We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

A birthday treat from my husband was gratefully received and well needed. Two nights in the Ardilaun and I was renewed. Everything from the staff to the pool was faultless. The food in the restaurant was delicious.

At the time of our stay the hotel was extremely busy with a trade fair but the service never slipped.

We will return again and again. We would and have highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a genuinely relaxing, affordable and enjoyable break.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feeog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed staying with us and hope that you will return again soon.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    380
    178
    95
    59
See reviews for
340
516
34
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight on Friday August 1st whilst in Galway for races. Accommodation was excellent in a superior/executive room which was very comfortable. A bus was laid on for transport to the races. We dined with friends on Friday night and the variety and quality of the food was top class. The flavours were on a par with any reputable restaraunt. The cost represented value for money. Our breakfast on Saturday was of similar standard. A number of small complaints.
No porter to assist on arrival or departure. The music on the Friday night was poor.We enquired about staying a second night on check in. We were advised that the room we were assigned was not available for a second night. We were surprised to learn on Saturday that the last rooms had been booked earlier that morning. We thought a room would have been held. However, we will be happy to return in the future.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Brendan,

Thank you so much for your feedback following your stay with us.

While we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, it is disappointing that we read your unfavourable comments. Your comments have been communicated throughout the hotel.

We would like to sincerely apologise to you for the inconvenience in relation to the availability of a porter to assist you. Also, it is disappointing to read that you would like to have stayed with us a second night but this did not happen. At all times we would do our best to accommodate guests wishing to extend their stay once they had already checked in. There are a number of reasons that this may not always be possible which is unfortunate - we have a waitlist option available so someone may have been on waitlist for a room before you or the room which became available may not have been suitable for your requirements. I hope that this may be understandable for you.

Thank you again and very best regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We are a family off 4 that stayed in the Ardilaun for the weekend. From start to finish we had a very enjoyable stay. We stayed in the back of the Hotel, room very nice, bath and separate shower in bathroom, fantastic shower.Bed comfortable but my personal preference would have been a duvet instead of blankets. Breakfast was very nice with a good selection, was ran well even during busy times. There is a lovely friendly atmosphere in the Hotel, we all enjoyed the music in the Bar and were able to keep an eye on the football and golf as well. Staff everywhere very nice. Well done. Will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having chosen to stay with us recently and for sharing your feedback.

It is always lovely to know that people have enjoyed their Ardilaun experience.

We very much look forward to welcoming you all back to stay with us again.

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis,Co Clare
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

What a hotel !!!!, everything from the amazing staff to excellent food and great rooms, just goes to show what a difference it makes when you stay at a family run hotel, each and every member of staff are a testiment to the way they feel about the hotel. The day started with a fabulous prosecco reception followed by a superb meal, and rounded off with great entertainment with the 2 singers. Off to the races then, by coach and finished off the evening dancing to the best band and DJ until the very early hours. Breakfast was also excellent. Can't wait for next year !!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is at the front, other wise be prepared to be woken by the sound of kitchen gett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CB10ennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very grateful to you for having taken the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. What a wonderful review - thank you.

Our First Furlong event was a great success again this year and we have received absolutely fantastic feedback. We are thrilled.

We very much look forward to having you back for the same event again next year.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The Blazers Bar offers an intimate location for leisure or business.
Although the menu can sometimes be quite,well,exotic for an Irish restaurant, there's always something great to be had!
Sometimes,waiting times can be quite excessive, yet food always makes up for it.
Free WiFi always a bonus here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Patrick,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to receive your comments and they have been communicated to the relevant teams.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will come back to visit again soon.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Street, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This lovely hotel is located in a green garden oasis a couple of miles from downtown Galway. So it is not convenient to the old town sights/sites. Bus is needed. Its location is quiet--except for loud employees in back areas--who are heard because of lack of air-conditioning. Meals were too fancy and lacked basics--like adequate warmth. Lamb was barely warm. The room safe is high and inaccessible. staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Go high and front. Avoid rooms overlooking back work areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwardBonekemper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Edward,

Thank you for your review. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

All of your comments have been communicated throughout the hotel - we thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Love staying here with my boyfriend to unwind. The food in the restaurant is gorgeous and is equally nice in the bar. Pool area is nice. Short stroll to Salthill. It's also nice to walk to the city centre. Rooms are nice, a bit dated but that's to be expected given the age of the hotel. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend to couples.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for having chosen our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
2.7 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Property: The Ardilaun Hotel
Address: Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing