We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base.”
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great base.”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We used the Menlo Park as a base for a 5 day break around Galway. The staff in all areas were very helpful and friendly which is not always the case in larger hotels. Our rooms were facing the roundabout and were a little too warm. Opening the windows allowed the traffic noise in. This did not spoil it too much for us but may be an issue for lighter sleepers. Breakfasts were good quality buffets and we ate a couple of evenings in the bar which had a good menu.
We would be happy to stay again if we revisit Galway.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brackloona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Thank you very much for your review. Delighted you found the hotel to be a good base.
We do find that our location suits a lot of people who like to park their car and either walk or take a taxi into town.
Fortunately because of the grounds to the front - we don't get many complaints about noise from traffic. We also have several rooms located to the back of the hotel which can be allocated for those particularly light sleepers!
Thanks again for the feedback. We look forward to seeing you again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    422
    130
    39
    11
See reviews for
183
640
50
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed at the Menlo Park Hotel in Galway for two nights during our vacation to Ireland. Since it would be the last three days of our trip, we wanted to stay in a nice upscale hotel, and Menlo Park did not disappoint. It was very comfortable with spacious rooms that were beautifully decorated. The traditional Irish breakfast was delightful, and the hotel staff was friendly and courteous. I would definitely love to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we did not disappoint! - We look forward to welcoming you back again some day!
Warmest regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Last week I stayed in the Menlo Park Hotel. To say that it was brilliant, it is an understatement. The entire staff: Reception welcome, Restaurant service and food, Bar service and Chamber maids, everyone was very professional, always smiling and made me feel very much at home. I was there with a group "The Beginning Experience" for our Regional Conference. The conference rooms were very well layed out and comfortable.
I would stay in the Menlo Park Hotel again and definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Trust the Hotel Reception Staff, to suggest and choose for you according to your requirements and ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiorellazoltowska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Thank you so much for your glowing review!
We are delighted that you were made to feel at home by all here and that the Conference went well. We were delighted to welcome the "Beginning Experience" and we would love to welcome you back again.

Sincere best wishes from all at the Menlo Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Having stayed at the Menlo Park Hotel over the weekend 16th-18th September, I found the staff in all departments to be most welcoming and accommodating. The service was second to none, the food was excellent and the staff were most eager to attend to my special dietary needs. I will definately be returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annamariagarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear MaryG
Thank you so much for the review.
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and that our emphasis on catering
for special dietary needs is having an impact.
This is important to us as we really seeking to develop this.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
By the way - the new bar menu is 80% gluten free and Deelicious!!

Sincerely,
All the team.........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Well appointed and comfortable bedroom with spacious bathroom. Care needed with the shower as it could be scalding hot! Breakfast - a good selection of cereals, and porridge available on request. Prunes and grapefruit etc. Cooked bacon, sausages, baked beans, fried or scrambled eggs, Ample supply of toast and excellent service from staff. Evening meal was ample, but only frozen vegetables. The sweet listed as bread and butter pudding was more like a "bread pudding" served with a meagre amount of custard. Disappointing for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear Rogrita
Thank you very much for your review.
Delighted your experience of the staff and breakfast was good.
In relation to the other comments about frozen vegetables and the bread pudding.
I had a chat with the Chef and he asked me to assure you that we do not in fact use frozen vegetables in our restaurant with the exception of Garden peas.
He also said that while he was sorry you didn't enjoy the Bread and Butter Pudding, that the very same dish received numerous compliments from the restaurant patrons on the same night and continues to receive compliments regularly. I believe you also submitted a comment card when you were here and from this we were able to pinpoint the night in question.
Your feedback is valuable to us as we need to constantly question our service and standards.
It is also important that we seek to be adaptable and flexible in encouraging guest feedback while still in the hotel.
Thank you again for the time you have taken .... sincerely
from all the team at The Menlo Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We had our wedding reception & rehearsal dinner there over the weekend of September 2, 2011. I am from America and my husband is from Galway so our guests from America stayed in the hotel for 3 to 5 days. We all agreed that the food was fabulous, the staff is willing to do anything to make your day special. They were so accomodating, helpful, generous, and friendly. When our limo did not show up the staff was frantically calling taxis and they had a beautiful black mercedes there within 10 minutes ribbons and all! They are so accomodating to dietary restrictions as well, my brother has a gluten allergy and many of my guests were vegetarians and they had several choices for them as to what to eat I would recommodend this hotel as a wonderful place to stay & eat and a wonderful place to have a wedding. I would not have considered anywhere else.
Thanks again!!!!! -The Ryans

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear Sarah / The Ryans !!

We were delighted to help... Such a pleasure to have you all stay with us and what a
wonderful day...
We look forward to seeing you and Martin again.
from all the team at the Menlo Park.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Myself and my husband stayed in this hotel recently. We were touring the west coast and came along this hotel on a cold and wet evening and decided to stay the night. Eventhough we were late arriving, the receptionist on duty ( a lovely smiling young girl, cannot remember her name, maybe it was Emily or something like that) made us feel so welcome and arranged for us to have some food very quickly. She checked us in promptly and gave us a lovely room and did everything possible to make us feel very welcome. Thank you young lady. We had a lovely breakfast next morning after a wonderful night's sleep and left the hotel fully refreshed to continue on our tour. Also the guy who helped us with our luggage was very helpful with directions. Overall a very nice hotel, complemented by wonderful staff

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thank you Emmawa for your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed a refreshing night's sleep and that you felt welcomed and cared for. That is what we are here for and it is lovely to know when we get it right. We look forward to seeing you again...
from all the team at the Menlo Park..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
471 reviews
2.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,063 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,893 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
5.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Property: Menlo Park Hotel
Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#5 Family Hotel in Galway
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 70 quality rooms with 16 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing