We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ireland by rail”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ireland by rail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, convenient, and reasonably priced. The furnishings need some updating, but certainly acceptable. The location was a bit further from city centre than expected. We chose to use the rail and walk to our hotels. Definitely would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Beverly C

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review us.

I am absolutely delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit with us & that you felt so well looked after. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    405
    125
    37
    11
See reviews for
173
621
49
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick,ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here in March 2014. It is a bit out of town,maybe a 20 minute walk.
The hotel is lovely. Room was lovely. Staff were fantastic. We g
had a few drinks and a bit of food in the bar, which was great.. I really enjoyed the hotel but it being out of town was a nuisance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midgemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear midgemc,

Thank you for choosing the Menlo Park hotel as your choice of place for your visit to Galway city recently and for taking the time to review us, all feedback is hugely important to us.

Thank you for your wonderful comments on our rooms and our staff, I am absolutely delighted you were so impressed with our hotel and services. I will pass on your comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipperary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our first time staying since the room renovations.We never had any complaints about the rooms but I have to say the renovations are a great improvement. The bathroom in particular.Staff excellent as always and the breakfast cant be faulted.Nice to see a hotel that still caters to the smoker with smoking rooms.Great location for getting into the city within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishjim35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Irishjim35,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Menlo Park hotel as your choice of place for your visit to Galway and thank you so much for your kind feedback.

I am delighted to hear you had a good experience and you enjoyed our breakfast so much, I will pass on your lovely comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Only stayed for one night. Very impressed by renovation of room and general decor improvements since my last visit. Free wifi all over the hotel. Breakfast was great with free newspaper. Nothing more to say really.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dublin-wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Dublin-wanderers,

I am delighted to know you chose Menlo Park hotel again for your return visit to Galway city. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and for your lovely comments.

I am glad you liked the recent improvements we have made to our rooms, we are continuously working to refurbish our bathrooms and bedrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Deirdre
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great location for a stop in Galway - very handy to the centre, but also very conveniently near routes in and out of Galway. Room well equipped, good dinner in the bar, reasonable prices. Excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Ray K,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Menlo Park Hotel on your recent visit to Galway city and thank you for taking the time to review us.

I am delighted to know you found our hotel convenient in location for you and you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Deirdre
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We arrived at the Hotel on Saturday May 17th and was greeted with a very warm welcome.

The staff were really friendly and remember us from our visit last year.

Our room was really luxurious and comfortable and the breakfast were extremely delicious and the staff were very attentive.

We enjoyed a very delicious evening meal in the restaurant and next day we ate in the bar which was of the same high standard.

All in all we felt very cosseted by the staff and the atmosphere in this wonderful hotel.


Jean and Sam Salt

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank freesia72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Freesia72,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Menlo Park hotel as your choice of place for your visit to Galway and thank you so much for your kind feedback.

I am delighted to hear you had a good experience and you enjoyed our breakfast and evening meal in our restaurant, I will pass on your lovely comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenderry, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Really nice Hotel. Staff were very professional and really friendly.

Room was amazing, we had the "mock" bridal suit. Huge room nicely decorated, huge bathroom and bath. Very comfortable room couldn't recommend more. Bath robes, bath salts etc all included. We were warned about possible noise from downstairs, but we didn't hear a thing.

Food was not great at all, its the only thing we were left disappointed with. Selection was not great (both menu's) Im allergic to nuts, which I brought to the attention of the staff.

For Starters we both had the soup, which was nice, great flavor ( I wouldn't usually go for soup, but other options were not great)

For Main I had the Steak and she went with the Cod.

Steak was over cooked (no point in complaining as any steak lover knows it takes ages for another one to be cooked, we also had plans in Galway after dinner)

Cod was cooked fine, but covered in green pesto?! No mention of pesto any where in the menu and she HATES pesto.

So both our dinners were not great. I hate the steak, she left most of the cod untouched (when waitress came to collect plates she didn't ask anything as to why her plate was still mostly full)

Desert was worse. I am an ex-pastry chef so deserts I wouldn't get a desert normally. But wanted to fill up on something before going out as did she.
There were 4 options of deserts and 3 had nuts!!

We went for the Mille-Feuilles (puff pastry with cream and strawberries) Pastry was tasteless,very thick and very hard which really ruined the rest (as its kind of hard to mess up cream and strawberries)

Over all, I couldn't recommend the hotel more, but go into town for dinner.

Reception, restaurant, bar staff were still amazing and friendly only the food.

Room Tip: Doesn't get much better than the Bridal Suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Justin L

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently as your choice of place for your visit to Galway city and also for taking the time to review us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your lovely comments on our superior room they are amazing.

I would like to sincerely apologise for the negative experience you had with the quality of our food in the restaurant. I am also very disappointed to know that you felt you could not send back the food. We are always willing to do everything we can to rectify an issue.

However I am glad to see that despite your negative food experience you still would recommend staying in our hotel & you think so highly of our staff.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
2.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#8 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Property: Menlo Park Hotel
Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#5 Family Hotel in Galway
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 70 quality rooms with 16 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing