We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this hotel.”
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Beautiful hotel, with a fantastic staff. Very charming and upscale. The rooms were big and the beds comfortable. There's a nice little trail in the back to take a short walk and unwind. The restaurant was great for both dinner and breakfast. Great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank StevieGee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Stevie,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel following your recent visit.

We thank you also for having chosen to stay with us and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife & I stayed here for one night lately. Loved everything about this hotel. Beautiful setting. The girls at the reception were so welcoming. We had a very nice comfortable room overlooking the car park at the front but it wasn't noisy. I used the leisure centre & thought it was brilliant. Excellent buffet breakfast, plenty to choose from. We were sorry we had to leave this hotel so soon but if we have reason to be in that area again it will be our first choice. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Alfred,

Thank you, most sincerely. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and we welcome your comments.

Hopefully you can stay with us for a little longer the next time.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

When we arrived on our tour at the Ardilaun Hotel a wedding was taking place in the lobby but the hotel was organized to hand us our keys and we were on our way to our room. Rooms were nice and the beds were comfortable. The hotel is situated in a residential area about a 20 minute walk to Galway. No restaurants or bars near the hotel. Nice grounds to walk around. Food is restaurant was good. Free Wi-Fi but could only pick it up in the lobby and restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Darlene,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are always so happy to know when guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

Apologies that you seem to have had some issues in relation to picking up Wi-Fi - complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel, including in the bedrooms. I have highlighted your comments to our IT contact.

Should you return to Ireland in the future, we would love to welcome you back to stay with us.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We visited this on a busy weekend at the beginning of July . There was a barbecue, a wedding plus several coaches of tourists all going on at the same time. Despite this, the staff worked extremely well and coped with what must have been over 300 guests at one time.
All the staff were pleasant and helpful, we had dinner in the restaurant as part of the weekend which was good rather than excellent. The deluxe room was lovely, though the shower was a bit weak for my liking. I would also expect dressing gowns in a deluxe room. The fridge was a welcome addition, but no complimentary water which again I would expect in a deluxe room.
We didn't use the leisure facilities, though they looked lovely.
Located a good 20 to 30 minute walk from both Galway town and Salthill but taxis are quick to respond (although not that cheap at almost 10 euro a time).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank davymac47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Davy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review here on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. Feedback is really important to us and is always welcomed.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

Your comment in relation to water pressure has been brought to the attention of our accommodation team and has been checked. Waters/bathrobes etc. are available upon request at a charge but are not included in the room rate.

Thank you again Davy. We very much appreciate you having stayed with us and we hope that you will return again soon.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here about 20 times, I love the rooms and leisure centre and the old world charm of this hotel. Pretty good package deals with dinner included - normally lovely food this time not so much. Slow service, not getting orders right cold white wine and everything of the dinner menu seemed to be on a puréed bed of something???bland food mediocre service and very very slllllooooow!lucky the hotel itself is so lovely or I wouldn't return. Leisure centre is clean not full of kids and staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank yogamom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Anna,

Apologies that we are only responding to your review today - we have tried to make contact with you directly but unfortunately have not been able to.

We are disappointed to read your feedback. As you know from you many previous stays with us, this is certainly not the norm. Our standards are always high and it is disappointing to read that your most recent customer experience has not been as your previous visits.

I would very much welcome the opportunity to discuss with you in person. If you would be so kind to make contact with myself or a duty manager here at the hotel, I would be very grateful.

I hope to hear from you soon at your convenience.

Kind Regards,
John Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A HOTEL with all that you will need, leisure center with swimming pool and not far out of the town of Salthill and not alot further to Galway.Breakfast has a good choice and food was good .The bar is relaxing and serves a nice pint.The standard rooms are a bit dated but comfortable beds but if staying again i would like one of the newer rooms

Room Tip: pay the extra for a newer room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALANCODOWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Alan,

Thank you for your comments and for having stayed with us recently.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and are grateful to you have that you have taken the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor.

While some rooms in the hotel are newer than others, it is our continued aim that we provide the same level of service throughout. All rooms in the hotel are monitored and are refurbished when necessary. We would love to welcome you back again in the future - please do not hesitate to make a request for a newer room and we will be happy to provide for you.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here as part of a CIE tour. The entrance was beautiful and the lobby area very nice. The staff was not very helpful. I got a cold reception and no help when I asked if they had an adapter for the US standard plug (other hotels were very accommodating). This is an old hotel that has been added on to more than once. Our large room was at the end of a long series of corridors and looked out at the trash bins. In other respects it was pretty nice. The breakfast buffet was good. The hotel is a long walk from the city, in a somewhat upscale area. We crossed the busy frontage road and enjoyed a walk through a residential area with parks. Don't think we'd stay here again but would look for a nice hotel closer to town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank60616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Frank,

It was our pleasure to have had you as our guest recently - thank you for staying with us.

We welcome your comments - thank you for having taken the time to post your review. Feedback is really important to us.

We are very sorry to read that you seem not have to experienced our usual 'very friendly and helpful' service. I can assure you that it is certainly not the norm to receive feedback to the contrary and sincerely apologise. Your comments have been brought to the attention of our front desk manager.

You are correct that the hotel has been redeveloped a number of times. Most recently, and most majorly, our €12m redevelopment resulted in large extensions and upgraded facilities which we are absolutely delighted with and get great feedback on. At all times, the character and charm of the hotel has remained unchanged.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future should you be visiting Galway.

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,147 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,791 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Address: Taylors Hill House 2 Taylors Hill Road, Galway H91 YV5Y, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: £54 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing