We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10/10” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“10/10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights last week. Very nice staff (in all hotel disciplines such as reception, bar, restaurant, accommodation, cleaning staff etc), very nice food, very nice atmosphere, very clean. Absolutely nothing to criticise whatsoever. This hotel has obviously got a very attentive management team and set a high standard (and hire nice staff to keep it).

The lovely lady (Italian or Spanish) serving us bar food was really really nice. All of the staff were lovely, but I remember her owed to the super double-nachos my wife and I ordered that day, which we have to come back for again ;-)

Keep up the great work !

Dr. Pat O'Sullivan

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat-Dublin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Pat-Dublin99

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay with us in the Menlo Park Hotel as your choice of stop over recently and thank you also for your lovely feedback.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit so much you gave us 10/10. Your positive and kind feedback on each aspect is most welcome and very important to us. I have passed this on to all on the team.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future for nachos.

Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    400
    123
    37
    10
See reviews for
166
618
48
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel was a great value. Reception great. Room exceeded expectations. But it will be the poor service in the restaurant I remember. Food was average (barely) but the per-functionary service came across as rude and dismissive. This was the only time I felt this way about service during our 12 day tour of Ireland. Also, given the walking nature of the city I would also suggest either stay closer to the city centre or in one of the outlying towns. Not bad, not great... but it was a fantastic value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank JennifersTravels321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear JenniferTravels321

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay with us in the Menlo Park Hotel as your choice of stop over recently and thank you also for your feedback.

I am delighted to read that you felt you got good value for your money. Also, thank you for your kind comments on our bedrooms & our reception staff, I will pass this back to the team.

I would like to sincerely apologise for the negative experience you had with in the restaurant, this is definitely not the memories we want our guest to leave with. If you could contact me to discuss this matter further I would greatly appreciate it.

Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here with my partner over the May bank holiday weekend and had a fabulous stay. We were given a Junior Suite which was absolutely gorgeous and very spacious. The bed was fantastic and had one of the best sleeps I have had.

We were staying on a B&B basis and had decided to treat ourselves with breakfast in bed each morning for a small fee of about €4. We didn't even have to leave the room to order! We just filled out a card and left it on the door handle. We didn't eat dinner or have a drink in the hotel because Galway has so much to offer but the atmosphere always seemed very good when we were walking through the hotel.

The only negative for the hotel is that it's just that bit too far outside the city for convenience. It is a walkable distance but not if you had shopping bags or if the weather was poor (it almost always is in Ireland) so you will need to get taxis if you want to go into the city at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Michael H

Thank you for choosing the Menlo Park hotel as your choice of place for your visit to Galway city recently and for taking the time to review us, all feedback is hugely important to us.

Thank you for your wonderful comments on our staff, rooms and the breakfast, I am absolutely delighted you were so impressed with our hotel and services. I will pass on your comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here over the weekend, checked in Saturday At 4 the room was ready for us, nice cheerful room, tea coffee facilities & cookies as well well appreciated. Check in was efficient and everything was explained perfectly. Ample parking as well. The lift was a bit messy a lot of people had issues you had to swipe card fast & press button, sometimes worked, we took stairs as was easier, maybe look at this guys, also bedrooms warm maybe air conditioning could be an option .
I have to compliment the restaurant service for breakfast it was A1 we stayed in a lot of hotels and this was the best run breakfast ever, attention to detail, staff attentive, food replaced promptly, tables cleared efficiently well run service your great keep this up. Nothing worse than a badly run breakfast area. We would also like to say the bar food was great especially the Loaded Nachos we will definitely return for these. Our server was a lady she was excellent I forgot to get her name she worked in the Bar on Sunday around 4pm onwards well done, she was very happy & very attentive.
So we enjoyed our stay very much
We will be back
2 things
Lift & Air conditioning for rooms
See you soon

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chipdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Chipdublin,

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for your great feedback.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with our room, service and food.

Thank you for bringing the swipe card issue with the lift to our attention, we had been made aware of it so this has now been fixed.

Apart from the glorious weather we are having this week generally there is not a requirement for air conditioning in our hotel rooms due to our normal Irish climate! But thank you for noting this also.

We hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Deirdre
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Front desk staff was very helpful; breakfast was largely cafeteria style and had good variety; room was spacious, but bathroom/shower area had very limited space to put toiletries and health and grooming items (needed to use toilet seat temporarily to have items readily reachable); this was a very good location for for touring Connamera, and it was quite easy to avoid City Center in heading south to visit Cliffs of Moher.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Kenneth K,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently at the Menlo Park Hotel and also for taking the time to review us.

I am delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and felt you got good value for your money. I am glad you found our staff helpful and enjoyed our breakfast.

I would like to thank you for raising the point about space in the bathroom, the majority of our rooms have a large shelf over the sink which provides ample space however there are one or two rooms which do not have as large a shelf and I am very sorry if you were allocated one of these rooms but thank you for noting this.

I hope we will get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Deirdre
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hotel staff were extremely helpful and welcoming.customer care a high priority.hotel very clean .worth upgrading to a superior room.spacious, bathrobes and slippers provided. lounge bar food good quality and the music added an extra touch. Convenient to cinema and shopping close by.

Room Tip: Superior room spacious worth paying extra. Ask to be located away from the lounge as music carries
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Patricia M,

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review us.

I am absolutely delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and you were happy with the upgrade to one of our superior rooms. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Deirdre
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I went to Galway for a mid week break and chose the Menlo Park hotel, based on various factors but largely on Trip Advisor comments. We were not disappointed.
Check in was friendly and efficient. Room was perfectly good for our needs, bar service was good and breakfast food and service were excellent. Comments regarding distance to town are valid but bus service from outside hotel made this less of a problem than otherwise might have been. Parking and WiFi as promised. Will use again if in area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Michael R,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Menlo Park hotel as your choice of place for your visit to Galway and thank you so much for your lovely feedback.

I am so happy to know you booked us based on our reviews and your experience lived up to your expectations. I am delighted you had a very enjoyable stay, I will pass on your kind comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Deirdre
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
2.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.2 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Property: Menlo Park Hotel
Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#5 Family Hotel in Galway
#6 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 70 quality rooms with 16 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing