We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Menlo Park Apartments - loudest place I've ever stayed”
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
new york
1 review
“Menlo Park Apartments - loudest place I've ever stayed”
Reviewed 8 July 2009

My friend and I saved for a year to be able to come spend a relaxing vacation in Galway and we spent a lot of money to stay at the Menlo Park Apartments so we'd be able to have a kitchen, etc. The facilities are lovely and more spacious than we thought...HOWEVER, we were woken up EVERY single weekday for two weeks by the sound of hammering, drilling, and God knows what other power tools at 8 AM. Every morning at 8 AM and the pounding wouldn't stop until 5 pm, so we weren't even able to catch up on sleep with a nap during the day. It was so loud that it sounded like the construction was happening in our apartment. To make matters worse, the property next store had someone chopping down trees with a chainsaw most afternoons as well. This is NOT the place to come if you are looking to get any sleep.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILOVEGALWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    414
    129
    37
    11
See reviews for
180
630
49
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2009

I recently stayed in this hotel with my partner for a weekend away to relax. From making my booking over the phone i found not just the receptionist being friendly she was also very helpful with giving me directions on how to get to the Hotel but also telling me what activities where available within the city.
On arrival the staff where very friendly and even offered to help us with our luggage and i have stayed in many hotels but never came across staff that were so happy to help us with our stay.On the saturday night we had dinner in restaurant which we could not find any fault with as the staff there was also friendly and when asked where would be a nice place to go after dinner for few drinks and music they informed us of the music that was available in the MP'S Bar with a nice relaxing atomosphere so we decided to go in and have a drink which once again we were meet by friendly staff.
All i can say is that anyone looking to stay in a hotel that is just a 10 min walk from city centre, with staff on hand to deal with guests needs this would be a great hotel to visit. All Staff seemed to enjoy working in this hotel and create a relaxing envoriment which is great when looking for some where nice to stay. this hotel is one of the few that offer free car parking. While booking the room we were informed of the new Superior Roms that were just after opening with a extra cost which i i tell you if looking for a romantic get away these rooms are well work the extra euro's as the room we got was magnificent.
All i can say from my stay at the Menlo Park Hotel i whould recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitly be back again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laois2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2009

We stayed 5th – 7th April 2009. We booked through hotel club & paid $AU158 per night incl. full Irish breakfast, which was quite good value.
The staff were very friendly & helpful.
The lift was out of order and we were told that they didn’t expect it to be fixed in the near future, however a porter was on hand to help with our luggage.
You can get a meal in the bar or their restaurant although like most places in Ireland these are a bit pricey. We went to the local take away places nearby which worked out half the price, Indian, Chinese etc.
We also found the bar a bit noisy the first night as there was a football game on the TV in there and a lot of locals were in for the duration.
Beware if you have to make phone calls check your call rates first. We were presented with a large bill for what we thought should have either been free or local call charges as we were using a calling card.
Overall the stay was good, the room was comfortable & well appointed.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dealseeker18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Myself and my husband stayed here for a family function in April 2009. Check in was very efficient and friendly. We were put on the 1st floor - got to lift and it was out of order and remained so for the duration of our stay ( midweek).
Room was cold and uninviting, bathroom was stark and not very modern. Shower door was missing (!)
We were placed right at the end of the hotel where an extension is currently being built, so were awoken by builders and kango hammer at 8am.......gave in trying to sleep through it and got up and headed off.
The free parking is great being so close to the city and the staff in the bar and reception were excellent. I think the rooms just need a bit of a perk up ie new tellies.....they still have the big huge box tellies which I think for a 4 star hotel is a bit dated. Oh and the remote didnt work.
Have to give the food a mention though....it was excellent....everyone cleared their plate at dinner and breakfast was gorgeous! Only down fall is its very over priced at €12 per person.
Bottom line is we have stayed in better hotels in Galway that were 3 star ....I cant see how this hotel can claim to be 4 star........ok for a quick over night stay/stop off or a cheap deal

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcglick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2009

Went to Galway on Valentines weeeknd. Had read some decent reviews of the place. Its ok good location for Galway, I would not see it as a 4 star hotel as it claims on its website. Friday was a nice experience- and enjoyed it. Saturday night wasa different story- We found out to our cost we were placed directly above the wedding venue!! lets just say it was not a good experience! WE were not part of the wedding celebration and should have been placed on another side of the hotel. We didn't get a lot of help form the reception desk- HOWEVER they were kind enough to tell us the disco would stop between 2 and 2.30am! On top of the people wandering the halls until 4! Some of the weeding guest were wondering wy we were so grumpy the following morning!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timmyryan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

Due to the time of year we were travelling, right on the New Year period, we decided to stay in Galway rather than a B & B. Our party of four, Mum, Dad and two children 10 & 14 found the hotel to be very good. We chose to eat in at the bar of an evening, which was well stocked and had a good menu. Unfortunately due to the value of the Euro it was expensive, but that was the case everywhere in Ireland. You can't blame the hotel for the current economic situation. The hotel is actually quite close to City Centre but far enough away to avoid the noise, which with children is a good thing. The rooms were well appointed and the staff were excellent. Breakfast in the hotel was also first rate with full irish on offer. The only gripe would be that the hotel needs to improve its wifi for computer users. Overall if you happen to be staying in Galway the Menlo is well worth considering.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrisbaneSmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2009

I arranged an extended family function at the Menlo Park for my daughter and her husband who were on holiday from Australia. There were about twenty of us in the group. My daughter is strictly vegan, her husband and a few of our other guests are vegetarians. It was important to me that the food was suitable for everyone and that we all enjoyed the occasion. From the start, the hotel staff could not do enough for us. In advance we were sent sample menus, from which we picked the most appropriate options. On the day, we greeted our guests in sunny reception room before moving to the very nice private dining room with a dedicated team of waitresses to look after us. These people were so friendly, they could not do enough for us. The food was excellent and although not a vegetarian, I couldn't resist one of the vegetarian options, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Everyone remarked on the excellence of the food and the variety of choice available. I would definitely recommend this hotel for food and friendly service. I didn't stay at the hotel so I can't comment on the rooms, but if the rest of the services is anything to go by then I would have no hesitation in staying here.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e-type
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
2.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#7 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Property: Menlo Park Hotel
Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#5 Family Hotel in Galway
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 70 quality rooms with 16 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing