We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place one does not want to leave and wants to come back again...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anno Santo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anno Santo
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“A place one does not want to leave and wants to come back again...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

I keep on returning to this hotel anytime I am in Galway and I always have a delightful stay. It is situated in a quiet location, close to the sea. The rooms are cosy and well kept. The bar and dining area are very welcoming and homely. The hotel has a very friendly and helpful staff and the overall atmosphere is very relaxed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbylein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    26
    17
    5
    15
See reviews for
15
32
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

I recently stayed at the Anno Santo Hotel in Galway and would definitely return in a heartbeat. The hotel has that pleasant cosy warmth that you look for, that an equivalent Ibis or travelodge could never achieve. The staff were very friendly and even offered me breakfast after the official breakfast time was over. It is in a very pleasant area of Galway, ideal for touring into Galway city but also on into Connemara. And you have to try the Guinness, it was one of the best i've had in a long time. Added to all this, the room rates were excellent value, clean, comfortable and homely. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dermot78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

Myself and partner attended a wedding in Salthill in 2008 and stayed Anno Santo. When I told my sister where we were staying she laughed. We were only staying the one night and didn't spend much time at the guest house.
Arriving you do notice that it is very dated, either this is the style the owners are going for or they just havent renoveted or put money into it in 30/40 years. The decor wasn't my cup of tea but thats not the reason I wouln't recomont this place, our room was dirty. It wasn't just old, old can be clean, this room was dirty. The reason some people have timber floors is because they are easy to clean, but this timber floor has ball of hair and so much dust it could't have been cleaned in ages.
Breakfast was fine, the dining room is well dated.
Considering friends of our stayed in a B&B a few doors down for far less and said it was spotless, I think we could have done better for ourselves. I was asked to pay before seeing the room, and though this unusual having grown up in a guest house. Housekeeping isn't doing it job!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaithGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galway hotels

Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

i was in galway for the first time so all new to me!! all of the staff went that extra mile to make me feel very welcome , i enjoyed the very friendly bar , clean rooms , a great breakfast and when i needed to get to evening event on the sunday a taxi was arranged to take me there ..all in all a great hotel for a weekend break which is close to the bench and the city

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thecommsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

This place was in a great location (out of the city center, close to the beach but out of the hustle and bustle) and once we set foot in teh hotel it was like stepping back in time to grandma's house but in a good way. As soon as we checked in the lady brought us tea and coffee with tasty biscuits while we warmed ourselves by the fire. The rooms were cozy (a little cold but the weight of the comforter makes up for this a thousand-fold. We had a continental breakfast included in our room and you COULD upgrade it to an Irish hot breakfast but I'm a cereal and tea girl so it was perfect for me. Maybe a few pastries would be a good addition but I liked it all the same. We got guidance on a few neat places to see while driving around so the staff was very helpful and friendly, It seemed like they couldn't do enough for us :). I loved it !!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty_cat_cohee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

First impression when you walk into the hotel is that its not to bad a bit stuck in the past but then you meet the staff and you understand why. We booked rooms for 12 kids and 9 adults at a set price of 30 euro for the kids and 32.50 for the adults we arrived at 8.30 on the friday night and it took about 30 mins to check in but as we all travelled at different times there were only 5 of us at that time. We took te kids into salthill for some food and on leaving the hotel seen a sign stating that no for bought from outside the hotel could be consumed on the premises which i thought was strange as the salthill hotel let us do it last year and it is a upperclass hotel compared to this.The staff at the breakfast could hardly speak english and some of the 12 kids were forgot about and we asked for about 20mins for there breakfast before it came and the kitchen only about 5feet away from the tables then on the sunday at check out there was some confussion as to the price and the amount that we had to pay and i have to say that the term money grabbing springs to mind and time it took us to sort this out was out of order as the person behind the desk would not listen to reason. I nearly forgot about the rooms the one i stayed in was just ok but the bathroom if you want to call it that was tiny and the rooms the kids stayed in one 2 rooms the blinds would not close and one room had the 2 bathroom doors one on the room and the other leading to the corridor needless to say i think i will not be going back

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkycb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anno1, Owner at Anno Santo, responded to this review, 14 May 2010
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your recent review and hope that your reference “a bit stuck in the past” about our staff is a complimentary one.
Your party arrived at the hotel and were checked in as normal although some confusion did arise with names on your name list which slightly delayed the procedure.
The “food or drink purchased outside the Hotel may not be consumed on this premises “ notice at reception is a health board regulation regarding Restaurant, Bar and Public Areas.
As a member of the European Community it is common for Irish Hospitality Establishments to employ European staff. Some of these staff I agree have some difficulty understanding English dialects as we Irish also do when in other countries.
The confusion at reception was due to an individual who thought they were part of the paid for group. The person who made the original booking and was due to stay, never arrived or canceled. The rates originally negotiated with your party were charged and these rates did include a Full Irish Breakfast.
Finally our bedrooms are all en-suite with secure locks and some rooms do have Velux with blinds and there is a simple technique to closing same.


Yours truly,
Gerry Vaughan
Proprietor/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

Stayed here for a weekend with 12 children and 9 adults for a sporting event held in Galway every March. We have previously stayed at The Salthill but due to overbooking we were forced to stay here!! What a mistake that was.Not knowing the hotel and going only by its web page we went ahead and book 11 rooms.it must be the worst experience of a hotel stay to date and not cheap at that 60 euros each for two nights stay and with a triple room thats 180 euros no room rate only here. TRIPLE ROOMS thats a joke we were put into room 5 downstairs with one single bed and a double which was more like a small queen size and a bathroom circa 1970. If you are looking for somewhere nice to stay in Galway check out The salthill or The Galway bay but please please stay well away from this one!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aik23Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anno1, Owner at Anno Santo, responded to this review, 14 May 2010
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your recent review and comments. I am sorry to see that you were not happy with your stay at Anno Santo and your accommodation reminded you of a 1970 style hotel. Yes, I have to agree the hotel is an older hotel typical of a small family run hotel with smaller traditional bedrooms and en suites.
The rate of 30 euros per person per night did include a Full Irish breakfast which I believe is a very reasonable rate especially on a weekend stay.
I regret that your efforts to reserve The Salthill Hotel and The Galway Bay were not available due to overbooking and hope that you enjoy your next stay in Salthill.


Yours truly,
Gerry Vaughan
Proprietor/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Ocean Crest  B&B
Ocean Crest B&B
#34 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#30 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
0.2 mi away
Rockbarton Park Hotel
Rockbarton Park Hotel
#35 of 47 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#32 of 47 in Galway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anno Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anno Santo

Property: Anno Santo
Address: 51 Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Galway
#15 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Anno Santo 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Anno Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anno Santo Salthill
Anno Santo Hotel Salthill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing