We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at Menlo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great stay at Menlo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Had a fantastic time at this hotel booked two twin rooms, both had a double and a single bed.. Every staff member was extremely helpful and courteous . Rare thing these days .. Had a great time .. Look forward to another trip to galway again ..

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angieellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear angieellen

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review us. I am absolutely delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit with us so thoroughly. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our hotel, especially our staff.

Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    400
    123
    37
    10
See reviews for
166
618
47
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just back from my 2nd stay at this hotel. First time round we stayed in an upgraded room, beautifully decorated & spacious. This time we tried to upgrade but there was no availability however room was still nice. Much smaller than the previous room but still perfect. I cant stress enough how clean the rooms and the hotel is. Even the toilets in the bar are spotless. Bar food & breakfast in the morning was lovely too. Will definitely return. Great value & great location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank limkface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear limkface

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us again and also for taking the time to review us. I am absolutely delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit with us.Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our hotel. We looked forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
158 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

As Galway is not one of the cheapest cities in Ireland we were pleased to find this hotel and get a good rate for two nights. The room was nice and fairly large. TV and coffee maker plus the usual hotel amenities. Breakfast was not included, but was reasonably priced and of high quality! Helpful staff! We can recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear AndreJ

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay at the Menlo Park Hotel recently and thank you also for your great feedback. I am delighted that you had such a nice time with us. Your positive feedback is most welcome and very important to us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

From the very first greeting at the reception area to the final goodbye, the staff at this hotel were truly exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble & every member of staff had a genuine smile. The food in the hotel bar was more like that of an expensive gourmet restaurant, but not the price, which we found to be very reasonable. The rooms are spacious & the beds very comfortable. The showers had plenty of hot water & unlike most hotels you can get a VERY hot shower if you so wish. The bathrooms are equipped with shower gel & conditioner which is mounted on the wall in a dispenser, so there's plenty of it. Breakfast was simply amazing. All local produce, which is lovely to see & cooked to perfection. Full irish & continental with plenty of fruit juice which doesn't appear to be a watered down version, like some large chain hotels. Tea/coffee & fresh hot toast are brought to you table by the time you sit with your chosen items from the buffet. Galway was amazing & the bus stop into the centre of town is located directly outside the hotel entrance. We loved it & would definitely return.
I have seen many comments on tripadvisor regarding this hotel & i would very much like to see an acknowledgement from the management at some point. I would like to know that the staff are being recognised for their commitment & hard work which makes this hotel a pleasure to visit.

Room Tip: Room 109 is directly above the function room. Unless you're attending the function don't sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyFordBarfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear BettyFordBarfly

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we value both positive & negative feedback as an essential tool to the continuous improvement of the service we offer. Thank you for all your kind comments about our bedrooms, food & our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed here last weekend for a couple of nights with my partner as a Christmas gift I'd given. We travel extensively throughout Ireland and Europe and I can honestly say that this is the BEST irish hotel we have stayed in. I have never experienced the reception that their staff gave us from the initial booking to the minute we left. We felt like royalty. We were not happy with our room due to it being a non smoking and we were upgraded without requesting. The staff are the major asset to this hotel, welcoming, chatty, warm, available and genuine, in particular the front of house staff. Well done!! We ate in the bar and it was one of the best meals I have eaten from a venue that serves pints before food! Exquisite Baby ribs with salad and chips.My partner had the ploughmans and being English she knew what to expect but was totally blown away by not only the amount of food but by the quality. Hats off to the chef! The bedroom was comfy, spotless and wifi was perfect. The hotel is facilitated by a bus stop outside the main door which came on time every time we needed it to go into the centre of Galway which is ten mins away. We got a taxi for 8 euro from the train station (which is central) and this was great value! My only complaint was the time it took for the staff at the bar in the evening to serve a drink but this was probably because it was quite busy that night due to a wedding competition.
Menlo Park. Stand up and take a bow. We will be back and will recommend this hotel to all friends.

Room Tip: If there is a function on the evening you are staying then the rooms overhead are not great unless y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorose21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear jorose21

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Menlo Park Hotel recently and thank you also for your lovely feedback. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit so much. Your positive feedback is most welcome and very important to us. I have passed this on to all on the team.
Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to us in the future
Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Nice hotel with good location.. we were here for our 1st wedding anniversary and also my husbands birthday... we had a nice enuf room although it over looked air vents... Breakfast was very good - the full irish was FULL.. Staff where for the most part friendly.. we were a lil disappointed one of the days when we asked if the girl on reception could recommend a chinese and her reply was that she didn't eat chinese!! hmmm a colleague then came out and said there was one in Salthill otherwise they didn't know any!!! After a quick google by ourselves we found a lovely one Ming Garden.. which I have reviewed and would recommend!! Perhaps the girl on reception could have taken the time to do this??
Otherwise was a nice hotel and close to a shopping centre! One extremely bad thing however was the heat in the hotel.. it was stifling!!!!! even when we turned the radiator off it was still so hot and as with most hotels the windows dont open wide!!! I found this rather uncomfortable when in the room!!!! Some people however may like it!!! I didn't!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Tiggs77

Thank you for taking the time to review us we welcome both positive & negative feedback. Thank you for the compliments on our breakfast & our location.

I was disappointed to read that you felt some of the staff were unhelpful this is not the usual feedback we receive about our staff. We would be most grateful if you could contact us to discuss the situation further.
Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmeath, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We recently stayed here for one night in Feb, check in was quick, room was nice comfortable and spacious. We had our 3 month old baby with us, staff ensured baby bottles were stored in their fridge and were labelled with our room number. our hot food breakfast was quickly served up and was lovely. wifi in hotel was good. we enjoyed our stay and would stay over again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smalltourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Smalltourist

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Menlo Park Hotel recently and thank you also for your lovely feedback. I am delighted to read that you felt so well looked after for the entirety of your visit. Your positive feedback is most welcome and very important to us. I have passed this on to all on the team.
Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to us in the future.

Kind Regards,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
2.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.2 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#7 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Property: Menlo Park Hotel
Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#6 Family Hotel in Galway
#6 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 70 quality rooms with 16 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing