We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC 4*STAR”
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC 4*STAR”
Reviewed 15 February 2011

From the moment we were greeted by bernie at reception we just knew this was going to be a great hotel. The staff are extremly helpful and seem tolike there jobs which is great to see.Adam the night manager is an asset to the hotel so friendly and curtous.The food was of very high standards and rory our waiter very attentive and knew the menu very well and was even able to offer suggestions.wow! just 1 very small observation was the lady manager started watering roses while we were eating ,ans se took the jug of water from the table beside us. Not very professional!! water before or after service...Otherwise a fantastic hotel for older couples or like us a getaway romantic break and anniversary all in one.Had one of the best Valentines Night in years!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KildareEllesbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Dear 'KildareEllesbells',

Sincere and grateful appreciation from all here at the hotel for your review. Feedback is appreciated and very important to us at all times - it reassures us that our hard work is appreciated and it also gives us the opportunity to address areas of concern which are highlighted to us. Thank You.

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comment re: watering of flowers has been noted and addressed. Apologies that you had to bring this to our attention and for any inconvenience to you - I can assure you that this is not the norm here at the hotel.

We very much look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    386
    181
    96
    60
See reviews for
346
531
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2011

My husband and I celebrated our wedding day in this fabulous hotel on 11th february 2011. The hotel managers and staff were so attendive and ensured our every need was catered for. We had 230 guests, and each and everyone of them had nothing but praise for the hotel. It was an amazing day and one we wil never ever forget. Tarah and John Paul Williamson

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Dear Tarah & John Paul,

Many thanks for your lovely review here on tripadvisor. We really do appreciate you taking the time to post it.

We understand and appreciate how important a wedding day is for a couple and their family and friends and the promise we make in advance to 'ensure the perfect day for everyone' is always fulfilled.

In fact, on Monday night (14th Feb) we were very proud and excited to receive the weddings online award for 'Connacht Wedding Venue of the Year' at an awards dinner in Dublin.

Thank you again for your comment and, most importantly, for choosing The Ardilaun as the venue for your special day.

Warm Regards,
Orla and the Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I have just returned from a night in this hotel with my husband and 6 year old son. I booked a family (1 double 2single) to give us room for my son to adventure around the room At check in the womand stated i had only booked a double and a single to which i informed her i hadnt so the sent us up to the room where our key wouldnt work. We stood for ten mins waiting for assistance, finally the door was opened to reveal a double and a single. Finally after i produced my copy of my reservation i got my family room.

The decor is very old fashioned and out dated, the room and corridors smelt of must.

The lift slammed and banged as you moved through the floors. The food was very limited and when food arrived it had sauces of strange discriptions on it. I expect some bit of value for my 170 euro . the bathroom in our room had mould and the tv was as old as coronation street.

We wer awoken by two fire alarms. It just ended up being a stressful instead of a stress free stay.

I owuld not recommend this hotel to any body looking for the four star treatment because i have stayed in more comfortable 3 star hotels.

As this trip was booked for me to relax with my family a massage was decided on to help relieve the strains of pregancy but after trying for five days to get a an appointmnet for anything bit of pampering in the spa i was told no availability. which was very dissapointing.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandabed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Dear 'amandabed',

Thank you for your post here on tripadvisor. As per previous responses to posts, feedback is of the utmost importance to us. It is, at all times, communicated throughout the hotel to each department and is always addressed where it is necessary to do so.

Please accept my apologies for the delayed response to you. It was vital that I would respond to you honestly having taken the time to investigate each of the points raised. One of the staff members who looked after you has been on leave which has led to the delay.

Sincerest apologies for the mix-up in relation to the room type initially assigned to you. You did indeed book a family room and it was an oversight on our behalf to allocate a smaller family room to you when you originally checked in. We completely appreciate that guests like to have access to their rooms as soon as possible once they arrive to the hotel and we are sorry for this inconvenience to you.

We feel that there are some unfair and untrue statements in your post and that it is important we would refer to them in our response to you.

Both rooms which you refer to (one initially allocated and the one that you were moved to) have very recently been refurbished as has the corridor leading to the first room assigned - this refurbishment had only taken place in the two weeks prior to your stay and included re-wallpapering, painting etc. The corridor on the fourth floor (which is where you stayed) as not done in this timeframe but has been done recently also. There is absolutely no smell of must or any signs of mould in any of these areas (bedrooms / corridors), or any other area in the hotel, and the standard of decor and cleanliness is in line with out hotel policy/standards which is high. This can be confirmed by the fact that, in January of this year, we were awarded with the 'ISAI Accommodation Award' for the hotel.

All elevators in the hotel are in perfect working order and operate smoothly. There is one elevator which is older than the others (the original one) and this would not be the same in size but it operates perfectly. All elevators are serviced in line with requirements.

The TV in the room in which you stayed is not a flat screen but is in perfect working order. As TVs are replaced in the hotel, they are being replaced with flat screens. This is being done as is required but, at all times, rooms which are assigned to guests have a TV which works perfectly.

We have extensive menu options available in the hotel from 12:00 to 21:00 daily with options to suit every guests individual taste. Where guests have special dietary requirements, this is not a problem at all and can be catered for. Our hotel is very popular for locals who dine and the feedback that we continuously get from locals and guests alike is that the food is 'great', 'exceptional', 'best I have had', 'great value', 'kids loved it', exceeded my expectations' etc.

It is very unfortunate, and not usual, that our guests are disturbed by fire alarms going off unexpectedly. However, on the night in question there was an incident with another guest hitting the button in another area of the hotel by mistake which led to alarms going off. The alarms were silenced as quickly as possible once our duty manager investigated to ensure that they were not a genuine cause for concern. We really do apologise for this but I can assure you that this would certainly not be the norm. We appreciate that guest comfort and relaxation is important and that something like this can be an inconvenience but it was out of our control that they were activated.

Finally, in relation to the beauty salon, it is unfortunate that you were not able to get availability for an appointment. We know from your booking record that your booking was just made the day before you arrived to stay with us. The beauty salon is open 7 days a week and is very popular. At all times, we advise people to book in advance to be assured best availability. It comes as a surprise to us that you were trying for 5 days to book a treatment. The beauty salon is hugely popular but we try to accommodate people as best as possible in line with availability.

I hope that I have given you a satisfying response. Should you wish to stay with us again in the future, we would be very happy to welcome you.

With Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIMERICK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Travelled with three friends to this haven last June for a three day break Reception staff very friendly eventhough they were very busy with lots of guests around Breakfasts lovely eventhough its buffet . We found it a lovely base for touring and also for shopping if you have a car otherwise there is a bus service and also taxi .Full marks to this hotel

Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MEABH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
Dear 'MAEBH10',

Thank you for your lovely review. It is lovely to be referred to as a 'haven'. We are very lucky to have the many years of experience and to be in a position where we can say we provide each and every guest or visitor to the hotel with the highest level of quality and service at all times - no matter how busy the hotel is. When we get feedback such as you have been so kind as to post, we really are delighted.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We were very impressed with this hotel and all the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. We stayed in one of the refurbished rooms, which was very modern and cosy. The hotel itself is very family orientated, and although we are a young couple, this did not affect us in the slighest. The breakfast was of an exceptionally high standard, and the evening meal was lovely, with a good menu to choose from. The hotel is in a good location, close to both salthill and the city. We both agreed that it was the friendly and courteous manner of all the hotel staff that made our stay an extremely pleasant one, and we will definately be returning!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miamegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Dear 'miamegs',

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review here on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your lovely feedback has been communicated throughout the hotel and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

What I remember most from my stay here is the terrific service, especially from the waiters. Housekeeping staff was also friendly.
We requested a room in the "newer" part of the building and we really liked it, big room, nice bathroom with separate bath and shower, comfy bed.
Buffet breakfast was really nice in lovely setting and polite staff. Dinner at the bistro was very nice too.
The only thing we really missed was being able to get wifi in the rooms instead of using the computers in the reception area.
I attended the spa which is well to recommend and we both would like to stay here again next time we visit Galway.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samdex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2011
Dear 'Samdex',

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay with us here at The Ardilaun. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate you taking the time to let others know.

Apologies for the inconvenience to you in relation to wi-fi access in the room in which you stayed. Internet access is available in these rooms but, unfortunately, not wireless.

Thank you again and we very much look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2011

I organised two meetings last year for a professional group I am a member of at this hotel.From the first contact with the hotel staff were courteous and efficient to deal with. Our first meeting went so well from facilitating our group's needs regarding meeting rooms/food/accomadation and the value for money got ; we organised our second meeting before we checked out !
I got positive feedback on all aspects from the other members of my group and we all enjoyed working and staying at the hotel.
I would highly recommend this hotel and it's staff to groups who wish to hold buisness/educational meetings as an ideal location and organising the meeting from a distance by email etc was not a problem.
we look forward to returning again.
Blaithin Tuohy

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlaithinTuohy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
Dear Blaithin,

Many many thanks for your lovely review. We are absolutely delighted and very grateful that you have taken the time to post it here on tripadvisor.

As always, it was our pleasure having you with us and we very much look forward to your next visit.

Thank you again

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,923 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Property: The Ardilaun Hotel
Address: Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing