We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service across the board...”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Kerry
1 review
“Terrible service across the board...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

The hotel itself is lovely, rooms clean (doors need to be sound proofed) and the food when we got it couldn't be faulted. But the same cannot be said for the staff... Checking in we were made feel that we were an inconvenice which we put down to that person having a bad day, unfortunately it soon came apparent that the entire staff were having a bad weekend. We ate in the restaurant both nights of our stay ... it took an hour for someone to take our order the first night and nearly a hour and half before our drinks arrived (and not what we had ordered). There was a hour's wait between courses with no explaination or apology. On the second night we had to ask a member of staff to take our order after sitting looking at each other for 45mins and again there was an hour wait from when we ordered the starters and another hour until the main course arrived. There was no shortage of wait staff but we found them rude and unhelpful, some with little to no comand of the english language which but both them and us at a serious disadvanage. The day staff in the bar came from the same school of bad service, taking forever to take an order etc. Overall we came away with a very dissappointed, it's a great location, and facility but there is no excuse for rudness and general very bad service. We will not be returning there and have advised friends and family of same.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdilaunManager, Managing Director at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2010
Dear ‘Funsailor’

Thank for you staying with us recently and for the positive comments which you posted on tripadvisor, following your stay, in relation to atmosphere, food and the quality of our services here at The Ardilaun. We are very proud of our hotel and the service and quality that we offer continuously.

Needless to say, we are quite disappointed with other comments made in your post and, having addressed each area internally with each of the departments referred to, we feel that they are unfair and inconsistent with the customer feedback which we monitor on a regular basis and take quite seriously – e.g. verbal communications with guests, comment cards, guest satisfaction surveys and online reviews etc.

Our customer survey gradings are consistently over 90%. Our highest scoring attribute has always been ‘friendliness of staff’ which is something that we are very proud of. Our hotel has often been referred to as a ‘home away from home’ with many of our guests returning to stay with us time and time again – from both Ireland and abroad. We are renowned for our friendliness locally, nationally and internationally with each and every one of our staff members taking personal pride in their standards.

We acknowledge that, on a very rare occasion, our service timings may lapse from those which we aim to achieve. However, we have never experienced delays to the extent which you mention in your feedback – even at times when our dining room is most under pressure such as Valentines, Mothers Day etc. At The Ardilaun we have strict standards and policies in place to ensure that our guests/diners do not experience delays and that they enjoy their dining experience with us. These extend to all areas of dining throughout the hotel from our Bistro to our Camilaun Dining Room and our Function Room. We have a daily operations meeting at which we discuss all feedback from previous days business and details of business in for that day / the next day. ANY feedback which we get is addressed immediately, where it is necessary to do so. I have checked through our records here at the hotel for previous months (as we are not sure of the dates on which you stayed with us) and we do not have any record of delays to the extent you refer to.

We would be delighted to welcome you to The Ardilaun again at any time in the future.

With best regards,
John Ryan
Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    385
    181
    96
    60
See reviews for
345
525
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

We recently stayed in the Ardilaun for a family wedding, and though it is pretty much on our doorstep being from the county, I had never actually been there before.

We stayed in what seemed to be a newly refurbished room, which was absolutely faultless, with great attention to detail, and nice treats (including a great big bar of chocolate!) The breakfast was excellent and overall the staff were very accommodating in every way-on our second night even suggesting good restaurants to dine in in the city rather than pushing the hotel restaurant. The leisure centre is great- fabulous pool and very well equipped gym- did wonders for clearng the head after a late night!.

At one stage the owner introduced himself to us, and he seemed to be around keeping an eye on things the whole weekend- it was great to see this as it was obviously reflected in the general way that staff handled guests.

Overall the atmosphere in the hotel was cosy and welcoming, and I would definetely recommend it to anyone coming to Galway.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShivGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2010
Dear 'ShivGalway_Ireland', We are absolutely delighted that you have taken the time to post your feedback on tripadvisor and, more importantly, that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Each and every guest is important to us and we appreciate how very special a wedding day is as a family event so we continuously strive towards feedback such as you own.
Please do not be a stranger to The Ardilaun now that you are a little more familiar with us - everybody is welcome to our 'home away from home'.
Warm Regards, The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

My wife and I spent a weekend at The Ardilaun and I must say it was a very enjoyable experience. First off let's be clear this does not pretend to be a 5 star luxury chain hotel, what it is is a very friendly welcoming medium sized hotel with good facilities at a very reasonable price. I say this as I've stayed in everything from hostels to 7* super hotels and context matters, at it's level this is a very good hotel. We ate in both the restaurant and the bar and found the food in both a very welcome surprise in terms of quality and value. The leisure centre helped make an enjoyable stay great. Saturday saw a big function kicking off in the lobby which made us worry about getting fed in the bar but the staff coped admirably under great pressure. In short I could probably nit pick about one or two small things but won't as stuff happens (eg the jacuzzi broke down for a while) and when stuff happened the staff made up for it. The room was one of the newer ones and was large, spacious, comfortable and clean. Neither of us slept very well but to be honest it was hard to decide if it was the bed or not. Will we go back - Yes.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DjD-0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2010
Dear ‘DjD-0904’

We are absolutely delighted that you have enjoyed your Ardilaun experience and that you have taken the time to give your feedback here. Guest satisfaction is very important to us. Our continuous aim is that each and every guest leaves us with fond memories and having experienced a quality service at good value. Many thanks again and we very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel.

Regards, The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2010

This hotel appears to have 2 very different standards. We stayed in rooms that were not in the newly decorated part of the hotel. They are definitely not 4-star. But they are clean and functional. The leisure centre and the staff make up for the lack of frills in the room. Great pool and gym. Very child-friendly hotel. Breakfast good, dinner great. Staff very friendly and helpful. Even if the "older" rooms are not going to be renovated soon, maybe they should consider replacing the old-fashioned blankets with duvets and replace hard pillows. This would go a long way to improving the look and feel of the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patmacCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2010
Dear 'patmacCork'

At The Ardilaun, we value and address all feedback. Thank you, most sincerely, for your recent comments on TripAdvisor. They are gratefully received.

The hotel is family owned and managed since opening its doors on 17th March in 1962 taking personal pride in every aspect of its operation. At all times we ask for feedback from our guests and are delighted when people take the time out of their busy schedules to contact us.

Following having carried out a survey at the hotel, specifically asking if guests preferred blankets or duvets, it was decided that blankets would be used as this was the preference of the majority. Of course, at all times, we are very happy to make changes/ provide alternatives where possible if guests have personal requests. This is not a problem at all.

Thank you once again for all your comments. They have been communicated throughout the hotel.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Ardilaun at some stage in the future.

Best Regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2009

Stayed here for a Christmas party last week. and found it to be a lovely warm place, with excellent service, and a team of workers who clearly take pride in what they do. The signage for the bedrooms was a small bit confusing, but we soon got over that little issue. And the only other complaint was that we could not open the bedroom windows... The food we had at the banquet dinner was excellent - much better than one would normally expect for over 150 people, all sitting down at the same time. And they offered pheasant too, which is pretty unusual for such a large group, but I had it and was delighted with it. We didn't opt for breakfast the following morning (the pheasant???) but on checkout, a very kind young lady behind the Reception Desk, organised coffee to go for us, without even being asked. Overall, a lovely place, and I look forward to my next visit

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MplusG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2009
Dear 'AtlanticalMan',

Thank you for your post on tripadvisor and your lovely comments. It means a lot to us that you enjoyed your time with us here. We have had lots of wonderful feedback from other guests who attended the same event and we are delighted.

Your comments re: signage and the windows are also welcomed and will be addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ardilaun again in the future.

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

We attended family celebration in Ardilaun & chose to stay there oupure t of convenience as we were travelling from Dublin aera. The hotel room was huge and modern. Staff was friendly. I would definetely recommend the Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AniekaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2009
Hi 'AniekaDublin' and thank you for your tripadvisor review. It is lovely to hear your feedback and, most importantly, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

I had to book The Ardilaun Hotel in Galway at very short notice and was offered one of their new suites at an excellent rate. The buffet breakfast the next morning was perfect and set me up very well for my day of meetings in Galway. It might have been wet, windy and cold in Galway, but the welcome, comfort and service at The Ardilaun Hotel soon fixed that for me.

Great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBSMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2009
Dear 'KBSMayo'

Thank you for your feedback which is very valuable to us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us recently. If you wish to visit Galway again at any time in the future, we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Warm & Kind Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,876 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,651 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Property: The Ardilaun Hotel
Address: Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing