We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Best Stay in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marian Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #49 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Altos, California
1 review
“Our Best Stay in Ireland”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was our 5th Bed and Breakfast stay in Ireland and we found all of them hospital, friendly and delightful, but I would rank the Marian Lodge Guesthouse as our favorite. The rooms were spacious, most had one large plus a single. We had a room on the top floor with a skylight looking out over the ocean. I like to get a good shower in the morning and this one was brand new with lots of water pressure – a great way to begin the day. Celine, our hostess, was most hospitable and a great cook – her homemade Irish bread recipe is unbeatable. It was a joy to be in her dining room each morning. She gave us great tips on catching the boat to the islands and had tickets for us. After two weeks of travel we were ready for a quieter location, not to mention the joy of being by the sea; and yet, everything is still very accessible and there are some excellent restaurants nearby, so you don't have to go back downtown. We found the bar in the Hotel 12 just a mile away to have superb food and service, and was reasonably priced though it was upscale. Thank-you Celine! Brian & Emily Morgan from California

Room Tip: We loved room #9 on the top floor - overlooking the sea and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabbimorganescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    29
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
51
43
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
limerick.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Went for the weekend with kids.Found it with no hassle.Celine was very welcoming and took time to chat and make us feel comfortable and provide refeshments.Beds were very comfortable and room was extremely clean.Area was quiet but still close to everything.enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irlpaul771221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed for a weekend break in a twin room. The room was very spacious and comfortable and had a great nights sleep. Celine was an excellent hostess and we found her very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Her homemade bread was amazing and we picked up some very helpful tips from her about the area in general. We would definitely stay again and I would highly recommend to anybody looking for comfort, genuine hospitality and value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Ives
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed at this great guesthouse for my 60th brthday & had a fantastic time, Marion was brill always making sure that we went to the best places in Galway. We were recommended to go to Beerna for my birthday meal & we had a great time with some smashing locals. I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone who wants to be close to Galway but not in it, it's a lovely short stroll along the sea front to the city centre, hope to go back soon,Tony. Been meaning to do this for ages, we were in Ireland in August 2011, sorry for the wait.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggot6851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Marion is an extremely lovely lady, very friendly and welcoming. Accommodation very good, highly recommended. Very close to all amenities, such as beach and restaurants. Also she was very helpful regarding tours, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2012

My Wife and I were on a 3 week holiday in Ireland and we travelled the whole country. By far the best Guesthouse / Hotel we stayed was Marian Lodge Guestouse in Salthill. We booked it on line from home through emails and Celine always answered all of our mails as we had a lot of questions about Galway and what we could do while we were there. We felt like we knew her before we arrived.
On arrival were were greated with a lovely cup of tea and some HOMEMADE SCONES (as she called them) and they were good. We asked for more and she gave us some that were just fresh out of the oven.
The breakfast in the mornings were brilliant - full Irish fry with all the trimmings and even HOMEMADE Brown Bread that is made fresh every morning - I dont know where she gets the time.
She booked a couple of trips for us and we were picked up by bus outside the Guesthouse.
Our En-Suite room was a lovely,comfortable and quiet. We were very pleased with our stay there and Celine and Pat (her husband) will always be classed as friends after all that she did for us. we stayed 5 days in salthill and orignally we were only going to stay 3. When we were leaving we had left our car in the city from the night beforehand as we indulged in a few Guinness and Pat gave us a lift in to collect the car and for us to head on towards Kerry/Cork region.
I will definitly stay here again and would recommend this Guesthouse to everyone.

Thank you so much.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Celine was absolutely lovely and our stay was very special. The warm scones and tea were so amazing and made us feel like family. Celine also made the most delicious brown bread of our stay. Her fast taxi request service and tour buses were convenient to all. Celine knew we had limited time and gave us the perfect advice on what to do the next day… suggested Connemara for the day and it was absolutely unforgettable! Thank you Celine for the beautiful memories and lovely hospitality! My brother and I will never forget you and Marion House...you are in our hearts..barbie&mark

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
8.9 mi away
Hillview B&B
Hillview B&B
#4 of 9 in Oranmore
42 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#17 of 187 in Galway
78 reviews
3.6 mi away
Abacus Guest House
Abacus Guest House
#41 of 187 in Galway
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Seashore Lodge
Seashore Lodge
#55 of 187 in Galway
76 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inishmore House
Inishmore House
#27 of 187 in Galway
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marian Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marian Lodge Guesthouse

Property: Marian Lodge Guesthouse
Address: Knocknacarra Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marian Lodge Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomeAt Marian Lodge Galway Bed and Breakfast you are not a tourist, you belong.” declares Celine Molloy, the owner of this inviting, family run, Four star registered Galway Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse, with four star AA rating and membership of the Premier Guest Houses of Ireland. This delightful Guesthouse stands out in lovely, mature gardens with hanging baskets and large containers of flowers and is close to the Salthill promenade, beach and Leisureland facilities.Just around the corner you will find the Galway Golf course and driving range. The facilities for fishing, tennis, horse riding, windsurfing are all within easy reach. One minutes walk will leave you at a nice, quite pub and restaurant and a little further on to Salthill reveals a wide range of restaurants, pubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marian Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing