We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel made the trip”
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“hotel made the trip”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had a family trip to Galway for a cousins wedding the first weekend of May. There were 11 of us in the group.We stayed four nights at the Ardilaun . One night the reception was held in the hotel.Back to that later. First the front desk could not have been nicer when we arrived exhausted from our long journey from Philadelphia. Right to our clean and completely modern room. We had pints and late afternoon snacks in the hotel's Blazer Bar . The service was outstanding in this quaint Irish pub. The next night the wedding reception for approx.300 was held in the hotel ballroom. Absolutely beautiful!!! The best leg of lamb I have ever had. The service by the waitstaff was professional and far superior from the hotels in the U.S.The wedding went quite late but the service continued without pause due to the attentiveness of the night porter Barry and his staff. The next day after an outstanding Irish breakfast in the hotel restaurant we went into town not a 5 minute cab ride from the hotel. Galway is the best way to spend a lazy afternoon with all the shops and pubs along Shop street. The next day a few of our group worked out in the hotel's fitness center which was modern, well maintained and very clean . Overall our short trip to Galway could not have gone so smooth if not for the entire staff of the hotel. The accommodations, the service , the management were the best.
Thank you,
PJR

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p.j. R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear PJR,

Many thanks for your very kind review of The Ardilaun Hotel after your visit here recently. Your comments on food, accommodation, staff and service are really appreciated and we are justly proud of our dedicated and efficient staff who are happy to go the extra mile for our guests. Your compliments will be passed on to Barry and his team. We are delighted that you chose to stay at The Ardilaun and that your visit was so memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
John Ryan, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    386
    181
    96
    60
See reviews for
346
531
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay. Attended a large wedding event at the hotel which went off fabulously considering the number of guests at event and the hotel. Handled every detail flawlessly. Even the late night fun. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious as we had a double. The shower was the best though! Enjoyed the spa having an amazing massage the day after the wedding. Highly recommended. The food was awesome at the buffet which one should try not to miss. Hope to return really soon!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Maureen F,

Thank you for your very kind review of The Ardilaun Hotel recently. We are delighted that you chose to stay at The Ardilaun and that you enjoyed the experience so much. We really appreciate your positive feedback regarding the service at the wedding reception, staff, spa, accommodation and food. We do pride ourselves on throwing a good wedding! We look forward to having you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
John Ryan, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Spent a very enjoyable night at The Ardilaun recently. Although a large gathering in the foyer - a wedding reception - check in was seamless and indeed very welcoming. Throughout our stay all the staff were extremely attentive and the service impeccable. Our rooms were immaculate - large,spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was good and we (a group of about 12, including children) had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant - menu showed creativity and each dish was of an excellent standard ( I think between the 12 of us we managed to sample most of them!!). The extensive lobby is a wonderful area in which to relax and unwind after dinner, especially when there are children in your party. We had a wonderful time. Excellent staff, excellent service - a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Lovely extensive grounds so a view of them would enhance your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aoife R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Aoife R,

Thank you very much for your very kind review of The Ardilaun Hotel recently. We are delighted that you and your party chose to stay at The Ardilaun and that you enjoyed your experience with us. We truly appreciate your positive feedback regarding your accommodation, restaurant experience, staff and service. We will be very pleased to pass on your compliments to our chef and restaurant team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
John Ryan, Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just back from a weekend in the Ardilaun hotel in Galway and what a fantastic experience which was topped by the staff, atmosphere and food. Each member of staff greets you with a beautiful wide smile and gives you their undivided attention making you feel well looked after. The food we had for dinner and breakfast was excellent and full of taste, coupled with brilliant value for money. The accommodation is of a very high standard and the beds were so comfortable it made it difficult for one to leave. While I was there I checked out their conference facilities which can accommodate upto 600 delegates in highly atmospheric style rooms. This hotel is a must so if you have not been put it on your list and like me who has been plan a revisit. Thanks to all for a great stay especially Sheila and Najid.....

Room Tip: Choosing a room is best left to the staff, just tell them your requirements and you will be guarante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana12042014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Ana12042014,

Many thanks for your lovely review of The Ardilaun Hotel following your recent visit with us. We are delighted that you chose to stay at The Ardilaun and that you enjoyed your visit so much. We appreciate your very positive comments on food, rooms, staff and service and will certainly pass on your compliments, in particular to Sheila and Nejib. We are very fortunate to have many dedicated and efficient staff and we are justly proud of them. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
John Ryan, mamaging Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Congratulations to the hotel as a perfect organizer of a big event (over 50 persons).
Perfect organisation, excellent meeting rooms.
The staff was very friendly and proffesional. Lunches were delicous.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Hans V,

Many thanks for your very kind review of The Ardilaun Hotel following your recent event here. We are delighted to have been of service to you and really appreciate your comments on staff, service and food. We pride ourselves on being professional and efficient event organisors and have a very dedicated team of staff on whom we rely. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ardilaun in the future.

Kind regards,
John Ryan, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I would like to thank the Hotel and the staff, for an wonderful break in their hotel this past weekend.

The room was spacious bright and spotless. The food in the restaurant was excellent and all the staff - reception, bar tenders, waiters and night porter were superb.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seamus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Seamus R,

Many thanks for your recent kind review of The Ardilaun Hotel following your stay with us. We are delighted that you chose the Ardilaun for your break and very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate your positive feedback on food accommodation, staff and service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
John Ryan, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richelieu
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I spent 3 nights in this hotel with my wife, son, daughter in law and their 4 year old son in April 2014. We all enjoyed our stay.
On arrival we were made to feel very welcome and were quickly and efficiently allocated our rooms. The rooms were large, comfortable, and quiet. However in our room we had a problem with the shower which proved difficult to regulate the water flow and temperature. I did not raise this matter until departure as I was determined to master the situation. I am sure this matter has now been resolved.
We ate once in the restaurant and found the choice and quality to be acceptable. The other 2 nights we ate in the bar and the quality and service was excellent. It was also more convenient for the 4 year old as we could choose something which he enjoyed.
The hotel is situated in Salthill which we found uninteresting and too far to walk to Galway. If one wishes to enjoy Galway night-life a taxi there and back is recommended as parking in galway is not easy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KakaduJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear KakaduJim,

Thank you for your recent review of The Ardilaun after your visit with us. We are delighted that you chose to stay at The Ardilaun and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on staff, food and accommodations and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
John Ryan, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,923 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Property: The Ardilaun Hotel
Address: Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing