We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now called Sea View Apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterfront Hotel

Waterfront Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #42 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Now called Sea View Apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is now the Sea View Apartments. Booked a 2 bedroom penthouse with roof-top terrace and the views were amazing. The apartments had everything you needed including Wi-Fi, all included in the price.

There was a large car-park which always had spaces and a lift to all floors.

Modern furniture and new fitted kitchen including dishwasher and 2 bathrooms, 1 with a bath.

The reviews from the earlier hotel don't do the place justice.

Room Tip: penthouse suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thetartanrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Six of us (family!) stayed in this wonderful penthouse apartment last weekend. Very spacious with really comfortable beds (6ft) - spotlessly clean and well equipped. Good cooking facilities (if you wanted to cook!) with dishwasher and all mod cons. The most amazing view of Galway Bay from the huge balcony - I can only imagine what it would have been like during this beautiful summer we had! Parking at back of the hotel too. In centre of Salthill but within walking distance of Galway city (25 mins or so). Lots of restaurants and bars in locally though. I would highly recommend this hotel and Malachi, who collected the accommodation fee was very pleasant and helpful too!

Room Tip: three bed penthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bennett-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I was booked into this Hotel while away in the Galway Races,
We stayed in a 2 bedroom penthouse suite, it was nice great view of Salthill.

its was self catering, so the nearest shop was a Centra which was about 10 min walk from the hotel, the penthouse suites do have their own UPC board-band. so it's one way keeping the kids happy and its handy for you at night to watch Netflix.

other then that this place isn't cheap. if your looking for value i would look else were

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

We stayed here because we were attending a wedding in the Salthill Hotel but it was booked up. The location is good and the rooms are large. That's it for the pros. The place is dirty and grubby. The rooms are musty and very poorly appointed with cheap furniture. The views of the bay would be nice if the space outside the windows wasn't so disgustingly filthy. There is limited parking to the rear of the hotel but it takes some imaginative manouvering to get into the spaces and the place feels unsafe for a car or a person. I'd rather leave the car on the street.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ryder78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galway hotels

Midlands, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

Hotel is a huge letdown. Rooms are old. and musty. Bar staff not very friendly or bothered to serve. Bar also pretty dirty. Dinner was quite tasty. Breakfast on the other hand was not much. The waitresses were to busy talking to serve you that we actually walked out and they didnt even notice. Needs a major revamp and better management skills in my opinion

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

Absolutely fantastic location, brilliant views, bus right outside the door that operates pretty regularly, but need exact change!(Euro1.60 when I went) Staff were efficient and always helpful. Rooms were large and spacious, slight smell of smoke in the sitting room area, but nothing that you would complain about, unless you have nothing better to complain about. The only down side to the hotel is that it is on a main road, which was very noisy, unfortunately there was a vintage car show in Galway that weekend! I would definitely say that this hotel is worth the money you spend to stay there but don't go there paying for a three star and expecting a four or five star like some of the other reviews I read before staying there seemed to.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

I booked this hotel even after reading some bad reviews of this hotel just for the sake that i wanted to be near the Salthill promenade. After spending the weekend (20-21 June, 2009) with my wife, I realized that i was not wrong. Hotel location was awesome (with also a bus once you step out of the hotel), nothing could be compared to the views of the ocean and the promenade from the hotel (all rooms have ocean views, this is true!!). breakfast was good (be sure to take the pomegranate juice), rooms good if you are not the one that will go under the bed to see if there is a hole, or look into the shower to see whether the temperature controller on the shower tap is working every degree centrigrade. To me I would definitely stay in this hotel again when I again go to Galway.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ambarish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#30 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rockbarton Park Hotel
Rockbarton Park Hotel
#35 of 46 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Crest  B&B
Ocean Crest B&B
#32 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel

Property: Waterfront Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing