We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place in salthill galway Ireland”
Review of Waterfront Hotel

Waterfront Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #43 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 6 February 2007

The waterfront hotel in salthill is one of the nicest hotels to stay when you are visiting the west coast of Ireland.The staff are so friendly and welcoming,the food is fabolous and all rooms are facing galway bay which makes for beautiful views.
If you are in the mood for visiting an old irish style pub that serves a beautiful pint of guinness Oconnors pub has to be the place. The pub is on the main street in salthill and is just five minutes from the waterfront hotel.I would highly reccommend a visit to salthill whether you are from Ireland or visiting Ireland.

7  Thank skully81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2005

Didn't like this hotel at all. Stayed with husband and 2 kids for one night only. Paid 100 euros for 'penthouse' suite. Huge rooms, but smelled musty. Bathrooms very musty and not clean at all. Had to request extra towels and pull out sofa was not made up. The 'restaurant' attached to the hotel Kitty O'Sheas was disastrous!! Really unsuitable for children especially. Breakfast in the morning was inedible. We have stayed in many hotels around the world and were really disappointed in this one. It's a shame because the view is sensational and the staff were at least helpful. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tracyeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin, Ireland
753
Reviewed 15 August 2005

I stayed for one night in the Waterfront and unfortunately didn't find it as special as the other reviwers. I had requested an early check which was accommodated very efficently but when we arrived, the room we were allocated stank of stale smoke, even though I'd requested a non smoking room. As the hotel was booked out there was nowhere to be moved to so we left open the windows and hoped for the best! As a result I didn't go into the sitting room at all as it smelt so bad.
The views from our second floor window were lovely, even on an overcast day and despite the very dirty windows! The bathroom was not the cleanest I've ever experienced in a hotel and smelt of must. The metal tabs and showers were surrounded by rust and there were water stains in the toilet. There was also only shampoo in the shower-the soap was attached to the wall over the sink so made showering a little more awkward than it should be! I think this is all from the hotel being a little old rather than cleaning standards but it could benefit from a deep clean.
Kitty O'Shea's was a so a disppointment as it was only serving carvery meals when we arrived (we only wanted a snack!) and the pub is over 25's at night-you need to show a passport to prove your age, which seems a little strange for a hotel pub. We ate in Mocha Beans just further down the prom and went out in Galway.
I went to Salthill because I love the sea but in future I'll stay in Galway and get the regular bus service out to the sea!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2005

This is a great hotel, good value with an excellent view of Galway Bay. We stayed two nites and found it exactly as advertised. The Receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Kitty OShea's bar is fun, the bartenders full of chat and friendly. We suggest you rent a car, as Taxi's are not that plentiful and buses not regular.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2004

This very affordable , though a touch dated hotel, was a great value for the price, and provides stellar views of Galway Bay and the Islands. A 2 minute drive from Galway centre, Spanish Arch etc, and with easy access to connector highways for exploring the west coast, make this a convenient spot. The common areas were a hint dingy, and some minor cosmetic renovations would be worth the investment. That said, no real complaints. Be sure to spend the extra 25 euro. for a penthouse suite. It provides an obscene amount of space, for a minimal cost. Perhaps the best compliment, is that in the likely event of a return visit to Galway we would choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2004

My daughter and I stayed at the Waterfront Hotel in the Salthill section of Galway. The rooms overlook the water; are clean as can be. The bus into town runs frequently, right across from the hotel. We had a room with a kitchenette, no utensils provided, but you can request them from the bar.
The hotel was nice and quiet. If you like beaches, it is such a joy to go walking there in the morning or evening , before or after a day out touring. When I return to Galway, I will definitely stay at the Waterfront Hotel again.

4  Thank MusicSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Monroe, CT
12
Reviewed 10 June 2004

I travelled to Ireland in early March with my daughter, her husband, 3 son sons, 17, 14, 5. We booked a penthouse suite. Plenty of room, big patio with light streaming in the windows. Living room with pullout couch and a set up bed for me. A big bedroom with queen size bed. A nice kitchenette, but no stove. No matter we brought back a cooked chicken and the hotel supplied the dishes! We did veggies in the mico-wave, toast in the toaster...even popcorn! Stayed two days we enjoyed it so much. Activity center next door for swimming. (special rates for hotel)Close to Galway City. Beach and good parking across the street. Helpful staff and even a pub/resturant downstairs! One of the least expensive stays we stayed!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.5 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
390 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#34 of 46 in Galway
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,305 reviews
1.7 mi away
Forster Court Hotel
Forster Court Hotel
#24 of 46 in Galway
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: £50 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing