We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fortnight business stay IIHCS”
Review of Anno Santo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anno Santo
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Carndonagh, Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fortnight business stay IIHCS”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Formerly known simply as the Anno Santo, this small hotel has become the Irish International Hotel and Catering School, but continues to offer comfortable and very affordable accommodation. Continental breakfast was included in the price, and there was the possibility of eating there at lunch and evening, as the hotel now has become a catering school as well.

Service was first-class at all times, and the ever-so-friendly Eamon has stayed on - nothing is too much trouble for him, or for the new owners, and there's always someone to advise and give a helping hand.

The 401 bus provides a convenient and frequent link from outside the door to Eyre Square and points between.

The bedroom was quiet and comfortable, and the wi-fi signal strong and reliable (unlike some other hotels I have been in during the last couple of years).

Importantly, for me at least, the coffee now served is of top quality, and always available.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    28
    17
    5
    14
See reviews for
14
34
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

It was 10 mins walk from beach, room was nice, clean. Bathroom was clean. The staff were helpful. We didn't eat there so I can't comment on food but overall we were pleased. I would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcas21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Booked in here late one night last week while attending a funeral locally. Yes the hotel is dated but our room was spotlessly clean and of a good size. Gerry checked us in and was very pleasant and helpful. We had a rate of €99 for 3 adults with breakfast. Which was more than acceptable considering what other hotels around the city were looking for the same night.

The beds were very comfortable and the three of us had no problems with getting a good night sleep. The shower was good and hot. Complimentary tea/coffee was available from the bar if you wanted it. The TV was a little unstable on the bracket but that's just a small maintenance issue.

The hotel is 2 star but welcome, friendliness and cleanliness were of a much greater standard. Friendly lady (I think the owner??) served us for breakfast the next morning. Excellent selection of cereals, fruit and yogurts to choose from. We were then served up a full Irish, freshly cooked and placed in front of us with a smile.

I normally have a personal preference of never staying in a hotel of less than 3 stars, but I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, for a good value Irish welcome and spotlessly clean rooms.

Will definitely check out this hotel on my next visit to Galway!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D8Venturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed in the Anno Santo hotel in August 2013. From the moment you walk in the door, you feel at home. It is a small owner run hotel with a welcoming atmosphere. The hotel is old but clean and this adds to the traditional atmosphere. As it is small, there are no long walks just to get to the front door.

Breakfast was cooked freshly as you got to the restaurant and you could tell the difference in a full Irish that has been sitting in heated containers for 30 minutes versus the freshly cooked breakfast in Anno Santo.

It is family run and customer focused. The staff know you within a day and are genuinely helpful. We plan to come back again. It has changed our view of hotels in Ireland and we will be looking to stay in the smaller, owner run hotels if possible in the future.

Our sincere thanks to Gerry and his wife for a lovely stay in Galway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublin_Irish_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Éancé, Bretagne, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2013

My son and I stayed here on a four day trip to Galway city. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are comfortable and clean.
Breakfasts are plentiful and include the full Irish fry-up if you desire it. The bar is great and Gerry always has great conversation.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Gerry was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and didn't expect the room to be made up on day 2 and was pleasantly surprised. Very affordable. Salthill is a nice day trip and so is Galway. I would stay away from the expensive Galway hotels and recommend this one. It's a short trip on the #40 bus in and out of Galway. Salthill town is nice too. Make this a stop in the middle of your trip or towards the end to breathe and relax.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkelly9102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busto Arsizio, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

It's a family runned hotel and they were very friendly and helpful for all our staying.
Even if we were looking for touristic advices or anything else, the hosts were completely at our disposal. We had also nice chats with the barman in the evenings.
The room was cozy and cleaned every day. The bed was a little bit small for two people but warm and comfortable. The bathroom was big enough, clean and the shower was working good!
The continental breakfast was included in the price and there was a wide choice of cereals, breads, juices and jams, and it was served in the common room with a fire place or during the good mornings, in the winded veranda.
It's possible to have complementary tea or coffee at every hour just asking the staff bringing it in your room or having it in the bar near the reception.

There is a bus stop few meters from the hotel heading to Galway city center, therefore is good if you don't want to walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrisSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Ocean Crest  B&B
Ocean Crest B&B
#32 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rockbarton Park Hotel
Rockbarton Park Hotel
#35 of 45 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#34 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Galway
Travelodge Galway
#23 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anno Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anno Santo

Property: Anno Santo
Address: 51 Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Galway
#14 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Anno Santo 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anno Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anno Santo Salthill
Anno Santo Hotel Salthill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing