We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star hotel or baby friendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Longford, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star hotel or baby friendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I would not rate this hotel as 4 star. Myself, my mum and son stayed here for 2 nights. On check in we were told that our room was very spacious and ideal for my son who is only 5 mts old as there was plenty of floor space for baby to roll around. When we got to the room there was 3 beds, ( we only needed 2!)the cot and only a tiny floor space area. To my horror when I looked around the room it was filty dirty. The skirting boards had dirty brown water marks all over them and there was exposed piping everywhere. It was by no means 4 star accommodation. When I complained (after lugging up all our luggage, buggy etc) we were moved to a superior room. I was offered no help in moving our luggage. In fairness the room we were 'upgraded' to was nice but a standard 4 star room. There are 2 lifts in the building miles apart from each other and the lift closest to us did not go to reception it went to the underground car park. Not ideal when u have a baby to cart and push around. The corridors are so narrow too, it was a struggle to get the buggy past any obstacles in the hall. For a 4 star establishment you would think they would follow up with us to make sure we were happy! The leisure centre is nice but again no lift goes down to it so each time I had to get staff to help me down with the buggy. The staff were very nice and friendly there. I complained when we checked out , got an apology from the receptionist but she informed me that the Americans loved the hotel!! Well I'm glad someone did. Again no offer to help with buggy or luggage! Definitely won't be staying ere again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mmk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear mmk_12,

Thank you for your recent review of The Ardilaun Hotel. I regret very much that your visit with us was not what you expected and that you were unhappy with the experience. I assure you that our accommodation staff are trained rigorously and we aim for the highest standards of cleanliness in the Ardilaun. Your experience was not our normal standard and you may see that from the many positive comments we do get about cleanliness. However this is not an excuse and I apologise that you found the room not up to your own standards. I understand that you were moved by the accommodation supervisor of the day to a different room.

It is true that The Ardilaun has in fact three separate lifts in different areas of the building. This is because unlike many purpose built hotels The Ardilaun has been in business for more than fifty years and as such has older areas and more modern builds with some rooms further away from reception than others and some narrower corridors than others. I can clearly see how this would be aggravating for a new mother with a pram. I can only apologise for your inconvenience in this.

Porter service is a part of our normal service and again I apologise for the fact that you were not offered help with your luggage during your stay here. This is not our normal standard and was unnaceptable.

I appreciate your comments regarding the leisure club staff, but understand your disappointment with your visit overall. We would very much appreciate the opportunity to show you that this is not how things are done at The Ardilaun and if you would like to speak to a manager I would be more than happy to discuss that opportunity with you. Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,
John Ryan, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    385
    180
    96
    60
See reviews for
345
523
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at The Ardilaun recently and were fortunate to have been allocated garden rooms which were super and with lovely views. The staff and facilities all excellent. Mostly had bar dinners, extensive menu and the quality excellent. Highly recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Garden rooms have French windows and own patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NualaLurgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Nualalurgan,

many thanks for your lovely review of The Ardilaun hotel recently. We are delighted that you chose to stay at The Ardilaun and that you enjoyed your visit with us so much. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
John Ryan, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Large comfortable room although small TV and poor choice of channels.Lots of nice areas to sit and relax.Staff,particularly in reception very friendly.Food was ok but not 4 star standard.Decor needs an upgrade.Overall had a lovely time in a friendly family run hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little00715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear little00715,

Many thanks for your recent review of The Ardilaun Hotel and your positive feedback which is highly valued by us. We appreciate your positive comments regarding staff and service. All your comments are important to us and help us to continue to imrpove and maintain our standards. We do have an ongoing refurbishment programme in an endeavour to meet with the requirements and varying tastes of all our guests.

Kind regards,
John Ryan, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with work conference.
Check in was quick
Bedroom was clean , but not keen on the interior . Certainly didn't like the bedspread. Bathroom was clean but would have liked walk in shower .
Hotel layout was strange lots of winding corridors .
Evening meal was good .
Very disappointed with breakfast , no fresh juice .

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear seajac,

Thanks you for your recent review of The Ardilaun Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and use all our customer comments to improve our standards on a continuous basis. The Ardilaun Hotel is a family run business of over 50 years and as such has had many refurbishments and extensions leading to varying decor throughout the hotel. We do have an ongoing refurbishment programme in an endeavour to meet with all our guests tastes and requirements. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding dinner. I am sorry that your experience at breakfast was not up to your expectations and this is not our standard as you will see from the many positive comments from other visitors. We do provide freshly squeezed orange juice on request. Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
John Ryan, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Dear John,

I had my Daughters Communion in your Hotel last Saturday May 17th 2014 and I would have to say the service was excellent and the food brilliant.

Well done to all concerned and very good feedback from our Family. The range of food and choice for kids was very good.

Great to get such service as it makes the day more memorable.

Many thanks to you and your staff.

John Cunningham

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cunninghamjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear John,

Many thanks for your kind review of The Ardilaun following your daughter's communion last week. We are delighted that you enjoyed your day so much and we appreciate your kind comments regarding food, staff and service. We hope to welcome you back to The Ardilaun very soon.

Kind regards,
John Ryan, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narragansett, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Our stay could not have been better! It was my second time staying at the Ardilaun Hotel and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for first class service. We were made welcome from the start, and they accommodated all of our party, listening attentively to the food order of a 7 year old (making her feel just as important as the adults sitting around her), dealing with complicated food orders without batting an eye, and insuring that all of our needs were met. I can't wait for our next trip to Galway, so we can meet again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Natasha C,

Thank you very much for your kind review of The Ardilaun Hotel recently. We are delighted that you chose to stay at The Ardilaun and that you enjoyed your experience here so much. We truly appreciate your comments on staff and service and are very proud of our dedicated team. We believe every guest is equally important, including the seven year olds, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Ardilaun soon.

Kind regards,
John Ryan, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night for a business trip. Check in was quick and very courteous. Room very clean. The room could do, as with the rest of the hotel, with an upgrade. TV was old and signal not very good ( a minor issue!!). Food excellent. Had a bar meal. Very good. Guinness was off - not a major issue. Breakfast good and well stocked even with busy groups attending!!

Would recommend and would stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Beeneverywhereman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Beeneverywhereman007,
Many thanks for your recent review of The Ardilaun Hotel. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us on your business trip here and that your visit was satisfactory. We appreciate your feedback regarding food, decor and accommodation. The Ardilaun is a family run hotel of more than 50 years and as such does have some varying decor due to refurbishment over many years. We have an ongoing refurbishment programme through which we endeavour to improve our standards and cater to all tastes. Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and for your positive comments on food and service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
John Ryan, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,641 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Property: The Ardilaun Hotel
Address: Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing