We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marian Lodge Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
The Western Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$189
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Clayton Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$306
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Menlo Park Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$159
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$233
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
94
31
12
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
31
12
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome from homeb bevery morningvery pleasant staytriple roomcelinehostessirelandensuiteaccommodationprom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Marian Lodge in Salthill in April 2012. We loved Celine!! She is a wonderful proprietor, and she really did make us feel as if we were family. We had great breakfasts the days we were there. Each day, Celine would leave cookies and tea/coffee in our room. We had some laundry that had dried in the bathroom and she folded it and put it on our beds. The whole experience was great.
We had clean towels each day even though we told her we didn't need them changed. Celine arranged the bus for us to take to get the ferry at Rossaveel. She gave us recommendations for places to eat and told us about the pedestrian promenade on the water.
We could see the water from our room--that's how close her guesthouse is to the water. If visiting Galway, I would opt for staying in Salthill. It's a wonderful town, and I would stay with Celine as she's a wonderful host! I would have no qualms about staying at Marian Lodge again.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room. The lodge is on a quiet street.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn60785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at the Marian Lodge for two nights when in Galway recently for a wedding. The rooms are very well presented, spotlessly clean and have everything you need. Celine was an exceptional host with a wonderful personality and she is also a mine of information on the local area. This lady made our stay very enjoyable and she could not do enough to make sure we were comfortable. Breakfast is lovely and all the more so enjoyable when Celine engages you in conversation. Marian Lodge would now be an automatic choice of accommodation for us whenever we visit Galway.

Room Tip: Any room would be a good room in this first class B&B
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We toured Ireland for 2 weeks, and this Guest house was by far the best in which we stayed. The house was clean, well appointed, and very comfortable. Celine Molloy makes you feel so welcome, and right at home. She was absolutely delightful and accomodating. Her breakfasts are wonderful, and her dining room has a great view of Galway Bay. Her home is in the scenic Salthill section of Galway. Bur tours will pick you up right at her front door. We spent three nights there and were actually sad to leave her.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Last week my girl friend and i flew into ireland from new jersey and spent 5 nights at The Marian Lodge Guesthouse. Celine is one of the kindest people I have ever met in my life and made our short stay in Galway such a great experience. Her breakfast was amazing every morning i looked forward to it every day. after coming home from a tour or a walk in the city our room was always cleaned and she even went so far as to fold any clothes that we may have let out of our bags. she arranged all our tours for us with door to door service. she really just helped make our vacation exactly what you want one to be, relaxing.

-John & Lindsey

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We spent four very comfortable nights in October. We arrived without a booking but were made very welcome, as you are when visiting Ireland. The bedroom and bathroom was spotless with all facilities in good working order and condition. Even though our room overlokked the main road, it was incredibly quiet.

Celine, the owner, was very very helpful and unsparing with advice as to what to do and see, and pointed us to the better restaurants in Salthill. Her advice on travel to/from the Aran Islands was invalauble.

We would be happy to stay here again if we ever return to Galway ( which is probable) and do not have any hesitation in recommending Marian Lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeJay001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews