the leisure centre and you won't be disappointed!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spurs64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Spurs64,

Many thanks for your lovely review of The Ardilaun following your stay with us over Easter. We are really delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we highly value your positive feedback. We are justly proud of our wonderful staff and are delighted to pass on your compliments to Catherine in reception and Anne our Accommodations manager and her team. Thank you also for your comments regarding our leisure club and restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
John Ryan, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at Easter weekend and we had a lovely time. We had a family room 2 adults and 2 children and the room was spacious and clean. We found the staff very friendly and helpful and the hotel itself has an old charm feel to it. The swimming pool was lovely and big although a little deep for a poor swimmer and I found myself sticking to a very small section because of this which is a shame considering the size of the pool. The food was fabulous we had a package of bed, breakfast and dinner. However considering we had booked a family room with this package we were charged extra for the children's meals when checking out which is a little mean and did take the shine off an otherwise very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubinDownSecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Ardilaun Hotel following your recent visit with us. we are delighted that you chose to stay at The Ardilaun and really appreciate your positive feedback regarding our accommodations, pool facilities, food, and our staff . We are very fortunate to have many dedicated and efficient staff working with us and we are very proud of them.

We consider our family packages to be very good value and they are put together with our customers in mind. While it is true that children's meals are not included in the package price this is done to provide flexibility. Some families may have only small children who require a baby bowl, while teenagers will often order from the full menu. It is also very clear on initial booking that children's meals are not included in the package price. All our food is freshly prepared by our chef and his team and is of the highest quality and while we do endeavour to always provide value for money we must also cover our costs.

we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Ardilaun Hotel and we hope to welcome you and your family back in the future.

Kind regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ardilaun. We stayed for a weekend break recently. The reception area and staff were very welcoming. We ate lunch in the bar on the first day and it was very tasty. You couldn't fault the room in any way, it was very clean and tidy although dated. The leisure facilities are good but shame the sauna was out of order during our stay. It is an old style hotel and could probably do with some modernisation, especially in the bar area. All in all it was a very friendly hotel with good location for the city or to explore the sites of Galway.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmzB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of The Ardilaun Hotel following your recent visit with us. we really appreciate your positive feedback regarding accommodation, food and staff. The Ardilaun is a family run business of over 50 years and as such we have in place a continual programme of refurbishment. We highly value all our customer feedback and use comments to maintain and improve our standards on an ongoing basis. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews