We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Everything was perfect. The room was clean and spacious. The staff was very kind and effective. The breakfast was perfect. The hotel is not so far from the city centre. All is perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrinityFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

Thankyou for your kind response - you are a perfect guest !
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,282)
There are newer reviews for Menlo Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,155 - 1,161 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2010

Have just returned from a two night valentines weekend stay at the menlo with my boyfriend. Decided to book the lovely deluxe room as a treat, and what a treat! Really comfy beds meant that even I had a lovely sleep both nights (am light sleeper!) Made our short break very relaxing and stress free. Staff were very helpful and friendly, from reception to the bar. Had something to eat/drink on both evenings in the bar, and both were lovely.
Bit of a trad session in the bar on Fri nite, which we caught the end of as we ventured into the city (€8 for tax i home, 10 min walk in). We also caught the end of the entertainment on Sat nite, but wasn't our cup of tea! Good atmosphere in bar though, and staff were busy but approacable and efficient. Cannot recommend the Menlo Park highly enough if you are looking for a bit of luxury while in Galway. Didn't break the bank either. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hgorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, General Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

Thankyou ! We have been trying to get the message out about our superior rooms and thank you for your help with this! - So pleased you had a good night's sleep and enjoyed the overall atmosphere of the hotel.
Please let us know if you will be coming back next Valentines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

After reading a few reviews we picked this hotel to stay for a night in Galway. It's not within walking distance from the city centre, but there is a shopping centre nearby. There is a big FREE parking, check in was fast and staff was effective. The room was spacious, we had a double bed and a single bed. There was a flat screen TV (Less than 10 channels & no internationals) kettle to make tea, coffee. The bathroom was clean but a bit outdated. Breakfast was offering a nice selection of sweet or savoury. Over all it was ok, nothing OTT or outstanding.Its good value for the price we paid.I think it would suit older couples, who like traditional standards.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, General Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

Thank you very much for your review. We are now going into the high season and the Apartments are open for families in particular. We do have quite a few regulars who are more mature and enjoy the ambience of the hotel but as you know Galway is a busy place with festivals so we have a nice mix of younger couples and an International clientele as well who enjoy being near the city but not right in the centre.
We are continuing to offer really good prices which are always available on the website.
Thanks again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

have just returned today from the menlo park hotel. we arrived on friday and the booking in was very quick. all the staff were friendly and polite. the bedroom and bathroom were large and clean. there was an iron, ironing board, tea making facilities and ample wardrobe and dressing table space. there was also a small table and 2 large comfortable armchairs. the room was warm and the bed was very comfortable. the heating could have been turned up or down to suit. breakfast was cereal, fruit salad, yogurt and various breads along with the full irish cooked breakfast. on saturday morning they also offered us scrambled eggs and salmon. toast, tea, coffee and juices were all available. friday night in the bar was irish music and saturday night was a live band. the bar was always quite busy. food was also available in the bar from an extensive menu and their was a large restaurant as well. the hotel car park was large and free and the hotel was within walking distance to the city centre or a taxi was around 8 euros. a big thankyou to laura who checked us out this morning and thankyou also to all the fantastic staff in the bar and the restaurant. we will be returning mainly because of the location, cleanliness of the hotel and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeccaEnniskillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

To celebrate our Ruby Wedding amnniversary, we decided to make a return trip to Galway.(We were last there on our honeymoon, 40 years ago). We searched the web for accommodation, and picked the Menlo Park Hotel & Conference Centre. It was a fortuitous choice. It is within walking distance of a modern shopping complex, which suited Anne down to the ground. Each member of the staff that we had dealings with, were so helpful and courteous.Check-in was painless.The room was very clean & most comfortable. And the food...what can I say to do it justice? While I will eat anything , Anne is a fussy eater. But even she has nothing but praise for the food, & the restaurant staff, including the Chefs &/or Cooks. All her extensive instructions were faithfully carried out, & the food & desserts were totally to her taste. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who took all her requests with aplomb.And delivered the goods.I could go on & on, regarding how we enjoyed our trip so much, but I think the best thing would be for you to try it out for yourselves. You will be very seriously surprised. It is truly "A Hidden Gem". Thanks to everybody @ Menlo Park!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northender67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Recently spent 6 nights at the hotel and was very impressed with the comfortable and homey atmosphere.The front desk staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant. The restaurant food was very good and the pub ws also a lot of fun with the traditional Irish music on the weekends. Has a bit of a neighborhood pub feel to it. Nice walk or a quick cab ride to the center of the City. Excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PML1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

My friend and I saved for a year to be able to come spend a relaxing vacation in Galway and we spent a lot of money to stay at the Menlo Park Apartments so we'd be able to have a kitchen, etc. The facilities are lovely and more spacious than we thought...HOWEVER, we were woken up EVERY single weekday for two weeks by the sound of hammering, drilling, and God knows what other power tools at 8 AM. Every morning at 8 AM and the pounding wouldn't stop until 5 pm, so we weren't even able to catch up on sleep with a nap during the day. It was so loud that it sounded like the construction was happening in our apartment. To make matters worse, the property next store had someone chopping down trees with a chainsaw most afternoons as well. This is NOT the place to come if you are looking to get any sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILOVEGALWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.8 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
365 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#9 of 46 in Galway
504 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#5 Family Hotel in Galway
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £63 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 81 quality rooms with 20 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing