We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful and pleasant staff”
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Helpful and pleasant staff”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Well appointed and comfortable bedroom with spacious bathroom. Care needed with the shower as it could be scalding hot! Breakfast - a good selection of cereals, and porridge available on request. Prunes and grapefruit etc. Cooked bacon, sausages, baked beans, fried or scrambled eggs, Ample supply of toast and excellent service from staff. Evening meal was ample, but only frozen vegetables. The sweet listed as bread and butter pudding was more like a "bread pudding" served with a meagre amount of custard. Disappointing for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear Rogrita
Thank you very much for your review.
Delighted your experience of the staff and breakfast was good.
In relation to the other comments about frozen vegetables and the bread pudding.
I had a chat with the Chef and he asked me to assure you that we do not in fact use frozen vegetables in our restaurant with the exception of Garden peas.
He also said that while he was sorry you didn't enjoy the Bread and Butter Pudding, that the very same dish received numerous compliments from the restaurant patrons on the same night and continues to receive compliments regularly. I believe you also submitted a comment card when you were here and from this we were able to pinpoint the night in question.
Your feedback is valuable to us as we need to constantly question our service and standards.
It is also important that we seek to be adaptable and flexible in encouraging guest feedback while still in the hotel.
Thank you again for the time you have taken .... sincerely
from all the team at The Menlo Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    414
    129
    37
    11
See reviews for
179
629
49
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We had our wedding reception & rehearsal dinner there over the weekend of September 2, 2011. I am from America and my husband is from Galway so our guests from America stayed in the hotel for 3 to 5 days. We all agreed that the food was fabulous, the staff is willing to do anything to make your day special. They were so accomodating, helpful, generous, and friendly. When our limo did not show up the staff was frantically calling taxis and they had a beautiful black mercedes there within 10 minutes ribbons and all! They are so accomodating to dietary restrictions as well, my brother has a gluten allergy and many of my guests were vegetarians and they had several choices for them as to what to eat I would recommodend this hotel as a wonderful place to stay & eat and a wonderful place to have a wedding. I would not have considered anywhere else.
Thanks again!!!!! -The Ryans

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear Sarah / The Ryans !!

We were delighted to help... Such a pleasure to have you all stay with us and what a
wonderful day...
We look forward to seeing you and Martin again.
from all the team at the Menlo Park.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Myself and my husband stayed in this hotel recently. We were touring the west coast and came along this hotel on a cold and wet evening and decided to stay the night. Eventhough we were late arriving, the receptionist on duty ( a lovely smiling young girl, cannot remember her name, maybe it was Emily or something like that) made us feel so welcome and arranged for us to have some food very quickly. She checked us in promptly and gave us a lovely room and did everything possible to make us feel very welcome. Thank you young lady. We had a lovely breakfast next morning after a wonderful night's sleep and left the hotel fully refreshed to continue on our tour. Also the guy who helped us with our luggage was very helpful with directions. Overall a very nice hotel, complemented by wonderful staff

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thank you Emmawa for your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed a refreshing night's sleep and that you felt welcomed and cared for. That is what we are here for and it is lovely to know when we get it right. We look forward to seeing you again...
from all the team at the Menlo Park..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

From the moment we arrived, until we checked out three days later we couldn't fault anything or person. The girl on reception was very efficient and had good local knowledge. Everyone smiled and spoke to you, the people on reception, the girls servicing the rooms, the bar and restaurant staff.
We were staying on a special deal and no difference was made of us we were treated like all other guests. The room was very confortable and had a great big double bed. The food in the restaurant and bar was excellent. The hotel was busy and had a great atmosphere.
The weather was bad, but the hotel was great and within a 10 - 15 min walk of Galway city centre

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear George.........
Thanks for your lovely review and so pleased that you are considering coming back
again. Since you mentioned the local knowledge - when you are coming back let us know and we
will send full information on events, festivals, things to do etc.
There is usually something on in this city so it's good to know in advance.
Kind regards and thanks from all the team.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We only stayed one night but we look forward to returning again! After a long stressful drive we were greeted by a friendly, cheerful and professional receptionist, it was a pleasure ! We were delighted to find this was the same for all the staff throughout the hotel . We had a lovely meal in the bar and found it to be good value . The room was spotless and very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear Gail
We look forward to welcoming you again!
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments have been passed on to the
staff and it means a great deal to them. Thanks for the encouragement.

From all the team....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My partner and I spent a mid-week break in the Menlo Park Hotel. The hotel is very quant and the staff were amazing. They couldn't do enough for you. The room was spotlessly clean and they adopt an eco friendly ethos which is great. The food in the restaurant was superb and again the staff tended to any of our needs. We left the hotel feeling relaxed and delighted with our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Galway as it is quite near the city and Salt Hill. We'll be going back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear Michelle
Thanks a million for the lovely review. We are so delighted you had an enjoyable and
a relaxing time with us.
Also delighted you noticed the Eco initiatives! - We are just now applying for the Green Award.
As a point of interest did you know that we are "carbon neutral" because the owner owns
forestry in Cavan - !!
The next time you come back we will hopefully have our green award and some new initiatives in place. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
All the team....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This hotel and its staff were some of the nicest folks we met during our trip to Ireland. They helped us out with a few challenges we had with our converted, among a few other items. The entire hotel staff was wonderful and made us want to shorten our portion of the trip in Dublin and come back to Galway! I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Make sure you have an Ireland converted not just for Europe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear Karen
We would be happy to extend the Céad Míle Fáilte (Hundred Thousand Welcomes) to you
anytime you would like to come back and we will do our best to keep you then as well!!
So pleased you enjoyed the service and staff and thanks a million for the review.
from all the team..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
2.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,918 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#8 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Property: Menlo Park Hotel
Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#5 Family Hotel in Galway
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 70 quality rooms with 16 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing